Illustration: Colourbox
Written by Liselotte Brandstrup
Whether you want to read today’s newspapers or look for older news content for research purposes, CBS Library has you covered.
The library provides access to two major newspaper databases that together cover the whole world. They differ slightly in terms of coverage and functionalities but for both of them, to read the articles, you need to be on the CBS network or, if you are working from home, to be signed in to VPN.
PressReader
For staying on top of current affairs, PressReader is the place to go.
It provides access to newspaper content exactly as it appears in the print editions. The content goes far beyond just news, however. You will also find glossy magazines from around the world on just about anything, including food, lifestyle, and travel. You can use the filtering features to check out which publications are available for a specific country.
PressReader is not great for searching – except if you are looking for news of the day or you want to run a quick on a topic. The database archives do not go back several years, as in the case of Factiva, but typically only one year. This, however, varies with each publication.
If you register as a user, you can save your favorite publications and download the PressReader application to your tablet or smartphone for use on the go.
Find out more about PressReader and how to register
Factiva
Factiva is particularly good if you want to search for historical content or by topic. It comprises not only international, regional, and local newspapers, but also all kinds of industry magazines, press releases, including from companies, and a lot more.
To avoid being overwhelmed by hits, we recommend that you decide exactly which newspaper(s) are relevant. The easiest way to do this is to click Source and enter the title of the newspaper:
Source: Screen dump from Factiva
If you have any questions about the newspaper databases or a specific newspaper, please contact your liaison librarian.
If you are looking for Danish newspapers, check out the library website
Illustration: Colourbox
Written by Mette Bechmann
Statista, a very popular database from CBS Library, aggregates statistics, in many cases via visualizations or so-called infographics, from a wide range of sources, open (IMF and the World Bank) as well as pay-walled. Statista is not particularly big on long time-series for all sectors, but it is very useful for quick orientation.
For teaching purposes, you will find that Statista visuals are both clear and concise, and each item is accompanied by information about and links to the original sources.
Original research on consumers and brands
Statista displays their own research on consumers and brands in the Consumer Insights section, which covers 55 countries and territories with up to 60,000 respondents per country or territory. Via Consumer Insights, you will gain a deeper understanding of the needs and motivations driving consumer attitudes. Whether you are exploring purchasing patterns, brand loyalty, or the impact of societal and economic factors, the Insights section offers a wealth of data and analyses.
Beyond Statista
Although most Statista content is free of charge with CBS institutional access, you may come across restricted contents at times. If this happens, please reach out to your liaison librarian who may be able to recommend alternative resources.
Try out Statista