Blog

By Karina Gregersen & Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen

Wiley has entered into a consortium agreement with Danish research institutions that allows CBS researchers to publish their research as Open Access in any of Wiley’s hybrid journals (subscription-based journals that offer an Open Access option) for free.
The agreement came into force on 1 January 2022 and is valid until 31 December 2025.

If you choose to publish Open Access for free with Wiley, your article will be published under the Creative Commons license CC-BY.

To publish Open Access for free, the following conditions need to be satisfied:

• The article is accepted on 1 January 2022 or later.
• The article is primary research or a review article.
• The corresponding author is affiliated to Copenhagen Business School.
• The journal must be part of the agreement.

Please note, that the Wiley agreement, as opposed to the Elsevier agreement, stipulates a national limit to the annual number of published Open Access articles.

What do I do as a researcher?
Check out Wiley´s step-by-step guide for information about how to publish Open Access in a Wiley hybrid journal.

If you do not opt for Open Access initially, your article will be published under the traditional, closed-access model.

Which journals are part of the agreement?
The agreement includes all of Wiley’s hybrid journals.
You can find a list of eligible journals right here.

Some of Wiley’s subscription-based journals and Open Access journals (journals that are not subscription-based and where all articles are published as Open Access) are not part of the agreement. If you publish in one of Wiley’s Open Access journals, you will need to pay an Article Processing Charge (APC).

You can find a list of Wiley Open Access journals right here.

If you have any questions, please contact Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen or Karina Gregersen at oa@cbs.dk.

By Mette Bechmann

This is the season for thesis writing – and the most popular titles in the methods section of the library are just flying off the shelves. However, a quick remedy for empty shelves is close at hand.
The SAGE Research Methods database not only contains lots of content on methodology, but it also provides features that can help students navigate.

 SRM comprises popular titles like Brinkmann & Kvale (2018) Doing Interviews, Flyvbjergs (2004) discussion of misunderstandings about case-study research, and much more.

Use the Methods Map … 
What strings everything together in SRM is a tool called Methods Map that allows for both purposeful and serendipitous exploration of broad or narrow manifestations of various methodological approaches, such as discourse analysis (click the link for an example).

When you are satisfied that you have found something useful, you can search the database for this topic by a click of your mouse.

… or other access points
If you search for a specific method, you can choose from a whole parade of content types in the right-hand menu, including Foundation Entries and Encyclopedia. The Foundation section provides definitions, short introductions, and outlines important trends and schools of thought, as well as core contributors.

So, if your students ever complain that they cannot get hold of relevant literature on methodology, please refer them to SRM on the library website. 

By Liv Bjerge Laursen

There are currently two versions of Mendeley available for download to your computer:

• Mendeley Desktop (MD)
• Mendeley Reference Manager (MDM)

Some users have already migrated to MRM or never used MD to begin with, primarily because MD does not run on the most recent OS for Mac.
It is our impression, however, that the majority of Mendeley users among CBS faculty use legacy MD (but we cannot know for sure).

Mendeley Desktop will be phased out
Mendeley recently announced that the phase-out of MD will commence on September 1st, 2022, after which date new users will no longer be able to download and install the MD software. Existing MD users, on the other hand, will still be able to sign in to, use, and sync their MD accounts. A deadline for a final termination of MD remains to be announced, but it is coming:

Longer-term, once we are confident that the new Mendeley Reference Manager sufficiently meets the needs of our users, we will begin the process of stopping all sign-ins to Mendeley Desktop.
 

The Mendeley Reference Manager is ready
You can find out more about the new MRM on the Mendeley blog.

Please note, If you are currently using MD, you can install and try out the new MRM service without having to leave MD, but DO NOT mix the two Cite features in one and the same paper, as they CANNOT work together.

Want to provide feedback?
Whether MRM is your primary reference tool or you are just stopping by for a test drive, you can use the build-in feedback option to let Mendeley know what you think about MRM. You will find the feedback option in the top right corner of MRM or in your online Mendeley library.

We recommend
Since there are still quite a few features missing from MRM, we recommend that you stick to MD as your primary reference tool, unless of course you are working on a new Mac that only supports MRM.

Please direct any questions or comments to reftool.lib@cbs.dk

By Birgit Brejnebøl

CBS Library now subscribes to Berlingske Tidende online (b.dk), which includes access to Business and E-avisen, including back issues from 2008 onwards.
On-campus and VPN access is available for CBS students and staff.
Need help to set up VPN?
 

Access to other Danish newspapers
On top of Berlingske Tidende, CBS Library provides digital access to both Jyllands-Posten and Dagbladet Børsen.
Get access to more newspapers

If you are looking for specific articles, we recommend that you use Infomedia, where you can search across most Danish newspapers and magazines.
Search Infomedia
 

Usage restrictions under CBS newspaper license agreements

• ​Sharing content with people outside of CBS is not permitted.
• Downloading articles to Canvas or other sites is not permitted. Insert references instead and point to the newspaper websites.
• Text and data mining in newspapers is not permitted but is possible for a fee and upon request to Infomedia.

For more information, please contact Birgit Brejnebøl (ext. 3693). 

By Milos Kovacevic & Lars Nondal

The first call for resources on the national HPC facilities is now open. Check out the DeiC website for more information

• The national HPC facilities are described in more detail on CBSshare
• Deadline: May 2, 2022.
• Apply using https://e-grant.dk
• The relevant e-grant template for these applications is not available yet, so applications cannot be uploaded before mid-April.
• Applications are peer-reviewed by an ‘e-resource committee’, which includes two CBS professors.

On the Apply for HPC resources website you will find a draft of the ‘E-resource Application’ that will be made available on e-grant.dk.

You will also find a ´E-resource Application Form Guide’ for support.

Need help?
Data Scientist & HPC Support Milos Kovacevic can help you determine what resources you need (storage, CPUs, GPUs, Virtual Machines, HPC types, etc.). The DeiC Interactive HPC type is particularly easy if you are new to HPC.
 

We have seen a huge interest in applications for HPC resources after our presentations to CBS departments. So far 23 CBS projects have been granted resources from our own local pool of HPC resources.

Contact the CBS RDM Support at rdm@cbs.dk if you want to apply for these computing/storage resources.

By Camilla Boelsgaard Lund

During the centennial, we will be looking back on the 100 years that have lapsed since the foundation of CBS Library. We have now reached the 1930s and the highlights of the decade were:

A re-organization of our collections, implementation of library courses for students, a doubling of our collections through donations, and relocation to a new home.

Find out more about CBS Library in the 1930s

Stop by the library in Solbjerg Plads to see the display of literary classics. If you have any suggestions for other must-read titles, please let us know!

Check out the CBS Library anniversary event programme