Blog

By Mette Bechmann

Looking for well-crafted cases to support your teaching? CBS Library provides access to three great databases with ready-to-use teaching cases across business disciplines: HSTalks, SAGE Business Cases, and Emerald Emerging Markets Case Studies. 

HSTalks: The Business & Management Collection 
This database offers case-based text and video lectures by scholars and industry leaders alike. Use it to illustrate real-world challenges and inspire classroom discussions. Search by topic or keyword to find relevant content—ideal for flipped classroom formats or independent learning. 

SAGE Business Cases 
SAGE provides thousands of cases, including teaching notes and discussion questions. You will find real as well as fictional cases covering ethics, entrepreneurship, sustainability, and more. Use advanced search tools to filter by subject, level, or region. 

Emerald Emerging Markets Case Studies 
If you want to introduce perspectives from high-growth economies into your teaching, Emerald is the place to go. All cases are peer-reviewed and come with teaching notes. Search by industry, region, or theme to find content that fits your course. 

All three databases are available via CBS Library. If you need help navigating them or finding the right case, please reach out. 

By Mette Bechmann and Liselotte Brandstrup

HSTalks, a recent CBS Library acquisition, allows your students to watch and listen to lectures, seminars and, cases, in addition to reading articles. Even though the educational value of lecture casts is currently under scrutiny, some students may find it advantageous to have access to video contents that can be revisited repeatedly for clarification and disambiguation.

The license provided by CBS Library is restricted to the Business & Management Collection. This collection comprises video contents on a wide range of topics, including finance, accounting and economy, global business management, and technology and operations. For each topic, you can browse talks, series (introductions to, as well as collections of, talks on a specific topic), and experts associated with the category. More than 850 editors and speakers have contributed to HSTalks, including scholars and business figures recruited from universities and business communities around the world. Among these, you will also find CBS researchers.

Use it in class
HSTalks is designed to support teaching and learning, and you will find lectures at different levels. In addition, it would be ideal for flipped and blended-learning purposes. You can make an HSTalks lecture part of your own course by embedding it in CBSLearn (or Canvas), or you can include in your syllabus as recommend, additional learning materials.

For off-campus access, simply add the prefix http://esc-web.lib.cbs.dk/login?url= to the video URL (Do not heed the instructions from HSTalks, as your students will be prompted to log in using credentials they do not possess)

A properly prepared URL looks like this: http://esc-web.lib.cbs.dk/login?url=https://hstalks.com/t/3626/cryptocurrency-and-blockchain/?business

Check out the Quick Start Guide for more information or reach out to CBS library staff if you need additional help.

CBS Library offers a number of options when it comes to finding cases for your teaching or research. You can search in Libsearch, our library catalogue, or in our databases, or you can visit the Case Centre where you can order cases for your teaching.

When using Libsearch remember this:

If you are looking for material containing cases, use the keyword cases and combine this with another relevant keyword.

If your goal is to find material on the use of cases, use the keyword case studies-methods.

Books on the case study method are mainly located under shelf number 303.4 (second floor) in the library at Solbjerg Plads.

Using the databases:
You can start with any of several databases. If you want to find cases visit, e.g., Business Source Ultimate, Emerald Insight, or ScienceDirect. Read more about search options in these databases in our Libguide about cases.

Using the Case Centre:
The Case Centre offers a broad collection of cases from, e.g., IMD, INSEAD, London Business School, and Harvard Business School.

CBS is member of the Case Centre, so staff members can sign up and order cases for teaching use. There is a fee but you can order a free inspection copy before you decide to order for your students. If you decide to use one, you must order one copy per student; copying the cases is not allowed. The cases can be paid for via invoice or credit card by you or your department. 

A more practical solution could be to let the students order the cases themselves directly at the Case Centre or alternatively from Harvard Business School Publishing.

You can read more on cases from the Case Centre on Share.
If you need more help, please contact Søren Madsen.

And the winner is...

Rasmus Johnsen and Navid Baharlooie from MPP just won the Case Centre Ethics and Social Responsibility Award 2017 with their case on CULT, the energy drink. As an educator you can log in (registration is required) to view an inspection copy of the case and its teaching note.

Another recent winner is Laurel C. Austin who wrote and published the case “UCSD: A Cancer Cluster in the Literature Building? (A)”

while at CBS. The case won the Economics, Politics and Business Environment category in The Case Centre Awards and Competitions 2017.

Do you have star quality?

As a case writer or case teacher, you can take part in the Case Centre’s annual awards and competitions and compete against the best in the world. Find out more about these prestigious global events: Outstanding Case Teacher, Outstanding Case Writer, Outstanding New Case Writer, Outstanding Case Writer: Hot Topic, Outstanding Contribution to the Case Method Award.

To make the most of the CBS membership of the Case Centre, registration is required. Once registered, you can shop online, subscribe to the free newsletter and e-mail updates, use CoursePack Creator, etc. Once your registration has been validated (normally next day), you can start downloading free inspection copies, free cases, and free instructor materials.

The Case Centre maintains the world's largest and most diverse collection of management cases. More than 59,400 cases from leading business schools on all aspects of national and international business and management are available, including the collections of Harvard Business Publishing, Ivey Publishing, Darden Business Publishing, INSEAD, IMD, and the London Business School.

Ordering and pricing

Contact: Søren Madsen, ext. 3721