Blog

By René Steffensen

In February, CBS Library completed a strategy development project, the purpose of which is to ensure that we continue to be able to support CBS’s overall priorities and cross-cutting strategic initiatives.

As a result, the library will be even more dedicated to developing services within four of CBS’s strategic focal points:

• Artificial Intelligence: Together with suppliers, we will use AI to enhance platforms, personalize learning, and streamline administrative processes. We will emphasize fundamental academic skills such as reading, writing, and source criticism to ensure that the use of AI does not undermine these skills.
• Societal Impact: We aim to support positive change in the world by maintaining and developing our work in research communication and knowledge sharing. We will adopt a more dynamic role to become a network organization focused on active partnerships and interaction.
• Lifelong Learning: By adapting learning platforms, resources, and courses, we will support our users throughout their lifelong professional and personal development. At the same time, we will work to ensure that potential users develop a stronger and more lasting connection to CBS.
• Green Transition: We will contribute to CO2-reducing initiatives by setting requirements for suppliers and disclosing the climate footprint of our activities. We will draw inspiration from relevant sustainability programs for libraries and fully utilize these.

You can read more about this and more in our new 2025 strategy. In the very near future, we will start making plans and rolling out projects.

As an example of AI initiatives, a number of new research support tools are either already operational or in the pipeline, including ALMA Research Assistant, Overleaf, Keenious, and Scite.ai. We will make sure to keep you updated on these and other tools in our newsletter.

Read the CBS Library Strategy Paper 2025

By Lotte Risbæk Thomsen and Liselotte Brandstrup

If you are a frequent user of Science Direct or Scopus, you will be pleased to know that a new national four-year license agreement with Elsevier for the years 2025-2028 has now been finalized after lengthy negotiations.

For CBS, this means continued access to the Elsevier databases ScienceDirect and Scopus.

If you, as a researcher, have ever published Open Access, you may have had to pay for it. The new agreement with Elsevier includes an Open Access clause, that entails that you can publish your articles as Open Access in Elsevier subscription journals (the so-called 'hybrid' journals) at no cost.

If you want to publish your article as Open Access free of charge, you still need to fulfil the following requirements:

• You, a CBS researcher, are the corresponding author (or the corresponding author is affiliated with one of the other consortium members)
• The manuscript is accepted for publication during the period covered by the agreement
• The journal you wish to publish in is part of the agreement

Another important feature of the Elsevier agreement is that it comes without the so-called 'cap', which is incorporated in many of the other Open Access agreements with publishers. This means that the Elsevier agreement entails no limitations on the number of articles that can be published as Open Access at no cost in a year.

With the new agreement, Elsevier is launching a pilot project focusing on CO2 emissions. Elsevier commits to providing data on energy consumption and CO2 emissions related to the use of databases, which is interesting in relation to CBS's increased focus on green transition and national climate goals.

Elsevier writes: “Denmark's climate targets are a reduction of 70% in GHG emissions by 2030 and attainment of net neutrality by 2040… Elsevier agrees to enter into a pilot to explore how to allocate and report specifically on digital emissions derived from the Consortium's activities, including energy consumption leading to GHG discharges in accordance with GHG-P scope 3.11, pertaining specifically to data center usage and web-based software applications."

If you have questions about the Elsevier agreement reach out to Lotte Risbæk Thomsen, if it is about Open Acces publishing write to oa@cbs.dk

 

By Mette Bechmann 

Are you looking for clever ways to find literature reviews? AI tools have yet to come up with relevant solutions, but Scopus might do the job.

Right now, there is a sprawling undergrowth of AI tools purporting to support the search for literature – some of them are more reliable than others. One feature that remains to be seen in any of these new products is the option to sort papers by according to type as reviews. 

