By Mette Bechmann

If you use Google Scholar to search for research literature, you can make your search results even more powerful by activating CBS Library Fulltext links. With a simple tick of a box, you can connect your Google Scholar account to the digital resources provided by CBS Library & Academic Services, allowing you to access full-text articles in those cases where CBS has a publisher subscription. 

Once activated, a “CBS Fulltext” link will appear next to your search results. One click of your mouse will take you directly to the full-text document via CBS Library, saving you time and ensuring legal and reliable access to the content that you need. 

How to set it up: 

1. Open Google Scholar 
2. Click the burger menu (☰) in the top left corner 
3. Select Settings and Library links 
4. In the search box, type in Copenhagen Business School 
5. Tick the box next to Copenhagen Business School - CBS Fulltext 
6. Save 

You are now ready to access CBS Library resources directly through Google Scholar. 

If you are working off campus, remember to use the VPN connection or log in to any CBS service before accessing full-text articles. In this way, Google Scholar will recognize your CBS affiliation. 

By Mette Bechmann

Looking for well-crafted cases to support your teaching? CBS Library provides access to three great databases with ready-to-use teaching cases across business disciplines: HSTalks, SAGE Business Cases, and Emerald Emerging Markets Case Studies. 

HSTalks: The Business & Management Collection 
This database offers case-based text and video lectures by scholars and industry leaders alike. Use it to illustrate real-world challenges and inspire classroom discussions. Search by topic or keyword to find relevant content—ideal for flipped classroom formats or independent learning. 

SAGE Business Cases 
SAGE provides thousands of cases, including teaching notes and discussion questions. You will find real as well as fictional cases covering ethics, entrepreneurship, sustainability, and more. Use advanced search tools to filter by subject, level, or region. 

Emerald Emerging Markets Case Studies 
If you want to introduce perspectives from high-growth economies into your teaching, Emerald is the place to go. All cases are peer-reviewed and come with teaching notes. Search by industry, region, or theme to find content that fits your course. 

All three databases are available via CBS Library. If you need help navigating them or finding the right case, please reach out. 

By Mette Bechmann

CBS Library offers tailored in-class teaching to help your students build strong academic and research skills. We collaborate with you to design teaching sessions that fit your course  - and we adapt the content to match the academic level and needs of your students. 

Examples of topics: 

• Literature
• Search strategies 
• Understanding how academic literature is interconnected — how studies relate, contrast, and build on one another 
• Referencing and citation management 
• Academic writing support 
• NVivo (for qualitative data analysis) or Qualtrics (for survey design and analysis) 

We aim for hands-on, practical teaching at eye level whether your students are just starting out or working on advanced research projects. 

Interested in bringing the library into your classroom? 
Get in touch with the teaching team: Mette Bechmann, Thomas Basbøll or Joshua Kragh Amudzidis-Bruhn, and let us talk about how we can best support your students this fall. 

Written by Mette Bechmann & Sofie Husby

Get a quick insight into the research in your field – and build dashboards to get a deeper understanding.  

Scite_ is a research tool designed to help academics find, analyse, and understand connections in scientific literature effectively. 

The purpose of Scite_ is to highlight connections within the literature beyond simple citation tracking. The recent addition of a GenAI-based Research Assistant has added a whole new dimension to the solution. As Scite_ works with research literature only, it is able to yield much better results than any all-purpose chatbot. And it does not hallucinate references! 

SmartCitation setup 
The core feature of Scite_ is its SmartCitation setup. Scite_ classifies citations from a vast number of academic papers and analyzes the context in which these citations appear. By starting with a seed paper, you can explore not only where this paper has been cited in other research but also the context of those citations. Also, Scite_ indicates whether the views of the citing papers are neutral, contrasting, or agreeing with the seed paper, making it easier for you to decide whether to use the seed paper in your own work. 

