Blog

We are continuously expanding our collection of e-books. Below you will find a brief update.

Oxford Handbooks Online

Oxford Handbooks Online has expanded in the fields of business and management, finance and economics, law, linguistics, philosophy and politics. We have purchased the following 2016 collections:

• Business & Management - 2016 Collection
• Economics & Finance - 2016 Collection
• Law - 2016 Collection
• Political Science - 2016 Collection

Find out more about Oxford Handbooks Online
Try out Oxford Handbooks Online

Emerald Insight

We have purchased a new collection of e-books from Emerald Insight. The new collection covers a variety of transport issues, including logistics and transport economics.

Check out the Transport Collection
Find out more about Emerald Insight

New Names

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management is now Wiley Encyclopedia of Management. As the title suggests focus is on management and contents include thorough descriptions, definition, and readings.

Visit Wiley Encyclopedia of Management

Ebrary, one of our main e-book platforms, is now Ebook Central. Topics include business and economics, computer science, the humanities and social sciences. 

Hint: To download or print, you need to create a user profile. Existing Ebrary users are automatically migrated to Ebook Central.

Check out Ebook Central
Visit the CBS Library guide to e-books

If you are working with big data processing and are struggling with too little computing power, you may want to check out the services offered by the DeIC National HPC Centre in Odense. In collaboration with the University of Southern Denmark, they have recently established a super computer, which is open to all researchers in Denmark.

The super computer (Abacus 2.0) is a very flexible system that accommodates a very large range of research and technical applications. Built with 3 different kinds of computing nodes and boasting a very fast local and distributed storage system, you can pick the solution which best fits your needs.

Access is granted on a 4-months basis. Openings start at 1st of march, 1st of june, and 1st of November.

You can find more information, including prices and application details, on the Abacus 2.0 website at https://abacus.deic.dk/.

All research is based on data – whether collected through surveys, interviews or experiments, harvested from public registers, provided by a commercial data service, or published in journals and trusted repositories.
The question is, how do you handle these core research assets? How do you make sure that you are always accessing the latest version of a given data set? How do you arrange for the regular back up of your data? Finally, how do you share your data with your collaborators, whether in-house at CBS, at other Danish universities, or abroad?

Research data management comprises all practices that ensure that your research data are well organized, documented, backed up, and securely stored throughout their entire lifecycle.

The Research Data Management Support is a newly established function at CBS Library that helps you deal with all data management challenges that may arise during the research process:

• We advise on good data management practice that helps you comply with requirements from funders and publishers.
• We help you write data management plans.
• Together with CBS Legal, we help you navigate the legal implications of research data management.
• Together with CBS IT, we help you select IT infrastructures that optimally serve your data management needs, e.g. the secure sharing of data with colleagues in larger research collaborations.

If you want to learn more, please contact Mareike Buss or Lars Nondal.

Infomedia now sports a brand new look. The search features remain the same whereas the interface has changed a lot.

A very useful video introduction to the new design is available and in the “Help” menu you will find a quick guide to both basic and advanced search features. Expert researchers can search the database and at the same time navigate the Expert help file.

Contents remain the same, i.e. all Danish newspapers, a plethora of Danish journals and magazines, as well as radio and TV news summaries.

A complete catalogue of available resources as well as coverage information are available from Hjælp -> Kildeinfo (Help -> Source info).

As all contents are in Danish, searches should be conducted in that language. Click for a list of international news media resources.

Mette Bechmann is the liaison librarian to INO and OM. We have asked her to explain her job in her own words.

“I love visiting new PhD students. They are eager to get started with their research and are very attentive to my suggestions. Many of them are already versed in the part of the craft of research that deals with literature search but are often not aware of the additional discovery tools available in many of the databases provided by the library

“If I had only known this or that when I was writing my master thesis” is a phrase that I often hear.

The statistics and company databases also offer intricate niches that can excite a new researcher.

Senior faculty often ask complex questions and if I fall short, I have good colleagues whom I can ask or refer to. There is a great willingness to help among my colleagues at the library and faculty benefits from that.

Questions from both academic and administrative staff on deep linking to articles, reports, tables, and other sources as well as usage rights in connection with teaching materials very often reach my desk.

Other than being the liaison librarian to INO and OM I coordinate, and teach, many of the courses for students offered by the library, both those embedded in the teaching programmes and our stand-alone courses.”