The classic bibliographic database Scopus offers a couple of opportunities: 

Sort your keyword search by document type:

To access this mechanism, set up your keyword search, find the sorting option “Document type” in the left-side hand menu, and select “Review”. This yields lots of seemingly useful results. However, publishers' use of the “Review” tag is not consistent with just literature reviews. A search on “dark tourism” sorted by review in the document type section will also display this paper: “Review of ‘Dark tourism and pilgrimage’,” which is, of course, not a literature review, but rather a review of a book. 

Set up your own keyword search:

For the connoisseurs, we have developed the below keyword search string that will yield literature reviews, including meta-analyses.

This option has other weaknesses though – to narrow down the pool of results, I have used the index “Article title” which may exclude relevant results.

To make use of this search, go to Scopus and input the search string combined with your own research interest in the first line:

(TITLE-ABS-KEY ("dark tourism") AND TITLE (literature OR research) AND TITLE-ABS-KEY (review OR analys*)) 

If you use “Advanced search” in Scopus, just input the search string and replace “Dark tourism” with a topic that is relevant to you.   

Please do not hesitate to get in touch if you have questions. 

Go to Scopus and search for reviews

By Liv Bjerge Laursen

That is because all EBSCOhost databases have undergone a transformation involving a brand-new interface and new search features.

Databases from EBSCOhost have been part and parcel of the CBS Library portfolio for many years and they have looked much the same for all those years. However, now there are new user interface and new search features to explore.

The new interface appears simpler and cleaner and boasts brand-new features including personalized dashboards and new ways to share and save resources. Navigation has moved to the left-hand panel below the search boxes, and the new user interface is responsive and optimized for mobile devices.

Advanced search with new options

If you go to Advanced Search and navigate to Search options below the search boxes, you will find some interesting new search methods:

• you search by proximity by default, which means that a simple search for two words like public governance without any further specifications will yield results where the words public and governance are separated by five words or less, in any order.
• If you want to search public governance as a compound noun or a phrase, you need to use the traditional inverted commas like so “public governance”.
• if you want to see all results that include both words regardless of the distance between them, we recommend that you run a classic Boolean search e.g.  public AND governance.

What is SmartText Searching?

EBSCOhost has also introduced SmartText Searching, which means that you can copy and paste large chunks of text into the search box, for example a paragraph or an entire page. SmartText Searching technology condenses the input text to the most important search terms based on term frequency (TF) and inverse document frequency (IDF) calculations of the terms in the query and the databases searched, and then creates a weighted Boolean query for search execution.

Create a personal Dashboard

In My dashboard in the left-hand panel, you can create projects and collect within them references and searches under your own headlines. To get started with the My dashboard you need to create a personal account in EBSCOhost. If you had an account before the new user interface, that account is still active, and all you need to do is log in.

If you want to dive deeper into the EBSCOhost functionalities, new and old, check out the Quick Start Guide

You can also just jump into EBSCOhost at the deep end.

By Cecilia Lohse, Thomas Basbøl og Søren Madsen

“#N/A Review”

This has become an all too familiar error message for our users. Both our Bloomberg and Workspace/Datastream terminals are being used to access financial data at an accelerating rate, and our monthly data limits are being reached alarmingly early. In March, for example, it took only a few days before it was no longer possible to download data through our terminals.

At present, we have no effective way to police the use of our terminals and are relying on our students’ judgment and restraint in accessing data to ensure that other students are not left empty-handed.  

We are asking for your help in educating the students about the importance of sustainable data practices.

Some Possible Misunderstandings

We suspect that the problem arises from a number of misunderstandings:

Students may set up spreadsheets with functions that query the terminal for fresh data every time they open their project.

They may think that they need data on every company in an industry, where a random sample would be sufficient.

They may think that they need daily prices where monthly ones would do.

Also, they may believe that the better research project is the one that uses the most recent data available, so they will redo their entire analysis with fresh data immediately before submitting.

Better Living Through Data Management

To remedy this, we have a few suggestions:

The first is that, wherever possible, we ask you not to encourage the students to use “big data” approaches to research. We simply cannot offer all your students the amount of data they would need to do this kind of work.

