Blog

By Lars Nondal & Milos Kovacevic

The second call for applications for resources on the national HPC (High-Performance Computing) facilities is now open.
You will find a lot more information about the call at Apply for HPC resources | Danish e-Infrastructure Cooperation (deic.dk)

• You can apply for computing and storage resources on various types of HPC systems. This application round (H1-2023) is for resources to be spent from 1.1.2023. The project period is normally 6 months, but you can also apply for resources for 1 or 2-year projects.
• The national HPC facilities are described in more detail on High-Performance on CBSshare.
• Deadline: 4^th October 2022. 
• Applications are peer-reviewed by an ‘e-resource committee’, which includes two CBS professors.

On the DeiC Apply for HPC resources website, you will find the ‘E-resource Application Form’ as well as a ‘Guide’ on how to fill it in.

Need help with the application?
Please contact data scientist Milos Kovacevic as soon as possible if you want to start preparing an application for these resources. He will be available to discuss the application details with you (the different kinds of resources, how much you need to apply for, etc.).
 

Local resources are also available now
If you need HPC resources right away, or at some later point in 2022, please reach out to Milos Kovacevic. We have a substantial pool of ‘local’ HPC resources (computing and storage) for you to tap into. This pool of ‘local’ resources will shrink significantly in 2023, so we strongly recommend that CBS researchers apply now for resources available in 2023 as described above.

Bonus information
The easiest-to-use and most accessible HPC service is DeiC Interactive HPC, also known as UCloud​. It allows you to work with software such as MATLAB, STATA, RStudio, and JupyterLab through a graphical user interface, in the same way as you would on your laptop.

Currently, there are 32 active CBS projects on DeiC Interactive HPC.

If you think your project could benefit from these resources, we will be happy to help. Simply drop us an e-mail.

By Mette Bechmann

You can now freely add newspaper articles in full text to your course readings in Canvas.  

The agreement between CBS and Copydan, the Danish copyright association, has until now been an annoying obstacle to the sharing with students of newspaper contents. With the coming into force in June 2022 of a supplementary agreement, this obstacle has now been overcome. Faculty are now allowed to:  

• scan a newspaper article and share it in digital form with students
• download an article from a web-based newspaper and share it with students
• copy-paste content from an article to a digital presentation 

The general limitations as described in the original agreement still stand. It is important to bear in mind, that the agreement only takes effect when all options to link directly to CBS Library licensed databases (such as Infomedia and Factiva) with full text coverage, have been exhausted.
 

The sharing of digital contents with the students is only permitted with password protection – that is, on Canvas. It is not allowed to share via e-mail, Facebook, and similar services.  

You will find more details about the agreement in this newly revised CBS Library guide to copyright, where you also find full-text copies of both the original and the supplementary agreement. 

Any questions can be directed to Mette Bechmann

By Camilla Boelsgaard Lund & Liselotte Brandstrup

These days, campus is brimming with the voices of happy and excited new students.

Shortly, teaching activities will commence and with them, their new lives as university students. You can help them get off to a good start by flagging the library and its services, that include, but are not limited to, a dedicated course reading collection, courses on information retrieval, study seats and study group rooms, all of which are useful when preparing for their courses, but also for academia as such.

To help them out, we have created a webpage called New to the Library?, where you will find a lot of relevant information about the library. Please feel free to point to it in class, should the opportunity arise.

 Go to New to the Library?

by Søren Madsen

If you are working with ESG Data, you may want to take a look at this new database.
With MSCI ESG Direct you can evaluate environmental, social, and governance (ESG) data, as well as find contents and analyses at company and industry level or as thematic reports.
MSCI ESG Direct measures the social, environmental, and governance performance of nearly 8.000 corporations using current ESG scores and reports.

How is the data organized?
MSCI ESG Direct is organized into two main tabs: 1/ Companies and 2/ Reports and Publications.
With MSCI ESG Direct, you can search companies and download:

• Company background reports
• Issuer Summaries
• ESG Ratings Tearsheets (brief summaries)
• ESG Ratings Reports (full reports)
• Industry Reports

If you are looking for reports and publications specifically, you will find that they are grouped into five categories:

• Green Bond Index Note
• Industry
• Methodology
• Thematic
• Other

Historical ESG data
Historical data from MSCI is available on request. Please contact Søren Madsen or Erik Sonne.
Until 1^st May 2024, access to this data is funded by Center for Corporate Performance | CBS - Copenhagen Business School

Find out more about MSCI ESG Direct and get help with your search

Check out the CBS Library guide to ESG data

Watch out for CBS Library ESG Data Days 2022
CBS Library is currently planning our annual ESG Data Days in October, when we will be hosting presentations by data suppliers, including Bloomberg, Eikon, and Morningstar, on how to make the most of their services.

You will find some of the 2021 presentations right here

Please feel free to reach out to Søren Madsen or Erik Sonne, if you have any questions.

By Liselotte Brandstrup

Over the course of the CBS Library centenary, we will be looking back on the 100 years that have lapsed since the foundation of the library.
We have now reached the 1960s where we will be zooming in on the head librarian, the advent of IT, and the language library.
Find out more about CBS Library in the 1960s

You can also dive into the 1970s. The topics that occupied the library were self-governing teams, new targets and policies, growth and IT development.
Read about CBS Library in the 1970s

Stop by the library in Solbjerg Plads to check out the display of literary classics from CBS core fields. If you have any suggestions for other must-read titles, please let us know!

Check out the CBS Library anniversary event schedule