Blog

Images can support your teaching by clarifying concepts, setting contexts, or making your slides more engaging. The good news is that you can legally and easily use many types of images, as long as you know where to look and what to check for. 

These are some of the options: 

• Images released for free use, including CC0 or Public Domain content. You can incorporate these kinds of images into your teaching materials without asking for permission. You can find them, among other places, on stock photo sites such as Pixabay and Unsplash, and on Wikimedia Commons. Keep a close eye on the terms of use for each image. 
  
  
• Creative Commons images that allow for reuse. Licenses such as CC BY allow you to use an image as long as you make sure to credit the creator.  
  
  
• Images from a website or an image database that come with licenses, that explicitly allow for educational use. CBS subscribes to Colourbox. 
  
  
• Images for which you have direct permission, for example from a photographer, colleague, or creator. 
  
  

Clear licensing terms are often the simplest route to safe reuse. Licenses set out what you are allowed to do, including whether you are permitted to adapt the image, share it with students, or use it for non-commercial purposes.   

Google Image Search can be a useful starting point if you want to find images. 

Use the tools to sort by usage rights and check out the license details for each image carefully before use. Keep in mind that if a license only allows for educational use, images cannot be used in conferences or be made available in any way other than on Canvas. 

What if an image has no license information? 

If you find an image without any licensing details, you may still have a route to reuse. In a teaching context, the universities’ VISDA [Visual Rights Denmark] agreement often allows you to use such images legally, again provided that they are only shared with your students and are not made publicly available. If in doubt, you are welcome to contact the library for advice.

CBS Library & Academic Services now provides access to Global Newsstream - a powerful database that brings together the latest international news alongside deep archives dating back to the 1980s. You can search across newspapers, newswires, and online news sources in full text, making it easier to follow global developments and gather diverse viewpoints for your research. 

What can you expect from Global Newsstream?

Global Newsstream includes one of the world’s largest collections of news from the United States, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Whether you are studying policy debates, market movements or societal trends, you can explore multiple regions and perspectives in just one place. Key newspapers include Financial Times, New York Times, Frankfurter Allgemeine, Le Monde, and El Pais. 

All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform, providing for a smooth workflow and quick access to content in different languages and formats and from different geographies. It is an efficient way to trace narratives over time, to compare how issues are covered across countries, and to strengthen the empirical foundation of your research and teaching. 

With Global Newsstream you can 

• Track international developments through recent and historical news coverage 
• Access thousands of sources in full text – from major newspapers to niche publications 
• Compare perspectives across countries, regions, and languages 
• Support your research with long-term archives dating back to the 1980s 
• Enrich your teaching with timely examples and global viewpoints 

How to get started 

Go to Global Newsstream

Note: Global Newssearch is a replacement for Factiva, which no longer meets the news needs at CBS. You will have access to both databases throughout December, but access to Factiva will expire on 31^st December 2025. 

News content in Danish is available from Infomedia or via Newspapers.

CBS students now have a digital study companion at their fingertips to support their academic work. The CBS Library catalogue has been enhanced with an AI-powered research assistant that helps students navigate academic literature with greater confidence. Unlike general GPT-based tools, that may hallucinate or fabricate sources, this assistant is grounded in the library’s academic collections and guides students toward credible, high-quality content. Whether students are preparing their first exam paper or working on a master’s thesis, the assistant can point them to relevant sources, explain key concepts, and suggest effective search strategies, directly within the catalogue.

A great help when exploring new topics 

For lecturers, this creates an easy way to strengthen students’ information literacy. Instead of sending students to general GPT-based tools that may provide unreliable references, you can encourage them to use the research assistant as their first step when exploring a topic. The assistant can help them refine research questions, identify keywords, and uncover academic content they might otherwise miss. It is not a replacement for critical reading or sound academic library use, but it offers a useful starting point for students who are not sure where to begin. 

What does the assistant do? 

The assistant draws on the library’s extensive collections and provides suggestions that keep students anchored in credible academic sources. By explaining its reasoning, it allows students to see how searches are constructed and to develop more effective navigation skills. In this way, the assistant functions both as a shortcut and a learning opportunity. 

We encourage lecturers to introduce the research assistant in their teaching, especially in assignments that involve literature reviews or independent research. With the assistant integrated into the CBS Library catalogue, students gain a smarter pathway to academic insight and you gain a reliable tool to support student learning. 

CBS researchers now have access to two new Preqin modules that broaden our coverage in the PE/VC datasets. Below, you can check out what the new modules contain and in the testimonials from fellow CBS researchers, you will find out exactly why these modules are useful.

ESG module: Fund and investment level sustainability and impact orientation data to support empirical work in impact investing, fund comparisons, and performance analysis.

“Preqin’s ESG module opens the door to study impact investing more systematically. With data on funds’ impact orientation, we can better compare performance between traditional non-impact funds and impact funds—pushing the frontier in entrepreneurial finance and social entrepreneurship. - CBS Researcher                 

You will find ESG information in the Sustainability module located in the top menu.

Infrastructure module: Deep coverage across energy, transport, and utilities, including pipelines and hydrogen value chain assets.

“Given our energy focus, Preqin Infrastructure lets us track investments across categories like pipelines, storage, and transport. Its asset-class taxonomy surfaces deals and funds that PE/VC-oriented databases often miss, especially where hydrogen investments sit under infrastructure rather than conventional corporate finance.” - CBS Researcher

You can use the Infrastructure module when you work with funds or specific investments.

Use the modules to discover overlooked deals, build cleaner samples, and strengthen evidence in sustainability and energy infrastructure research.

Get started: 
Go to Prequin