Blog

By Mette Bechmann & Liv Bjerge Laursen

Even though CBS Library provides access to an extensive portfolio of monographs and journals, online or otherwise, you may from time to time come across references to content not readily available from our collections. No need to despair, however, we, or rather the joint forces of academic libraries worldwide, have got you covered.  

bibliotek.dk is the joint catalogue of Danish libraries, academic as well as public. Look up the book or the paper that you need and place a loan request under your own steam. Your request will be sent to the CBS Library Interlibrary Loans team and the material will eventually find its way to your office, or to your screen, if we manage to obtain a digital copy. 

If bibliotek.dk also fails you, then simply send us an e-mail and we will try to procure a copy for you via the global interlibrary loans system. 

By Anette Koll, Camilla Boelsgaard Lund & Liselotte Brandstrup

CBS Library has now launched a take-out service. This means that you will be able to get hold of items that have been off-limits until now, including copies of book chapters and print articles as well as entire books. If permitted under current copyright provisions we will e-mail the documents to you. The service is limited to CBS staff and students.

Ordering items

Simply send an e-mail to Library2Go@cbs.dk and we will process your request as quickly as we possibly can.

All e-mail requests will receive a reply that will either include a digital copy of the requested item or details about when and where you can pick up the item yourself. Staff also have the option of having items sent by mail.

Picking up items

You can pick up items from the Solbjerg Plads library night entrance, by the ramp to the underground parking. 

You will not be able to enter the library yourself and you cannot place an order for an item at the night entrance, only in advance and by e-mail.

To avoid huge congregations of people and thus the spread of COVID-19, you will be assigned a time slot for pick-up. The time slots are: 9-10, 10-11, and 11-12. Only one person at a time will be allowed in to collect their reservations. We kindly ask that you respect this and only turn up at the assigned time.

Home delivery

If you prefer to have an item sent by mail, just let us know in the reservation e-mail and we will send it to home address with PostNord.

No returns yet 

We are still not able to accept returns.

Written by Liv Bjerge Laursen

All CBS researchers have easy access to a lot of information, both from online databases and from the Solbjerg Plads print library, and it is only a click of a mouse or a short walk away.

However, even with our massive holdings, especially in the core fields of CBS research, we do not carry everything under the sun. To bridge the gap, we have partnered up in a global network of libraries that loan materials to and from each another to make them available to local users.

If you are looking for something and cannot seem to find in the CBS Library collection, check out the Danish cross-library catalogue service www.bibliotek.dk instead (in DK & UK). If you find what you are looking for, simply order it online and it will be shipped to CBS Library and in turn to your office/pigeonhole.

If it is not available from either CBS Library or www.bibliotek.dk, just fill in an inter-library loans request form and send it to the CBS Library ILL service.

Sometimes you may need something obscure, like an old PhD thesis only available in print from a Canadian university library or print German conference proceedings, and sometimes it not possible to get a hold of these. In many cases, however, it is indeed possible and regardless we are always happy to try.

As always, if you have any  questions, please ask your liaison librarian

*
By Liv Bjerge Laursen

How do the past 200 years look through the eyes of the central bank of Denmark? This question is answered in the anniversary publication that was issued by Danmarks Nationalbank this summer.

It’s a story that includes long periods of robust growth, but also dramatic episodes during which the stability of prices, payment methods, and the financial sector have been at stake.

 The anniversary publication provides an overview of the 200-year history of Danmarks Nationalbank, with an emphasis on what is most interesting to the present. The book is available for free as a pdf file and is available in both Danish and English.Jubilæumsbog: Danmarks Nationalbank 1818-2018
Anniversary Publication: Danmarks National Bank 1818-2018

Danmarks Nationalbank has also published a smaller booklet with the most important highlights from its history.
Jubilæumshæfte: Danmarks Nationalband 200 år
Anniversary Booklet: Danmarks Nationalbank 200 years

*Source: Danmarks Nationalbank https://www.nationalbanken.dk/da/presse/billederogfilm/Sider/default.aspx

By Mette Bechmann

Whether you are planning for a leisurely or industrious summer, bibliotek.dk can help you procure the literature that best underpins the activity of your choice.
Bibliotek.dk, the Danish national library catalogue, allows you to search across public and university libraries in Denmark in one go. So no matter if you are looking for a good novel for your summer vacation, a travel companion to Corsican hiking trails, musical notes, ministerial reports, VOD films, or want to brush-up on current affairs from Danish daily newspapers, you will be able to find it all right here.

For the English version, click the top right-hand menu.
A lot is available online, but if you need a print copy, simply order the item for pick-up from your local public library or CBS Library. If you use the latter option and if you signed up for this service, the item will be delivered to your department.

Items available from CBS Library should be ordered via Libsearch, the CBS library catalogue. Check availability at your local library by first clicking the title and then See where the item is available.

Please direct all queries to your liaison librarian.

