Skip to main content

Company Information: Company History

Introductory guide to find international and national company information.

Search for literature on company history

In its collection CBS Library has many books about the history and development of different companies.
Search hint: Search for the term virksomhedshistorie or try "company history". You can also search on the name of a specific company. The physical books you will find either on the shelf 933 or on the shelf for the industry.

Journals - focus on Company History

Below-mentioned journals are examples on some major journals with main focus on company and business history.  Other journals of interest could be "Business and Economic History" and "Journal of Economic History". You can find the journals using "Find Journals".

Search for companies in Wikipedia

Company History - Databases

Brief histories of companies can be found using the resources listed below.
More in depth histories are sometimes available in books. Use the CBS Library catalogue to find a book on a company. 

 

International directory of company histories:
Includes company histories for some 11,000 US and international companies and multinationals. 
Records include: Early history, key dates, key strategic moves, principal subsidiaries, major competitors, information about mergers and acquisitions, evolution in organization and management and suggestions for further readings.
International Directory of Company Histories is part of Gale Virtual Reference Library. The database is updated on a regular basis and consists of more than 100 volumes, of which the first appeared in 1988.
 


Business Source Complete or  MarketLine
both databases give access to almost 30,000 company reports from MarketLine
(previously Datamonitor). The reports contain among other things a short description
of the historical development.
Search hint (for Business Source Complete): choose the tab More > Company Profiles -
and search for the company


Financial Times Historical Archive (1988-2016)
Access to Financial Times backfiles. This historical archive is a comprehensive, accurate, and unbiased research tool for everyone studying the economic and business history and current affairs of the last approximately 120 years.
 


Economist Historical Archive (1843-2014)
contains among other things major company profiles, highly regarded country reports and industry reports
 


Factiva:
You can find historical information about the companies in articles and reports

 

Articles:  
access to in-depth articles on companies
Search hint: choose Search > Subject > Corporate/Industrial News >
Profiles of Companies (here you find articles from year 2000 and forward)

 

Reports:
Using the Companies/Markets menu tab you have access to
company reports from Dow Jones. They include a presentation of the history of the companies.

 


ORBIS: 

In some company databases as ORBIS you can find a short undefined
historical description of the major companies

Search hint: company name > report > Company profile >
Industry and activities

 

Historical stock data and more

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
The CRSP dataset within WRDS provides comprehensive, downloadable stock data with deep historical files.


Factiva
Provides two years of daily stock price data and five years of monthly prices.
Search hint: select the menu tab Companies/Markets > Quotes


Thomson One Banker 
provides access to stock price data: five years of daily stock prices, ten years of weekly stock prices and thirty years of monthly stock prices


The Financial Databanks:
Bloomberg, Eikon and Datastream

Company History - websites