Corporate ownership is one of three broad categories of legal ownership of a business, the other two being sole proprietorship and partnership.
In a sole proprietorship, the owner is personally liable for his or her business's debts and losses and there is no distinction made between personal and business income.
A partnership is merely joint ownership, and hence, in terms of personal liability, it is similar in every way to a sole proprietorship.
Corporate ownership, on the other hand, is much more complex, because it involves the creation of a legal identity separate from those of its owners. While an individual may own all the shares of a corporation, he or she is not personally responsible for it. That is because a corporation is, strictly defined, a legal entity.
Orbis contains a lot of ownership data on public and private companies – both current and historic data. In addition, you can export data on more companies at a time. The data is organized in an find an Ownership Database, which is a database of links. A link establishes an ownership relationship between two entities, a shareholder and a subsidiary:
Each ownership link contains the following information:
Content: Orbis keeps archived data in its Ownership database since January 2003.
Search hint: click through the following path to find the corresponding information for a preselected company: display a specific section > Ownership data > Shareholders
You can find historical information related to shareholders
User Guide: Home > Guide menu > Ownership > Introduction
In Orbis you can find a comprehensive user guide on the ownership section of the database with a description of the content and definitions of data variables.
to get Ownership data you need to go through three steps:
Eikon contains a lot of ownership information and historical ownership data as well.
You can find ownership data in two ways:
Data of a single company:
Here a search for Alcoa Corp:
You can make the following choices under the ownership tab:
Defines the data via Custom Dates:
Data of a list of companies (Eikon Excel Add-In)
Thomson Reuters (Eikon) > Build Formula
Instruments: choose equities (companies) by identifier, search equities by search criteria or by a list of companies
Data items: choose Ownership and get access to more than 500 data variables
Thomson One Banker
CBS Library license to Thomson One only gives access to ownership information on individual company level. That means you can only extract data from one company at a time
Export of data: you can download data to Excel and PDF
Main focus: public listed companies
Bloomberg has more datasets with different functions.
The function Security Ownership <HDS> gives you Ownership data for an individual company.
Export: here only the current data can be exported to Excel Output via the tab 25 Export
See also other Ownership fundtions for individual companies
Via the tab Historical you can go back to 1997 for ownership data.
Export: here you can only copy-paste the data from the screen in Excel
Ownership summaryis another neat function in Bloomberg. It will show four quadrants with summary on top-, insider-, geographical- and institutional ownerships.
Insider-, and institutional ownership.
For insiders- and institutional ownership it is possible to retrieve historic data directly via Excel. Use the spreadsheet builder:
Via WRDS there are several databases that contain ownership data. For the moment there are no access to these databases via CBS subcription to WRDS