Blog

By Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen 

CBS researchers now have access to Overton, the world’s largest database of policy documents and grey literature. Overton tracks more than 21 million policies and grey literature documents and automatically links them to the research they cite, helping you discover impact beyond journal citations. It is ideal for discovering policy citations, studying policy texts, and understanding the policymaking landscape. 

The database covers sources from 193 countries/territories in 74 languages (as of August 2025). 

Why it matters for your work

• Impact: Identify where your publications are cited in policy, which could be useful for applications, evaluations, and impact statements. 
• Systematize grey literature: Bring hard-to-find reports and guides with transparent provenance into your reviews. 
• Stay on top of developments: Save searches, set up email alerts, tag and highlight results. 
• Data access & integration: Use the REST API to export and analyze Overton data in your workflows. Use the quick-start and reference guides to get started with Overton. 

Join us for an online introduction to Overton 

Sign up for one of the webinars Discover how policy documents shape your research impact (1 hour) in November and find out how to make the most of Overton. You will learn how to:

• Browse and search Overton effectively
• Track citations of academic research in policy
• Integrate grey literature into your work

And of course, you will also get the chance to get any questions you may have answered

The webinars are hosted by Overton and CBS Library & Academic Services

Choose between the following dates (CET) and sign up via the links:

• Monday, 3 November 2025, 10:00–11:00
• Friday, 7 November 2025, 10:00–11:00

Getting started with Overton

Access Overton

If you have any questions, please contact metrics.lib@cbs.dk

By Mette Bechmann

If you use Google Scholar to search for research literature, you can make your search results even more powerful by activating CBS Library Fulltext links. With a simple tick of a box, you can connect your Google Scholar account to the digital resources provided by CBS Library & Academic Services, allowing you to access full-text articles in those cases where CBS has a publisher subscription. 

Once activated, a “CBS Fulltext” link will appear next to your search results. One click of your mouse will take you directly to the full-text document via CBS Library, saving you time and ensuring legal and reliable access to the content that you need. 

How to set it up: 

1. Open Google Scholar 
2. Click the burger menu (☰) in the top left corner 
3. Select Settings and Library links 
4. In the search box, type in Copenhagen Business School 
5. Tick the box next to Copenhagen Business School - CBS Fulltext 
6. Save 

You are now ready to access CBS Library resources directly through Google Scholar. 

If you are working off campus, remember to use the VPN connection or log in to any CBS service before accessing full-text articles. In this way, Google Scholar will recognize your CBS affiliation. 

By Liv Bjerge Laursen

To make sure that course literature is always available to your students, we review every reading list submitted to Academic Books as well as all lists created in Course Readings on Canvas. We then go on to purchase print copies of items not available from our collections already and place them in the dedicated Course Collection. Where possible, we buy e-copies for our general collection. 

Feel free at any time to submit additional requests for the Course Collection if you wish to suggest supplementary readings for your students.

If you are not already using Course Readings in Canvas, this might be the perfect opportunity to get started and join the growing number of CBS faculty who want to take advantage of the technology to create, share, and share reading lists without hassle and to stay on top of copyright requirements at the same time. With Course Readings, your students will get easy, uniform, and equitable access to content, and you will never have to check and double-check links again, while at the same time you will be able to monitor your student cohort´s use of the literature.

Check out our guide: Using Course Readings in Canvas, where you will find more information and watch a short introductory video. 

If you would like help to get started with Course Readings, please contact your liaison librarian, who will be more than happy to help.

By Liv Bjerge Laursen

As faculty at CBS, your time is precious. Between teaching, publishing, and administrative responsibilities, there’s rarely a moment to explore how the library could support your research and teaching. Many faculty members don’t realize the range of resources and personalised services available, or how much easier their work could become with the right guidance. 

Have you ever felt stuck… 

…trying to locate the right articles, set up a search strategy, or choose the best tool for your research? Or wondered about copyright rules for teaching materials, open access options, or how to register your publications?  

These tasks can be time-consuming, and without support, these issues can slow down your research, affect the visibility of your work, and add unnecessary stress. 

That’s where your Liaison Librarian comes in. 
Every department at CBS has a dedicated librarian ready to help you. 

We can assist you with: 

• Search support: Learn how to build effective search strategies and navigate databases with confidence. Get advice on using AI tools critically in your searches 
• Tool training: To subscription-based tools like Mendeley (reference management), NVivo (qualitative analysis), Qualtrics (surveys), Konch (transcription), and financial data tools. 
• Stay updated: Set up alerts for journals and topics relevant to your field. 
• Publishing guidance: Get tips on finding a good outlet for your research, open access, and copyright for both research and teaching. 
• Research registration & data management: Connect with our in-house experts for tailored support. 

Whether you are a new PhD student, a seasoned professor, or part of the administrative staff, your Liaison Librarian is here to make your work smoother and more efficient. 

Reach out to your Liaison Librarian and discover how the library can be your strategic partner in research, teaching, and publishing. 

By Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen and Mette Bechmann

When we talk about copyright in academic publishing, the focus is often on the written text. However, many research articles also contain non-textual elements – figures, tables, graphs, photos, or illustrations – which can be just as protected as the written word. 

Your own elements

If you have created the element yourself, you generally hold the copyright. This means you decide where and how it can be used. In practice, however, many researchers transfer the rights to the element through an author agreement to the journal or publisher when their work is published. It is therefore important to examine the author agreement carefully: Do you retain your rights, or do you grant an exclusive license to the publisher? Some journals allow reuse of figures in teaching or presentations, while others require separate permission. 

