Blog

By Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen 

CBS researchers now have access to Overton, the world’s largest database of policy documents and grey literature. Overton tracks more than 21 million policies and grey literature documents and automatically links them to the research they cite, helping you discover impact beyond journal citations. It is ideal for discovering policy citations, studying policy texts, and understanding the policymaking landscape. 

The database covers sources from 193 countries/territories in 74 languages (as of August 2025). 

Why it matters for your work

• Impact: Identify where your publications are cited in policy, which could be useful for applications, evaluations, and impact statements. 
• Systematize grey literature: Bring hard-to-find reports and guides with transparent provenance into your reviews. 
• Stay on top of developments: Save searches, set up email alerts, tag and highlight results. 
• Data access & integration: Use the REST API to export and analyze Overton data in your workflows. Use the quick-start and reference guides to get started with Overton. 

Join us for an online introduction to Overton 

Sign up for one of the webinars Discover how policy documents shape your research impact (1 hour) in November and find out how to make the most of Overton. You will learn how to:

• Browse and search Overton effectively
• Track citations of academic research in policy
• Integrate grey literature into your work

And of course, you will also get the chance to get any questions you may have answered

The webinars are hosted by Overton and CBS Library & Academic Services

Choose between the following dates (CET) and sign up via the links:

• Monday, 3 November 2025, 10:00–11:00
• Friday, 7 November 2025, 10:00–11:00

Getting started with Overton

Access Overton

If you have any questions, please contact metrics.lib@cbs.dk

By Mette Bechmann

If you use Google Scholar to search for research literature, you can make your search results even more powerful by activating CBS Library Fulltext links. With a simple tick of a box, you can connect your Google Scholar account to the digital resources provided by CBS Library & Academic Services, allowing you to access full-text articles in those cases where CBS has a publisher subscription. 

Once activated, a “CBS Fulltext” link will appear next to your search results. One click of your mouse will take you directly to the full-text document via CBS Library, saving you time and ensuring legal and reliable access to the content that you need. 

How to set it up: 

1. Open Google Scholar 
2. Click the burger menu (☰) in the top left corner 
3. Select Settings and Library links 
4. In the search box, type in Copenhagen Business School 
5. Tick the box next to Copenhagen Business School - CBS Fulltext 
6. Save 

You are now ready to access CBS Library resources directly through Google Scholar. 

If you are working off campus, remember to use the VPN connection or log in to any CBS service before accessing full-text articles. In this way, Google Scholar will recognize your CBS affiliation. 

By Liv Bjerge Laursen

To make sure that course literature is always available to your students, we review every reading list submitted to Academic Books as well as all lists created in Course Readings on Canvas. We then go on to purchase print copies of items not available from our collections already and place them in the dedicated Course Collection. Where possible, we buy e-copies for our general collection. 

Feel free at any time to submit additional requests for the Course Collection if you wish to suggest supplementary readings for your students.

If you are not already using Course Readings in Canvas, this might be the perfect opportunity to get started and join the growing number of CBS faculty who want to take advantage of the technology to create, share, and share reading lists without hassle and to stay on top of copyright requirements at the same time. With Course Readings, your students will get easy, uniform, and equitable access to content, and you will never have to check and double-check links again, while at the same time you will be able to monitor your student cohort´s use of the literature.

Check out our guide: Using Course Readings in Canvas, where you will find more information and watch a short introductory video. 

If you would like help to get started with Course Readings, please contact your liaison librarian, who will be more than happy to help.