Second, we ask you to explain that, for the purposes of any given assignment, they do not need 100 % current data.

Finally, unless your teaching objective is specifically related to the use of Bloomberg or Workspace, we ask you to suggest alternative sources of data, like the Orbis company database, which can often provide the same data.

More generally, if you are assigning or supervising research projects that make use of financial data, please contact our DataLab team, so that we can work together to find the best possible way to support your learning objectives while staying within the objective limits set by our data suppliers.

Contact: datalab.lib@cbs.dk

By Joshua Kragh Amudzidis-Bruhn

CBS Library wants to celebrate and showcase early-career research at CBS. To that effect, we have invited four PhD fellows from across CBS who will present and discuss their very different research projects, from quantum computing to the role of diagnoses in healthcare and sustainability in banking.

If you want to make the most of your Thursday afternoon, join us in CBS Library Forum on 24. March 2025 14-16.30

Where: CBS Library Forum, lower Ground floor in CBS Library, Solbjerg Plads.

Programme:

14:00-14:30:

Organizing for Uncertainty in Healthcare 
by Johanna Rungholm, Department of Organization

Focusing on the increasing trend of patient-centered treatment, patient pathways, and treatment packages within contemporary healthcare systems, Johanna Rungholm seeks to go back to the roots of organizational theory and explore the central role of diagnoses in organizing treatment in healthcare. Here, her research aims to investigate how organizational structures and actors at a hospital level coordinate work when disconnecting the stable diagnosis' coordinating role, in absence of straightforward diagnoses, where diagnoses are not possible, or where treatment precedes diagnosis. This project seeks to investigate how two units in a hospital setting collaborate and coordinate work for patients without or with tentative diagnoses. In particular, Johanna seeks to explore how the systems work with and around the group of undiagnosed patients by using a qualitative-dominant research design employing ethnographic observations of work at the Emergency Department (ED) and the Diagnostic Clinic due to these departments coordinating nature. 

14:40 - 15:10

Sustainability in the Banking Sector 
by Thordis Bjartmarz, Department of Management, Society and Communication

 There is a huge external pressure for companies to become more sustainable, and in Europe this pressure materializes itself in a wave of new sustainability regulations and directives, many of which are specially focused on the finance and banking sector. Thordis Bjartmarz´ research studies sustainability in the banking sector by analyzing the banking business models and identify where sustainability plays a key role and where there may be challenges that need addressing. she studies this with the lens of organizational boundaries theory, meaning she looks at internal processes, boundaries and people and study how they help or hinder in the implementation process of sustainability. Empirically, Thordis studies both the Danish and Icelandic banking sector through a case study research design, meaning she dives into various banks to unfold what is sustainability in and around these banks and what can we than learn from this. Studying sustainability in the banking sector makes a lot of sense, as all the sustainability solutions and innovations cost money and there is a need to bring the finance sector, with its capital and investment funds, fully on this path towards sustainability. 

15:20-15:50

On Quantum Weirdness… or How do Quantum Computing Problematize the CurrentTechnological Views of the World? 

by Ignacio Godoy Descazeaux, Department of Digitalization

 From past disagreements between famous physicists such as Einstein and Böhr, cats being dead and alive inside a box, and even teleporting information from Earth to a satellite in space, the quantum concept is an entirely counterintuitive and confusing phenomenon. Nonetheless, public and private organizations are heavily investing in developing technologies, such as the quantum computer, that promise to revolutionize the technological world as it is known today. From being capable of breaking current encryption systems and opening the space for massive cybersecurity problems to even developing highly personalized medicine specific for each human body, the promises about quantum computing are yet to unfold. While the promises are yet to be achieved, a question regarding the organizations investing in it arises: How do they make sense of these technologies if they are not ready for commercial use yet? Centered around the discourse multiple organizations have around quantum computing, the research focuses on how quantum experts and non-experts make sense of this technology-in-development and how it problematizes the digital logic we use for solving problems using technology today.

We are looking forward to seeing you!