Tailored to your specific needs 
As Scite_ draws on content from several major academic publishers, the depth of insight becomes larger than with similar solutions, that rely on open access papers plus title/abstract only. When using the AI research assistant and the search features, you will be able to adjust the base on which Scite_ builds its answers, for example by defining a specific set of journals and a year range that you want to consult. This flexibility ensures that your research is tailored to your specific needs, providing you with relevant insights that are not available from other tools. 

Helps you find retracted papers 
Scite_ can also help you screen for retracted papers in any reference list. This is useful for checking the sources that you build your own work on, and if you serve as an editor, you can use it to check the reference lists of submitted manuscripts. Upload the manuscript to Scite_ and it will display an overview of sources that involve errata of all kinds or where editorial concerns have been raised. Scite_ does not save the inspected paper. 

You are ready to go 

All of the features available in Scite_ are already available at CBS as the library has taken out a license for all researchers and students. If you already have an account, it will automatically be merged with the institutional ditto if you have used your CBS e-mail.  
If you experience any issues on that account, please do not hesitate to contact your liaison librarian  

In this brief description of Scite_ we have just about scratched the surface. 
We are looking forward to showing you more, so go to the library course calendar for short introductions to Scite_.  

Try out Scite_ 

By Liv Bjerge Laursen

That is because all EBSCOhost databases have undergone a transformation involving a brand-new interface and new search features.

Databases from EBSCOhost have been part and parcel of the CBS Library portfolio for many years and they have looked much the same for all those years. However, now there are new user interface and new search features to explore.

The new interface appears simpler and cleaner and boasts brand-new features including personalized dashboards and new ways to share and save resources. Navigation has moved to the left-hand panel below the search boxes, and the new user interface is responsive and optimized for mobile devices.

Advanced search with new options

If you go to Advanced Search and navigate to Search options below the search boxes, you will find some interesting new search methods:

• you search by proximity by default, which means that a simple search for two words like public governance without any further specifications will yield results where the words public and governance are separated by five words or less, in any order.
• If you want to search public governance as a compound noun or a phrase, you need to use the traditional inverted commas like so “public governance”.
• if you want to see all results that include both words regardless of the distance between them, we recommend that you run a classic Boolean search e.g.  public AND governance.

What is SmartText Searching?

EBSCOhost has also introduced SmartText Searching, which means that you can copy and paste large chunks of text into the search box, for example a paragraph or an entire page. SmartText Searching technology condenses the input text to the most important search terms based on term frequency (TF) and inverse document frequency (IDF) calculations of the terms in the query and the databases searched, and then creates a weighted Boolean query for search execution.

Create a personal Dashboard

In My dashboard in the left-hand panel, you can create projects and collect within them references and searches under your own headlines. To get started with the My dashboard you need to create a personal account in EBSCOhost. If you had an account before the new user interface, that account is still active, and all you need to do is log in.

If you want to dive deeper into the EBSCOhost functionalities, new and old, check out the Quick Start Guide

You can also just jump into EBSCOhost at the deep end.

Illustration: Keenious

By Joshua Kragh Amudzidis-Bruhn

Meet Keenious, the newest addition to our family of databases

Keenious is an AI-based discovery tool that allows for full-text prompts. Simply input an abstract from an article that you are already familiar with or some of your own work, a memo or an early draft of a manuscript, and you are ready to go.

This makes Keenious particularly useful for students who are just embarking on a paper about a topic of which they have no deep-seated prior knowledge, or perhaps no knowledge at all. Or for you, when you find yourself struggling to introduce a particular perspective in your quest for relevant content and the keywords just keep getting it wrong or escape you altogether.

Keenious provides an intuitive interface to kickstart any research process. Simply input your prompt and Keenious will find relevant content from among the 100 million articles indexed by OpenAlex, a huge, open catalogue of scholarly papers, authors, and organizations.

Exactly because it works very differently from traditional discovery systems and is based on coherent prose and not keywords, which sometimes can prove quite rigid and unyielding, Keenious provides an alternative route to uncover valuable information that might otherwise be missed in traditional searches.

Keenious is an AI-based tool, but it does not contravene any of the restrictions imposed by CBS on the use of GenAI, so you can throw all caution to the wind and push it to your students without fear of violating the guidelines.

