Blog

Illustration: Colourbox

By Mette Bechmann

As always, the library will do our best to help ensure smooth access to course literature for your students – whether you prefer to give the students a list of references, link to paywall readings, or use Course Readings in Canvas.  

We automatically check all reading lists submitted to Academic Books and created in Course Readings lists to make print and, whenever possible, digital copies available to your students. But you are also welcome to submit a request directly to the library.

Preparing a new course is the perfect time to get started with Course Readings in Canvas. By using Course Readings, CBS library will be able to help you ensure that all materials that you make available to students comply with copyright guidelines.

Find out how to use Course Readings here

NB. If you are already using Course Readings, you can look forward a brand new and even more intuitive interface from July 1. 

Illustration: CBS Library

By Liselotte Brandstrup

CrossAsia is a new portal that replaces  AsiaPortal and is  targeted at CBS faculty and students who take a special interest in the studies of southeast Asia.
CBS has access via NoBas (Nordic-Baltic Association for Asian.Studies).

CrossAsia provides access to newspapers (also archives), journals, and databases that cover the political, social, and economic aspects of life of the region.

CBS has access to the following titles:

• NK News & NK Pro, Japan Times Archives (three simultaneous users)
• Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search (two simultaneous users)
• Yomidasu Yomiuri Database Service (two simultaneous users)
• China Academic Journals (three simultaneous users)
• China Core Newspapers
• People's Daily (Renminwang/Oriprobe)
• Airiti Library Chinese electronic theses and dissertations service
• Chinamaxx eBooks 
• LawInfoChina.

CBS does not provide access to the complete CrossAsia-portal (xasia).

Go to CrossAsia

Illustration: Keenious

By Joshua Kragh Amudzidis-Bruhn

Meet Keenious, the newest addition to our family of databases

Keenious is an AI-based discovery tool that allows for full-text prompts. Simply input an abstract from an article that you are already familiar with or some of your own work, a memo or an early draft of a manuscript, and you are ready to go.

This makes Keenious particularly useful for students who are just embarking on a paper about a topic of which they have no deep-seated prior knowledge, or perhaps no knowledge at all. Or for you, when you find yourself struggling to introduce a particular perspective in your quest for relevant content and the keywords just keep getting it wrong or escape you altogether.

Keenious provides an intuitive interface to kickstart any research process. Simply input your prompt and Keenious will find relevant content from among the 100 million articles indexed by OpenAlex, a huge, open catalogue of scholarly papers, authors, and organizations.

Exactly because it works very differently from traditional discovery systems and is based on coherent prose and not keywords, which sometimes can prove quite rigid and unyielding, Keenious provides an alternative route to uncover valuable information that might otherwise be missed in traditional searches.

Keenious is an AI-based tool, but it does not contravene any of the restrictions imposed by CBS on the use of GenAI, so you can throw all caution to the wind and push it to your students without fear of violating the guidelines.

However, because it is AI-based, which can sometimes make it difficult to know exactly what goes on behind the scenes, we do not recommend Keenious as a standalone strategy to uncover scholarly content, but as an add-on to more traditional approaches.

Find out more
For now, we do not provide separate courses on Keenious. Instead, it is part and parcel of our regular courses on scholarly content for students and faculty. If you want to find out more and get started with Keenious, check out these resources or talk to your liaison librarian.

Help us
If you decide to start working with the solution, we are very eager to get any feedback you may have, good or bad, as well as relevant use cases, so please reach out if you want to help us understand the opportunities as well as the barriers that Keenious represents.

Illustration: CBS Library

By Liselotte Brandstrup

Illustrattion: Colourbox

By Liv Bjerge Laursen and Lotte Risbæk Thomsen

Doing systematic literature reviews has gained a foothold in business management research in recent years. In recognition of this development, the library has taken a trial license for Covidence, an easy-to-use solution created with the sole purpose of supporting the review process. Covidence is originally designed for full systematic literature reviews but is also a valuable help when doing other types of reviews.

Covidence can help you with:

• Removing duplicates: If you run multiple searches in one database or search multiple databases, you will most likely wind up with duplicates. By uploading your results to Covidence, such duplicates will be removed, and the software will keep a record of how much has been removed and what has been removed to make sure you are always on top of the process.
• Keeping a record of your searches: you can save a copy of your search strings in Covidence, both for reuse and for reporting purposes.
• Supporting the screening process: You can set up criteria for inclusion and exclusion, get Covidence to highlight keywords in green or red to speed up screening, tag references by simply clicking Yes/No/Maybe, and, if you are more than one reviewer, resolve any inter-reviewer conflicts.
• Upload of pdf-files: After an initial screening based on title, abstract, and keywords, you can upload the PDF-files of the remaining references and screen content based on full text.
• Data extraction: Once you have settled on your final pick of articles, you can set up an extraction form to collect relevant information and/or data from the articles selected. In turn, you can export this collection for further processing.
• Prisma diagram: When you are done, a Prisma diagram depicting your review process will be available for inclusion in your paper.
• Collaboration is easy: Invite colleagues from CBS and beyond to join in the review process.

For access to Covidence, please contact review@cbs.dk

NB. Covidence is part of our general support for literature reviews. We can also help you with validating your research process and more. Check out CBSshare for more details.

Illustration: Colourbox

By Mette Bechmann og Lotte Risbæk Thomsen

All CBS students and staff now have access to Fonde.dk, including Legathåndbogen, where you can find grants and stipends to fund your research projects, travels, studies, etc. 
On Fonde.dk you can look for funding for research projects, travels, studies, and a lot more.  Fonde.dk comprises more than 7.000 funds and grants.

You will also find relevant articles on how to apply for funds, specifically targeted at study and internship grants for students, as well as editable application and budget templates, that you can adapt for any purpose. 

You will get access by signing in via WAYF on https://www.fonde.dk/. We encourage researchers who are looking for research funding to reach out to the CBS Research Support Office. Please direct all other questions to Per Vilhem Hansen or Lotte Risbæk Thomsen.