Written by Erik Sonne
Are you looking for the most recent data on financial markets or time series of key financials or commodity prices? If so, S&P Capital IQ, our brand acquisition and one of the leading financial databases, would be a good place to start.
The web-based S&P Capital IQ platform provides highly structured, in-depth financial and company data, as well as data on markets, industries, and people. S&P Capital IQ covers among other things:
- Companies: detailed coverage of 63.000 public companies and 4.5 million private companies, totaling 99% of global market capitalization.
- Research reports: company and industry research reports from various contributors and publishers, including brokerage, consulting, and research organizations.
- Transactions: detailed transaction coverage for M&A deals and IPOs
- People Intelligence: profiles of more than one million professionals, including private and public company executives, board members, and investment professionals
Although S&P Capital IQ is a web-based platform, you can also access the database through an Excel plug-in, which allows you to undertake multifaceted analyses of companies and markets.
Although S&P Capital IQ is a web-based platform, you can also access the database through an Excel plug-in, which allows you to undertake multifaceted analyses of companies and markets.
Getting started
To access the database, you need to register. Check out how to register and other relevant details on our website or in our S&P Capital IQ guide.
CBS Library also provides access to other financial databases, but S&P Capital IQ is the only one that is available both on and off campus.
With the acquisition of S&P Capital IQ, access to the financial database Thomson One Banker will be discontinued. We have provided access to this database for years, but in addition to technical issues around accessing the database, the owner of the database has decided to shut it down altogether.