However, because it is AI-based, which can sometimes make it difficult to know exactly what goes on behind the scenes, we do not recommend Keenious as a standalone strategy to uncover scholarly content, but as an add-on to more traditional approaches.

Find out more
For now, we do not provide separate courses on Keenious. Instead, it is part and parcel of our regular courses on scholarly content for students and faculty. If you want to find out more and get started with Keenious, check out these resources or talk to your liaison librarian.

Help us
If you decide to start working with the solution, we are very eager to get any feedback you may have, good or bad, as well as relevant use cases, so please reach out if you want to help us understand the opportunities as well as the barriers that Keenious represents.

Illustration: CBS Library

By Liselotte Brandstrup

Illustrattion: Colourbox

By Liv Bjerge Laursen and Lotte Risbæk Thomsen

Doing systematic literature reviews has gained a foothold in business management research in recent years. In recognition of this development, the library has taken a trial license for Covidence, an easy-to-use solution created with the sole purpose of supporting the review process. Covidence is originally designed for full systematic literature reviews but is also a valuable help when doing other types of reviews.

Covidence can help you with:

• Removing duplicates: If you run multiple searches in one database or search multiple databases, you will most likely wind up with duplicates. By uploading your results to Covidence, such duplicates will be removed, and the software will keep a record of how much has been removed and what has been removed to make sure you are always on top of the process.
• Keeping a record of your searches: you can save a copy of your search strings in Covidence, both for reuse and for reporting purposes.
• Supporting the screening process: You can set up criteria for inclusion and exclusion, get Covidence to highlight keywords in green or red to speed up screening, tag references by simply clicking Yes/No/Maybe, and, if you are more than one reviewer, resolve any inter-reviewer conflicts.
• Upload of pdf-files: After an initial screening based on title, abstract, and keywords, you can upload the PDF-files of the remaining references and screen content based on full text.
• Data extraction: Once you have settled on your final pick of articles, you can set up an extraction form to collect relevant information and/or data from the articles selected. In turn, you can export this collection for further processing.
• Prisma diagram: When you are done, a Prisma diagram depicting your review process will be available for inclusion in your paper.
• Collaboration is easy: Invite colleagues from CBS and beyond to join in the review process.

For access to Covidence, please contact review@cbs.dk

NB. Covidence is part of our general support for literature reviews. We can also help you with validating your research process and more. Check out CBSshare for more details.

By Mette Bechmann & Liv Bjerge Laursen

Even though CBS Library provides access to an extensive portfolio of monographs and journals, online or otherwise, you may from time to time come across references to content not readily available from our collections. No need to despair, however, we, or rather the joint forces of academic libraries worldwide, have got you covered.  

bibliotek.dk is the joint catalogue of Danish libraries, academic as well as public. Look up the book or the paper that you need and place a loan request under your own steam. Your request will be sent to the CBS Library Interlibrary Loans team and the material will eventually find its way to your office, or to your screen, if we manage to obtain a digital copy. 

If bibliotek.dk also fails you, then simply send us an e-mail and we will try to procure a copy for you via the global interlibrary loans system. 

Photo: Jakob Boserup for CBS Library

Written by Liv Bjerge Laursen & Mette Bechmann 

Below you will find a selection of library services that you may want to push to your students to help them in their thesis work.

Literature Search 
On MyCBS, students will find an easy-to-follow guide to conducting a thorough and systematic literature search.
If they need more help, they can book a consultation with a librarian via the Book-a-Librarian service, also via MyCBS. 

Referencing 
CBS Library has published some online guides to help your students with referencing.

• A Guide to Working with Integrity as a CBS Student
• APA 7th Edition - Citation Guide - CBS Library
• Mendeley

Library staff also stand ready to assist. 

Courses 
CBS Library organizes a series of courses on searching for literature, referencing with Mendeley, and other relevant topics.

Check out Courses and events at CBS Library

Curious for more? See the full package on the library page on MyCBS