Blog

By Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen

The consortium agreement between Elsevier and Danish research institutions means that CBS researchers can publish their research as Open Access free of charge in a number of Elsevier journals.

The agreement came into force on January 1 2021 and will run until December 31 2024.
To be eligible for zero-cost Open Access publishing, an article needs to meet the following requirements:

• The article is submitted to the journal after January 1 2021.
• The corresponding author is affiliated with Copenhagen Business School.
• The journal must be part of the agreement

What to do?
When your article is accepted for publication, you will receive an e-mail with a link to the “post-acceptance author journey”. To make sure that your article is published as Open Access at no cost, you need to complete the form as follows:

1. Choose ‘Copenhagen Business School’ as ‘Corresponding Author’s Organization’.
2. Choose ‘Gold OA’ to publish your article as Open Access without a publication fee.
3. Pick a Creative Commons license. You have the choice of CC BY and CC BY-NC-ND (if you have any questions about Creative Commons licenses, please send an e-mail to oa@cbs.dk).

If you prefer, you can also check out Elsevier´s video tutorial Gold Open Access: Central Funding Agreement

Which journals are included in the agreement?
Except for about 170 titles, the agreement covers most subscription-based journals.

Check to see if a specific journal is included in the agreement  

Open Access journals, i.e. journals that are not subscription-based and where all articles are published as Open Access, are not part of the agreement. If you publish in one of these journals, you will need to pay an Article Processing Charge (APC).
Click for a list of Elsevier Open Access journals.

Read more about the agreement in the CBS Library guide to Open Access

Please direct all questions to oa@cbs.dk

By Lene Hald

CBS Library provides full-text access to huge volumes of research articles but not all. So how do you proceed, if you happen upon a title that is not readily available from the library collections and if you don't have the time to go through an (otherwise quick) interlibrary loan process? Alternative legal options do exist!

Most publishers allow for the uploading to a repository of an ‘accepted version’ (i.e. after peer-review and before publisher’s layout) of research articles. These articles rarely appear on the first page when you do a Google search – but in many cases, they exist and are free and legal to read and download.

Unpaywall and Open Access Button are both tools that search repositories around the world to help you find these ‘hidden’ versions of articles.

How do they work?
Unpaywall offers a browser extension that will tell you immediately if the desired article is available or not. A small lock will appear on the right-hand side of the browser. If it is grey and locked, no accepted version is available, but if it is green and open, you can click the lock to access an available version of the article.
To see an example of a green lock:

1. Install the browser extension
2. Turn off the VPN connection to the CBS network
3. Open this page (article example)
4. Click the green lock on the right-hand side of the browser to access the article

Open Access Button works in a similar way but the Button stays on the top of your browser.

All you have to do is click the Button and it will take you to an available version of the article, if such a version exists.
Download the Open Access Button

If you have any questions about these tools or about Open Access in general, please send an e-mail to oa@cbs.dk

By Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen & Lene Hald

The Danish National Research Database (DNRD) has served as a joint discovery service for local research databases of Danish research institutions and has been the place to go for an overview of Danish research results. DNRD was discontinued in January 2021 and a permanent replacement has not yet emerged, it is however under development.

As a temporary alternative, DNRD refers to NORA, a prototype of a national Open Research Analytics platform.
 

NORA provides an overview of Danish research results, and can also be used as a research analytics platform. Just to give you an example: in NORA, you will find a summary of Danish research in relation to the Sustainable Development Goals. This information can be narrowed down to a specific university:

Illustration: Snapshot of SDG’s in relation to CBS publications

NB! It is important to keep in mind that the underlying data in NORA is not pulled from the local research databases of Danish universities but is primarily based on data from Dimensions (a database from Digital Science). This may distort the representation of research results as the ratio of research publications actually indexed in Dimensions varies across universities.

Find links to local research databases, read more about the discontinuation of DNRD, and check for updates

If you have any questions, please contact Lene Hald or Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen.

By Erik Sonne

As a consequence of globalization, a multitude of international actors has emerged beside nation-states. In fact, there are so many different organizations, that it can be difficult to assess their number as well as their nature. The database Yearbook of International Organizations can help negotiate this complexity.

The Yearbook of International Organizations is a comprehensive database of more than 70.000 organizations worldwide. It is based on a 6-volume print edition with a publishing history that goes back more than 100 years. This means, that you also have access to historical data that can help shed light on developments within international organizations.

Organizational records

Descriptions of individual organizations typically contain information about history, purpose, important events, structure etc. You will also find a summary of publications as well as a description of relations with other organizations. A brand new feature links the international organizations to the UN Sustainable Development Goals.

In addition to looking up named organizations, you can also browse the database by subject and geography.

Check out the user guide for more information about contents, functionalities, and methodological issues.

If you want to know more

In her contribution to the anthology The Ashgate Research Companion to Non-State Actors, Elizabeth Bloodgood has reviewed the Yearbook of International Organizations along with other sources of data and information on international organizations.

• Bloodgood, Elizabeth, "The Yearbook of International Organizations and Quantitative Non-State Actor Research", in The Ashgate Research Companion to Non-State Actors ed. Bob Reinalda (Abingdon: Routledge, 2011)

If you have any questions about the Yearbook, please reach out to Erik Sonne

By Liv Bjerge Laursen

If you are doing research on marketing, WARC could definitely be an interesting place for you to visit. Not only has the WARC interface been redesigned recently, but the database has also seen an influx of new contents, including talks by people in the industry on current marketing challenges. These talks may also be interesting for your students.

You can sign up for talks and participate live, or you can watch recordings of past talks on subjects such as:

• Clean, green and affordable: Striking a balance between sustainability, hygiene and value in packaging
• What does COVID-19 mean for the next generation of strategists?
• How mobile gaming is changing brand loyalty strategies

On top of the talks /webinars themselves, you will also find links to other relevant contents in WARC, including reports, market analyses, trend analyses, and articles.
 

Other cool WARC features include:

• A data section that provides structured access to downloadable reports and data on advertising and the media used for advertising.
• A feed that allows you filter the most recent contents by industry or country.
• Rankings of top100s, including Creative 100, Effective 100, and Media 100.

You can access the various sections of the database from the menu in the top right-hand corner.

Access to WARC goes through the CBS Library database directory.
Enjoy!

By Dicte Madsen

In September 2015, 193 countries agreed to adopt a set of global goals to end poverty, protect the planet, and ensure prosperity for all. 

A new feature in the CBS Research Portal now accentuates these goals and allows users to explore how CBS researchers and their works contribute towards achieving them.

Visit research.cbs.dk to explore