As many researchers turn to Google Scholar as a discovery and access point, it can be hard to make a case for individual publisher websites as viable alternatives.

Sometimes, however, it is worth trying and the new Taylor & Francis Online article discovery interface is a case in point.

Although the search option is not exactly cutting-edge, the features connected with individual documents are quite sophisticated.

For someone happy with on-screen reading, the HTML full-text option offers a variety of features that will enhance both the reading and the research experience: Click a reference to launch a pop-up with all source information. A selection of tabs at the head of the article offer a range of options, including a complete reference list and citations, hyperlinked when possible, a “Figures and data” tab, that allows you to download CSV files and Power-Point slides of figures and data appearing in the document. A metrics feature helps you understand how people engage with the document, not only through citations in other research papers but also on social media and blogs, and in newspapers.

Authors that are required to submit additional supporting research data as a condition for funding will add them to repositories such as DataCite and articles based on this data are linked to the data from the abstract page.

A Google Translate option is available in some sections, we do not, however, recommend using it, except if you are looking for a laugh!

An image of a whiteboard brainstorm, a screenshot, a quickly jotted note, a Word document, a spreadsheet, notes on your mobile device… all these elements can be a vital part of your work.

Evernote offers an easy way to capture all your thoughts and ideas in a structured way.

Various options for sorting your notes are available, including a folder system, “notebooks”, and tagging across formats.

When you work with images, e.g. a photo of a power point presentation from a conference, Evernote will convert the textual part of the image into a searchable format, allowing for easier retrieval. This feature also works quite well for handwritten text.

Evernote works on both tablets, mobile phones, and computers and your notes will synchronize across these platforms. You can also share your notes with other users and with other apps that you use. Integration between Google Drive and Evernote is in the pipeline, so if you are already a keen user of Google Drive, you have something to look forward to in the near future.
A free version that includes saving, synchronizing, and sharing features will cover most needs of a first time user.  Two other versions that include more storage space, off-line access, an e-mail archive etc. are also available against an annual fee.

Questions can be directed to Mette Bechmann

Both for teaching and research purposes the Statistics Denmark blog (in Danish only) is a go-to place to find inspiration in or to extract data from statistical sources, reports, surveys, etc., both domestic and international.

Recent entries include:

• Patents, trademarks, and intellectual property rights - including references to databases, publications, and country reports.
• Absence due to illness and self- assessed health status –reference to a Danish report and a summary from Eurostat.
• Denmark is one of the top performing countries in Europe in terms of digital performance – in addition to the EU performance index the entry also highlights the availability of customized visual representations of the data across indicators. 
• The EU pay gap – points to a Eurostat article discussing wage differences to mark International Women´s Day on March 8.

Historical entries include:

• Analysis of industry vulnerability in the face of interruptions in raw material supplies - refers to a comprehensive report by Videncenter for Mineralske Råstoffer og Materialer (MiMa)
• Web-based cross-border trade – points to a survey by the Confederation of Danish Enterprise
• Entrepreneurs and start-ups in Denmark – discusses a recent analysis from the Rockwool Foundations Research Unit and draws on data from the Central Business Register.

Register to receive a notification whenever a new entry is published (app. every 2 weeks).

You might argue that letting your students access their readings through a simple click of a mouse on LEARN runs counter to our endeavors to teach students the academic skill of navigating library resources and thus locating their readings themselves. On the other hand, more students might actually get around to reading the texts.

If you want to create stable or secure links to research articles available from the library databases, please check out our new and improved CBSshare pages. We have rearranged the information and added a couple of new guides, a page calculator, as well as an automatic DOI-link generator.

If, on the other hand, you wish to throw your support behind the “academic skill” effort, please do not hesitate to ask us to deliver a 10- minute auditorium presentation of how your students themselves can locate their readings in a quick and easy way through the library.

Please direct questions on linking to your liaison librarian.

For more information about on-site demos, please contact Mette Bechmann.

In this era of confusing the use of a search engine with Googling, it is high time to explore alternative ways of searching the internet.

A case in point is Wolfram Alpha, a self-styled computational knowledge engine that allows you to view the results of your queries in quite a different way than Google.

Wolfram Alpha is robust in terms of data and displays results in a very easily read way. Look at these examples, one dealing with life expectancy the other with General Electric. Every section is accompanied by a reference to the source of the information, simply mouse over the relevant section and click the book icon.

Wolfram Alpha is especially suitable for statistics and can be used as a calculator.