Written by Erik Sonne
If you are looking for information about Danish companies, CBS Library offers a wide range of databases that can help. Some of the most important databases include:
Orbis: This database provides information on over 400 million companies worldwide, including all registered Danish companies. This is a great choice if you are looking to compare companies across countries. Orbis data goes back at least 5 years and includes information on company ownership.
Navne & Numre Erhverv: This database offers information on all Danish companies, including accounting figures and ratios going back at least 5 years. It also provides full-text access to annual reports from the last 5 years and includes information on members of management teams and boards.
Infomedia and other news databases: If you are looking for news about specific companies, these databases are great resources.
Other resources
In addition to the databases provided by CBS Library, you can also find company information on the Internet. The CVR register, managed by
the Danish Business Authority, is a key resource, as it requires all registered companies to file annual reports and accounts. These reports go back almost 30 years, and they are available online and free of charge.
Older accounts are available upon request and for a fee. Data is available for individual companies, but you can also extract larger volumes of data. Check out Indgange til CVR for more details on how to extract data.
Finally, if you are interested in aggregated data about the Danish business community, check out StatBank Denmark from Statistics Denmark. While you cannot access data at the individual company level, you can find data on industry level and other aggregated information. Select Business as Subject to find data about the Danish business community.