Elements created by others

If, in your own writing or dissemination, you wish to include material you did not create yourself – for example, a photo, a figure from another article, or an illustration from a book chapter – you need to make sure you have the right to use it. This may involve contacting the rights holder, purchasing a license, or using material under an open license such as Creative Commons. It is worth remembering that citing the source alone is not sufficient to bypass permission requirements. 

Visualizations built on others’ data

One particular point of attention is data visualizations and tables. While the underlying data may not be protected by copyright, the selection, structure, and graphic presentation of those data often are. This means you are free to work with the same data but may not copy another researcher’s specific presentation without permission. 

In short: Copyright in research publications is not just about words. It can be useful to reflect on how non-textual elements are used and shared – both those you create yourself and those you borrow from others. Reviewing your author agreements and considering your use of figures and images can help prevent problems. 

And if in doubt, Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen at CBS Library is a valuable resource for guidance. 

By Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen

The Danish Agency for Higher Education and Science has released the results of this year’s Open Access Indicator, and the outcome is very positive for CBS. A full 74% of CBS publications are now available as Open Access, up from 67% last year. This places CBS ahead of both Aalborg University and Aarhus University. 

The heavy increase is mainly due to national license agreements that allow CBS researchers to publish Open Access without additional costs. These agreements have been crucial in reducing the share of blocked publications and in ensuring wider accessibility to CBS research. 

At the same time, CBS has the lowest share of unused publications among Danish universities – only 5%. This is a clear sign that CBS has managed to utilize our Open Access potential to its fullest. 

About Open Access 
Publishing as Open Access increases the visibility and accessibility to research, ensuring that knowledge can be freely shared and built upon. Moreover, by choosing Open Access, researchers meet the requirements set by many funding bodies that mandate open dissemination of publicly funded research. 

For more info:
Read about The Danish Open Access Indicator 

CBS Library has also published a Libguide on Open Access. 

You are always welcome to write to us at oa@cbs.dk if you have questions about Open Access.  

By Camilla Boelsgaard Lund

As members of faculty, you play a vital role in shaping how students approach their studies and research. One of the most impactful ways to support their success is by reminding them of the library’s resources. Many students underestimate the richness of the library resources - resources that are free to use and designed to help them succeed and thrive.

Four reasons students should take full advantage of the library:

1. Access to quality literature and research
   Students can move beyond basic web searches and draw from peer-reviewed journals, books, and databases that give them reliable and credible sources.

2.  

   Expert guidance from librarians
   Librarians are trained to help students refine their topics, navigate resources, and save time when doing so. 

3. Study spaces designed for learning
   Whether they need spaces for quiet reflection or collaborative work, students can always find a place to study that matches their personal study style.
4. Skill building for lifelong learning
   By learning to evaluate sources, use databases, and reference in an open and transparent way, students gain research skills that extend well beyond the classroom.

And here is the bonus: it helps you, too. 

Students who make use of these resources are often better prepared, more engaged, and produce higher-quality work. In addition, librarians can collaborate with you through tailored instruction sessions, resource guides, and research support.

Together, we can help students see the library not just as a building but as a good friend on their academic journey. A quick mention in Canvas or a reminder in class can open doors for them and lighten your teaching load at the same time. 

By  Lene Janussen Gry and Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen 

The national Open Access agreement with Wiley covers up to 1,110 articles per year across all participating research institutions. This cap is projected to be reached by mid‑October 2025. After that point, the agreement can no longer be used for new publications. The current Wiley contract ends in December 2025, but a new one is underway, so you should be able to publish under the renewed terms from January ’26. 

Stay updated via the Wiley agreement page
We will make sure to post a notice when the cap is reached. 

Please also note: Similar caps exist for Springer, Taylor & Francis, and Cambridge University Press. At present, however, those caps are not even close to being reached. Updates will be posted in the main Open Access Libguide.

For questions, Please reach out to oa@cbs.dk

By Mette Bechmann

Looking for reliable news about Danish research and policy? Science Report is an independent online magazine dedicated to the Danish research community.

The magazine features news, background articles, and interviews from across the Danish research landscape. It reports on new discoveries, trends, and the broader questions of how research is funded, governed, and used in society.

For Copenhagen Business School, Science Report is especially relevant. It regularly publishes stories connected to CBS, whether about our own research, developments in economics and management, or policy debates that affect business research.

Although published in Danish, it is a great way to stay informed about the national research environment. For international colleagues, it offers valuable insights into how Danish research is being discussed and prioritized.

Sign up for the Science Report newsletter to stay up to date without any hassle. 

Find Science Report 

By René Steffensen

In December 2024, the CBS Board approved a proposal for CBS’ AI strategy, providing the framework for an ambitious initiative that, in the coming years, will involve CBS programmes, research, and administration.
The library is responsible for coordinating CBS’ overall AI efforts in support of the AI Board.

In the library section of CBSshare under AI at CBS, you will find more information about CBS’ AI strategy and the work of the AI Board, along with insights into how artificial intelligence is being applied and explored at CBS – in research, teaching, and administration. You can also read more about tools such as ChatGPT and Copilot, find answers to frequently asked questions, and explore current training offers and resources for staff.

From strategy to action

The CBS AI Board held its inaugural meeting in May 2025, with particular focus on proposals for AI pilots within teaching and learning. A total of 14 projects were approved, of which five are being launched as soon as possible by the proposers in collaboration with EDQ.

Copilot is CBS’ general GenAI offering for all employees and students. In addition, the library rolled out 500 ChatGPT EDU licences in May. Due to the high cost, licences are limited. In the initial phase, the departments were prioritised with 350 licences and were responsible for distributing them in-house.

In the autumn, the extended MS365 version with Copilot will be rolled out – again in a limited batch, this time with a focus on administrative staff.