Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA 6th Edition - Copenhagen Business School: Reports from Databases

How to reference with APA

About Citing Business Reports from Library Databases

Note: The citations on this page are recommendations by Copenhagen Business School Library.

 

CBS Library recommends the following general format for business reports using APA:

Author's last name, First initial. Second initial, if given. or Corporate Author name. (Year of Publication, Month Day)*.Title of report:Subtitle if any. Retrieved from Name of Library Database database

* Data is not always fully available. Use as much data as the source presents.

Below you will find examples from a selection of databases available from CBS Library.

Business Source Complete - Reports

Author's last name, First initial. Second initial, if given. or Corporate Author name. (Year of Publication, Month Day).Title of report: Subtitle if any [Type of business report]. Retrieved from Business Source Premier database. 

References List Example

MarketLine. (2018, November 16). Tesla Inc. [Company profile]. Retrieved from Business Source Premier database. 

 Note: Reports found in Business Source Premier will say they are published either by Datamonitor or MarketLine. View the full report to confirm.

In-Text Paraphrase

(Author's Last Name or Corporate Author name, Year)

Example: (MarketLine, 2018)

In-Text Quote

(Author's Last Name or Corporate Author name, Year, p. Page Number)

Example: (MarketLine, 2018, p. 21)

Passport GMID - Report with a Title

Euromonitor International. (Year of Publication, Month Day).Title of report: Subtitle if any. Retrieved from Passport GMID database.

References List Example

Euromonitor International. (2019, March 4). Eyewear markets of the future: Assessing market attractiveness to 2023. Retrieved from Passport GMID database.

In-Text Paraphrase

(Author's Last Name or Corporate Author name, Year)

Example: (Euromonitor International, 2019)

In-Text Quote

(Author's Last Name or Corporate Author name, Year, p. Page Number)

Example: (Euromonitor International, 2019, p.6)

Passport GMID - Information without a Title (Charts, Tables, Graphs, etc.)

Euromonitor International. (Year of Publication, Month Day). Description of information [Format]. Retrieved from Passport GMID database

References List Example

Euromonitor International. (2019). Price per 10 litres of automotive diesel [Table]. Retrieved from Passport GMID database

In-Text Paraphrase

(Author's Last Name or Corporate Author name, Year)

Example: (Euromonitor International, 2019)

In-Text Quote

(Author's Last Name or Corporate Author name, Year, p. Page Number)

Example: (Euromonitor International, 2019)

*usually no page number is available

MarketLine - Reports

MarketLine. (Year of Publication, Month Day). Title of report [Type of business report]. Retrieved from MarketLine Advantage database. 

 

 

References List Example

Example if using only ONE report from MarketLine for the same year:

MarketLine. (2014, December). Renewable energy in Canada [Industry profile]. Retrieved from MarketLine Advantage database. 

Example if using MORE THAN ONE report from MarketLine for the same year:

MarketLine. (2014a, December). Oil and gas in North America [Industry profile]. Retrieved from MarketLine Advantage database.

MarketLine. (2014b, December). Renewable energy in Canada [Industry profile]. Retrieved from MarketLine Advantage database.

In-Text Paraphrase

(MarketLine, Publication Year)

Example: (MarketLine, 2014)

Example if citing multiple reports from the same year: (MarketLine, 2014a) 

In-Text Quote

(MarketLine, Publication Year, p. Page Number)

Example: (MarketLine, 2014, p. 10)

Example if citing multiple reports from the same year: (MarketLine, 2014a, p. 10)

Statista

Statista. (Year of Publication, Month Day).Title of report: Subtitle if any. Retrieved from Name of Library Database database.  

References List Example

​Statista. (2019). Alcohol consumption in the United Kingdom. Retrieved from Statista database.

In-Text Paraphrase

(Statista, Year)

Example: (Statista, 2019)

In-Text Quote

(Statista, Year, p. Page Number)

Example: (Statista, 2019, p. 25)

Helpers

Printable Guide

Mendeley

Mendeley is referencing software which allows you to:

  • store references
  • organise references
  • generate citations
  • generate reference lists
  • share references

To get a Mendeley account on the CBS Library Institutional Licence please visit CBS Mendeley Guide

Need help?