By Liselotte Brandstrup

The 2018 Fall semester is fast approaching, which means that courses and syllabi are being planned. Did you, however, make sure that the selected readings are at all available to your students?
If not, there is still time to make sure that they are made available from the Reserve Collection.
If you are teaching ISUP this summer, you can also make use of the Reserve Collection.
The Reserve Collection comprises all books, both print and digital, on CBS reading lists. The books are only available for use in the library, but your students can always check to see if we have an extra copy available for checkout.

We automatically receive reading lists submitted to the CBS bookstore. If you would like supplementary literature to be made available from the collection, just let us know and we will make that happen too.

For more details or to submit a request, please contact Roland Teckemeier.  Please include information about the study programme and semester that the materials are needed for.

Are you looking for information on a person, checking a fact, or trying to find the definition of a concept or a term?  A good place to start could be Oxford Reference .
Bringing together about 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, you will get authoritative answers here.
What’s inside the collections?
As you browse through Oxford Reference, you may find results that range from short entries, and general reference, to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects.
Two collections are displayed:

• Oxford Quick Reference, which consists of more than 135 academic subject, language and quotations dictionaries with short-entry content. The content is updated monthly.
  Best for checking facts, and looking up terms.
   
• Oxford Reference Library which consists of more than 200 in-depth, specialized titles from Oxford’s Encyclopedias and Companions, and a selection of partner publishers’ scholarly works. New titles and editions are added throughout the year, as they publish in print.

Best for conducting more comprehensive research on a specific topic, drawing from in-depth articles

Beside all the dictionaries, encyclopedias and companions you will find discovery tools useful for your research, e.g., overview pages (at-a-glance subject pages defining the unique term), timelines and quotations.

If you are looking for bilingual dictionaries, you will find them in Oxford Reference, click reference type in the tool bar and chose bilingual dictionaries. Once you have chosen a specific dictionary it will open up and you can start your research.

If you need an English dictionary: again, click reference type and English dictionaries to see the collection.

You could also try out the Oxford English dictionary, which is the big English language dictionary focusing on historical information and also providing useful linguistic and grammatical background.  A smart tool has been created, the Oxford Dictionary widget, where you double click a word in any website and instantly see the definition in Oxford English Dictionary. You have to install it in your browser, see how.

Try out Oxford Reference.

Further information? Please contact Liselotte Brandstrup

CBS Library now offers access to Routledge Handbooks Online with its 320 titles published between 2008-2014 and spread over 18 categories, including Business & Economics, Politics, Sociology, Communication, Media & Culture, and Tourism, Hospitality & Events Management.  All titles are peer-reviewed and edited by leading researchers.

The database comprises more than 11.000 chapters all of which are supplied with abstracts and metadata, enhancing research and retrieval. Explore the collections by browsing the available e-books under each heading or search across all chapters and abstracts in the database. 

Create shortlists, save your searches, and subscribe to alerts

Creating an account is a good idea as it allows you to shortlist relevant chapters. Every time you log on, all saved documents will be available directly from within your account.

Navigating Routledge Handbooks Online is quite easy. Easy-to-understand navigation buttons make downloading and sharing documents very expedient.
If you need to cite a document and include it in your list of references, just click the ”Cite” option to harvest the relevant information.

Routledge Handbooks Online allows you to save searches and subscribe to e-mail notifications that will keep you abreast of new publications matching you search criteria.

Earlier we wrote about the growing stock of e-books that the library now owns. It’s natural to want to provide your students with a cheap alternative to buying books, simply giving them a reference or a link to an e-book as a part of their reading list instead. But, alas, as with so much else in this world, there are advantages and disadvantages to using e-books on student reading lists.
The library will, if we can, buy access to e-books directly from the publisher. If titles are available through Sage, Emerald, Wiley, Springer, or others, there should be no problem linking to an e-book as reading for the students.

However, many of the e-books that the library buys access to are made available through aggregate databases such as Dawsonera, Ebrary, MyILibrary and EBSCOhost. The books in these databases may have restrictions on the loan period, on downloading, or on how many users can access the book at the same time. All these obstacles may vary from one book to another, even within the same database, depending on the publisher. This makes them unsuitable to pointing large cohorts of students at through linking.
You can link to an e-book reference by copying the link in the “print/save/share” tab by the chosen e-book reference in Libsearch.
If you have questions, please contact your liaison librarian.

The library's selection of e-books is now so large that it constitutes half of the library's total collection. In hard figures, that's more than 170,000 e-books.

It's not only the large selection that makes it attractive for users to take out an e-book. The e-book has some advantages over a printed book.

E-books are easy to take with you, and if you are travelling with a tablet in your bag, you have not only one, but potentially many books at hand.  Another advantage is that you rarely end up in the reservation line when taking out an e-book.

And you're allowed to do what you're never allowed to do when taking out material from the library: You're allowed to write in an e-book- Electronic notes are welcome - but remember, notes may disappear along with the e-book when the book is due.

You can search for e-books in the library's search system Libsearch

(limit your search results in the left hand menu).

Your liaison librarian is happy to help if you have any questions.