Country Information: Country Descriptions - focusing on business, market and industry facts

EIU Viewpoints Industries
Industry Briefing and Forecasts provides in-depth five year forecasts, news, analysis and trends for six global industries in up to 69 major economies. Industry Forecasts are based on the latest data and in-depth analysis of industry trends. Industry Briefing keeps you abreast of the latest events as well as pinpointing future trends in your market and how this may impact your business.

The Trade Council (Danmarks  Eksportråd) - partly in Danish
You have two ways to find information on the web sites of the Trade Council
 

• The Trade Council - entry page 
  Access to market information on some of the countries that make up Denmark's primary export markets. Besides the country profiles, you have access to industry-related articles and news. The industries are subdivided into 9 categories: construction, food and agriculture, design, energy, innovation, mechanical engineering, environment and water, health services, technology and urban solutions
  Search hit: choose the menu item "Publikationer" 
  
  
• Danish Embassies - Trade Council information
  Search for Embassies by using this search box:  
  (to be found on the bottom of the web site)
  You can find industry and market information on the web sites of the individual Danish embassies. Among other things you can find a small booklet "Doing business in ..."
  Here an example from the Danish embassy in Ireland:
  
  

EMIS Professional:

Country information on 125 countries from Latin America, Central and Eastern Europe, Asia, Australia, Africa and the Middle East. Business news, company information, industry information, macroeconomic statistics, reports on financial markets, legal issues and investments are available.
Information providers include BMI - Business Monitor International, Oxford Economics, Enerdata, CEIC, EIU and Dun & Bradstreet.

Country Risk Reports:
access to Country Risk Maps, Country Risk Reports and Risk Indicators. The information provider to this part is Dun & Bradstreet

Passport (previous name: GMID, Global Market Information Database): 
especially well-known for its market research within the FMCG (Fast Moving Consumer Goods) area. But in the database there is also access to life-style analyzes (Consumer Lifestyles) on more than 80 countries. In addition, there are via the menu item "Country Factfile" demographic, economic and consumer data on more than 200 countries.
Search hint:

• Select the "Consumers" tab and get access to life-style analyzes for individual countries (“Consumer Lifestyles”). 
  Besides that you can find country reports on the following topics: “Household”, “Income and Expenditure”, "Digital Consumer" and "Population"
• Via the "Economies" tab you can find country reports on "Business Dynamics" (business environment), "Economy, Finance & Trade" (Country Profiles), "Industrial" (access to statistics and reports on country specific industries) and "Sustainability" (overview of the sustainability issue on country level).

Deloitte Country Guides:
Country Highlights: contains a brief overview on taxes and tax rates in each country 
Country Guides (only selected countries): a brief overview of investment climate, tax systems, legal issues and investment and business opportunities

World bank resources:

Investment Climate (IFC, International Finance Corporation -  World Bank Group): 
IFC, International Finance Corporation consists primarily of a database where you can search for country and industry information. The portal gives access to reports etc. on investment climate and business opportunities in emerging markets

Enterprise Surveys (World Bank):
Country reports on business and investment climate

Enterprise Surveys Data:
Enterprise Surveys offers an expansive array of economic data on 135,000 firms in 139 countries.

Doing Business Data (World Bank):
access to economic data on more than 180 countries from 2003 to the present.

World Bank "Doing Business" annual publication 

Doing Business reports measure the regulations that enhance business activity and those that constrain it. Doing Business presents quantitative indicators on business regulations and the protection of property rights that can be compared across 190 economies—from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe—and over time. Doing Business measures regulations affecting 11 areas of the life of a businesses. 

MIGA, Multilateral Investment Guanrantee Agency (World Bank): 
access to reports and statistics on FDI, Foreign Direct Investments) in developing countries.

ICAEW (the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales):
International Accountancy Organization located in Great Britain. Their "Doing Business" section contains general descriptions of economic and business conditions in a variety of countries. There are, among other things, focus on the accounting and tax conditions on each country. And it is possible to search for more literature on more topics.

A to Z list of Country and Other Area Pages:
On this website there are access to a number of very different reports on individual countries and regions. The topics extend from Country Reports on Human Rights Practices to General Country Descriptions (Background Notes) and a review of the business conditions. The reports are quite updated. The U.S. Department of State is responsible for this website

UK Trade & Investment:
Industry and market information on more countries

International Trade Administration (USA):
contains a lot of statistics and data on infustries, export markets etc. The U.S. Department of Commerce is responsible for this web site and its main focus is in US conditions

Global Insights: 
Global Insights provides international business and trade information on over 200 countries, the 50 U.S. states, as well as nearly two dozen industry sectors, and many of the world’s trade blocs (EU, ASEAN, NAFTA etc.)