Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Private equity (PE) is an alternative investment class and consists of capital that is not listed on a public exchange. Private equity is composed of funds and investors that directly invest in private companies, or that engage in buyouts of public companies, resulting in the delisting of public equity. Institutional and retail investors provide the capital for private equity, and the capital can be utilized to fund new technology, make acquisitions, expand working capital, and to bolster and solidify a balance sheet
Venture capital (VC) is a financial investment of capital funds made by professional investors (venture capitalists) in start-up businesses, R&D ventures, or new product launches. New product launches have a perceived potential for significant growth but have no access to capital markets and do not have a record of proven performance. Investors may have some say in the company's management and are compensated with a combination of profits, preferred shares, or royalties.
Note: Private equity differs in that it provides equity capital to enterprises not quoted on a stock market and refers to all stages of industry, including venture capital.
My Profile & Contact Info
, EU Law
, Financial Databases
, Tax, Auditing & Accounting
Databases: where to find information on PE (Private Equity) & VC (Venture Capital) Firms, Funds and Deals
Databases where you can find data and information on the Private Equity (PE) and Venture Capital (VC) market. By clicking on the name of the database you can find more information on the content of the databases and a short guide on how to use them
Provides a comprehensive view of the private equity & venture capital industry, as well as the hedge fund industry, covering institutional investors, fund performance, fundraising, deals, fund managers, fund terms and more.
- Thomson ONE (IE Browser only)
Analysis and custom reports on venture deals and IPOs.
Search hint: From the top navigation, select Screening & Analytics, then Deals & League Tables for VC or PE deals.
Coverage: It has global coverage back to 1970 of companies, venture funds, private firms, executives, venture-backed companies, limited partners, deals and IPOs that are private equity, venture, or buyout backed.
For best performance, increase disk space for temporary Internet files to 1000MB. (Tools > Internet Options > General > Browsing history: Settings > Disk space to use: 1000)
- Capital IQ (via WRDS)
S&P's Capital IQ covers international quoted companies including private equity companies. It has information on 18,000+ private equity firms including a list of all active and historical portfolio companies.
Use the screening and targeting tools to find potential acquisitions, investments, buyers, and co-investors or limited partners.
M&A, IPO, private equity and venture capital deals and rumors
Bloomberg’s Private Equity (PE) database brings together data about PE firms, funds, investors and portfolios. In Bloomberg, type PE <GO> for this menu
Information and data on private equity and venture capital firms, funds, and portfolio companies from all over the world. The content includes over 30 years og daily-updated history.