Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is Company Reports and Profiles
A basic company profile usually includes a summary of a company's products or services, operations, key personnel and contact details. Other comprehensive profiles may include some basic financials, principle subsidiaries, major competitors, SWOT analyses and more
Databases with Company Reports and Profiles
Investext (Thomson One Banker)
Access to investment and brokerage reports and analyses covering companies, industries, and commodities worldwide.
Data contributors: include more than 1.600 banks and stockbroker firms, among these JP Morgan, HSBC Global Research and Deutsche Bank Research. The database contains more than 6 million reports and is updated daily with up till 3000 new reports.
Content: main focus is listed companies
Coverage: you find reports from the early 1980's and forward. The coverage change from company to company
Search hint: Investext is now an integrated part of Thomson One Banker.
Choose Company Views > Research > Company Research or/and search by Advanced Search (Screening & Analysis > Research > Research Search > Advanced Search). In search field Industry you can limit your search by searching on a specific industry (SIC or NAICS) as e.g. pharmaceuticals. In the search field Report Type you can limit your search to Industry.
- Use the RES <GO> command to access the Research Portal for all research.
You can filter for relevant categories of reports.
- To view specific company analyst reports, go to the company's profile page and type in BRC <GO>. This will take you to the Broker Research page.
Business Source Complete:
Contains more detailed company profiles on about 30,000 companies world wide.
Providers are Medtrack and MarketLine.
Search hint: Select the option 'Company Profiles' (top menu bar: More). Another feature is "Related information" which gives you access to articles about the chosen company from academic journals, magazines, trade publications etc.
The profiles are typically structured after this template: Company Overview – Key Facts – Business Description – History – Key Employees – Key Employee Biographies – Major Products and Services – Revenue Analysis – SWOT Analysis – Top Competitors – Locations and Subsidiaries.
Contains 100,000+ company profiles and 4000 industry profiles covering 215 countries. Some company profiles are more comprehensive than others and include a SWOT analysis and brief biographies of key executives, while the industry profiles contain a practical application of Porter's 5 Forces analysis. MarketLine also includes financial deals and search results can be refined by deal type, status, value, industry, geography and date.
Search hint: select the module "Companies".
- EMIS Insights provides Company Profiles with in-depth analysis of the largest companies in the emerging markets worldwide
Search hint: Choose Companies > Reports > EMIS Insights
Access to more than 23,000 public listed companies. Main focus in the reports is the financials and performance of the companies.
Search hint: Select the Companies/Markets tab followed by Company and enter in a company name. View a company snapshot, company news and annual financials for the previous 5 years (balance sheet, cash flow, income statement, key ratios)