Written by Mette Bechmann & Sofie Husby

Get a quick insight into the research in your field – and build dashboards to get a deeper understanding.  

Scite_ is a research tool designed to help academics find, analyse, and understand connections in scientific literature effectively. 

The purpose of Scite_ is to highlight connections within the literature beyond simple citation tracking. The recent addition of a GenAI-based Research Assistant has added a whole new dimension to the solution. As Scite_ works with research literature only, it is able to yield much better results than any all-purpose chatbot. And it does not hallucinate references! 

SmartCitation setup 
The core feature of Scite_ is its SmartCitation setup. Scite_ classifies citations from a vast number of academic papers and analyzes the context in which these citations appear. By starting with a seed paper, you can explore not only where this paper has been cited in other research but also the context of those citations. Also, Scite_ indicates whether the views of the citing papers are neutral, contrasting, or agreeing with the seed paper, making it easier for you to decide whether to use the seed paper in your own work. 

Tailored to your specific needs 
As Scite_ draws on content from several major academic publishers, the depth of insight becomes larger than with similar solutions, that rely on open access papers plus title/abstract only. When using the AI research assistant and the search features, you will be able to adjust the base on which Scite_ builds its answers, for example by defining a specific set of journals and a year range that you want to consult. This flexibility ensures that your research is tailored to your specific needs, providing you with relevant insights that are not available from other tools. 

Helps you find retracted papers 
Scite_ can also help you screen for retracted papers in any reference list. This is useful for checking the sources that you build your own work on, and if you serve as an editor, you can use it to check the reference lists of submitted manuscripts. Upload the manuscript to Scite_ and it will display an overview of sources that involve errata of all kinds or where editorial concerns have been raised. Scite_ does not save the inspected paper. 

You are ready to go 

All of the features available in Scite_ are already available at CBS as the library has taken out a license for all researchers and students. If you already have an account, it will automatically be merged with the institutional ditto if you have used your CBS e-mail.  
If you experience any issues on that account, please do not hesitate to contact your liaison librarian  

In this brief description of Scite_ we have just about scratched the surface. 
We are looking forward to showing you more, so go to the library course calendar for short introductions to Scite_.  

Try out Scite_ 

Written by Liv Bjerge Laursen & Mette Bechmann

CBS Library has always been standing by to help researchers with the retrieval of literature, and now we have upgraded our service to include assistance with reviews too. 
A dedicated CBS Library review team now stands ready to help in the various stages of the review process with the following:

• Choice of review type (literature review, systematic review, meta-analysis….)
• Selection of bibliographic databases to search
• Search string organization and validation  
• Adaptation of search strings across databases  
• Implementation, management, and safeguarding of protocols  
• Introduction to software to support the review process  
• Preparation of data extraction from retrieved documents  
• Review of existing protocol/process  

The nature and extent of our contribution depend on the specific context and are of course coordinated in close dialogue with you.

We believe that this service is relevant for research projects and review papers, but perhaps you can think of other ways to use it too.
We will be happy to receive any inputs from you.

Please contact the Review Team for a talk about your project or visit CBSshare for more details.

By Mette Bechmann

This is the season for thesis writing – and the most popular titles in the methods section of the library are just flying off the shelves. However, a quick remedy for empty shelves is close at hand.
The SAGE Research Methods database not only contains lots of content on methodology, but it also provides features that can help students navigate.

 SRM comprises popular titles like Brinkmann & Kvale (2018) Doing Interviews, Flyvbjergs (2004) discussion of misunderstandings about case-study research, and much more.

Use the Methods Map … 
What strings everything together in SRM is a tool called Methods Map that allows for both purposeful and serendipitous exploration of broad or narrow manifestations of various methodological approaches, such as discourse analysis (click the link for an example).

When you are satisfied that you have found something useful, you can search the database for this topic by a click of your mouse.

… or other access points
If you search for a specific method, you can choose from a whole parade of content types in the right-hand menu, including Foundation Entries and Encyclopedia. The Foundation section provides definitions, short introductions, and outlines important trends and schools of thought, as well as core contributors.

So, if your students ever complain that they cannot get hold of relevant literature on methodology, please refer them to SRM on the library website. 

By Mette Bechmann

It has been a long time coming, but now CBS Library is finally able to present the Qualtrics survey software to CBS faculty and students!

Qualtrics is a professional tool for dynamic data collection. It can help you set up a structured collection procedure, analyze, and present your quantitative (and to some extent qualitative) research data.

Qualtrics allows you to create questionnaires for a wide range of platforms, including e-mails, web pages, social media, and smartphones. The software offers a choice between a wide suit query types, from basic multiple choice to advanced image-based heat maps. It also boast a mechanical, pre-distribution quality check of your questionnaire as well as a database of test respondents for piloting (purchased separately as an addendum).

The Qualtrics user interface is very intuitive and it is easy to get started, even for somebody new to surveys. Data can be processed “in-house” by Qualtrics or pushed to third-party platforms, including SPSS and NVivo, for further computation.

CBS Library offers introductory demos of the software as well as basic user support. For technical support and advanced analysis-related questions, both students and faculty have access to the Qualtrics support.

The Qualtrics license will replace the SurveyXact license, which will be discontinued on October 1 2019. All current SurveyXact users will be notified directly and in more detail when we get closer to the cut-off date.

To gain access, simply go to the databases section of the CBS Library website and log in with your CBS credentials.

For more information, please contact Mette Bechmann or Joshua Kragh Bruhn.