Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Preqin: Preqin

Preqin Contents

Preqin offers comprehensive global research on investment industry. 
Note! CBS Library subscription includes only the Private Equity service which offer detailed information and analytics on firms, funds, deals, and portfolio companies.Explore this site for data on the performance of private equity firms and funds. 

Coverage includes:

  • Performance data on more than 5,000 funds dating back to 1999
  • Fund Managers: It contains profiles and data on more than 10,300 active private equity fund managers, including buyout, venture capital, distressed, mezzanine, natural resources and fund of funds. Fund manager is normally a private equity firm
  • Funds: information and data on more than 4,000 funds
  • Investors: in-depth profiles of more than 6,100 active institutional investors in private equity
  • Investment Consultants: profiles of leading investment consultants
  • Buyout Deals: a source of private equity-backed buyout deal and exit data, featuring coverage of over 48,500 transactions
  • Compensation: an annual survey of the latest trends in compensation practices at private capital firms.
  • Venture Deals: no access
  • Fund Terms: no access

Definitions

Private equity (PE) is an alternative investment class and consists of capital that is not listed on a public exchange. Private equity is composed of funds and investors that directly invest in private companies, or that engage in buyouts of public companies, resulting in the delisting of public equity. Institutional and retail investors provide the capital for private equity, and the capital can be utilized to fund new technology, make acquisitions, expand working capital, and to bolster and solidify a balance sheet

Venture capital (VC) is a financial investment of capital funds made by professional investors (venture capitalists) in start-up businesses, R&D ventures, or new product launches.  New product launches have a perceived potential for significant growth but have no access to capital markets and do not have a record of proven performance.  Investors may have some say in the company's management and are compensated with a combination of profits, preferred shares, or royalties.

Note: Private equity differs in that it provides equity capital to enterprises not quoted on a stock market and refers to all stages of industry, including venture capital.

Help & Support

My Profile & Contact Info

How to Search in Preqin (NB! CBS Library subscription only includes the PE - Private Equity service)

Preqin

(NB! - about the content: CBS Library subscription only includes the Private Equity service. And within the Private Equity service there is no access to the Venture Deals section)

Click on Private Equity tab at top navigation bar.

 

You can search for firms and funds by name or screen for funds by vintage year, fund type, geographic focus, manager location, industry focus, and fund size

 

Then select a specific dataset included in the service from the column on the left and click search on bottom right. From the expandable menu under each dataset select a type of search pertaining to query.

Download and export of data: at the top right click respective icon to print or download results to Excel, Word or PDF. 

Preqin Scholar

Preqin has a service called Preqin Scholar where you can find academic articles and research with references to Preqin data

 

Selected content in Private Equity Service

Funds in Market dataset: Get a count of funds matching selected criteria.  
Performance Analyst dataset: Create a custom set of funds and benchmark their performance against market standards or against custom benchmark.
Venture Deals Analyst or Buyout Deals Analyst dataset: View/download global IPO pipeline listing.