By Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen 

CBS researchers now have access to Overton, the world’s largest database of policy documents and grey literature. Overton tracks more than 21 million policies and grey literature documents and automatically links them to the research they cite, helping you discover impact beyond journal citations. It is ideal for discovering policy citations, studying policy texts, and understanding the policymaking landscape. 

The database covers sources from 193 countries/territories in 74 languages (as of August 2025). 

Why it matters for your work

• Impact: Identify where your publications are cited in policy, which could be useful for applications, evaluations, and impact statements. 
• Systematize grey literature: Bring hard-to-find reports and guides with transparent provenance into your reviews. 
• Stay on top of developments: Save searches, set up email alerts, tag and highlight results. 
• Data access & integration: Use the REST API to export and analyze Overton data in your workflows. Use the quick-start and reference guides to get started with Overton. 

Join us for an online introduction to Overton 

Sign up for one of the webinars Discover how policy documents shape your research impact (1 hour) in November and find out how to make the most of Overton. You will learn how to:

• Browse and search Overton effectively
• Track citations of academic research in policy
• Integrate grey literature into your work

And of course, you will also get the chance to get any questions you may have answered

The webinars are hosted by Overton and CBS Library & Academic Services

Choose between the following dates (CET) and sign up via the links:

• Monday, 3 November 2025, 10:00–11:00
• Friday, 7 November 2025, 10:00–11:00

Getting started with Overton

Access Overton

If you have any questions, please contact metrics.lib@cbs.dk

By Liv Bjerge Laursen

To make sure that course literature is always available to your students, we review every reading list submitted to Academic Books as well as all lists created in Course Readings on Canvas. We then go on to purchase print copies of items not available from our collections already and place them in the dedicated Course Collection. Where possible, we buy e-copies for our general collection. 

Feel free at any time to submit additional requests for the Course Collection if you wish to suggest supplementary readings for your students.

If you are not already using Course Readings in Canvas, this might be the perfect opportunity to get started and join the growing number of CBS faculty who want to take advantage of the technology to create, share, and share reading lists without hassle and to stay on top of copyright requirements at the same time. With Course Readings, your students will get easy, uniform, and equitable access to content, and you will never have to check and double-check links again, while at the same time you will be able to monitor your student cohort´s use of the literature.

Check out our guide: Using Course Readings in Canvas, where you will find more information and watch a short introductory video. 

If you would like help to get started with Course Readings, please contact your liaison librarian, who will be more than happy to help.

By Liv Bjerge Laursen

As faculty at CBS, your time is precious. Between teaching, publishing, and administrative responsibilities, there’s rarely a moment to explore how the library could support your research and teaching. Many faculty members don’t realize the range of resources and personalised services available, or how much easier their work could become with the right guidance. 

Have you ever felt stuck… 

…trying to locate the right articles, set up a search strategy, or choose the best tool for your research? Or wondered about copyright rules for teaching materials, open access options, or how to register your publications?  

These tasks can be time-consuming, and without support, these issues can slow down your research, affect the visibility of your work, and add unnecessary stress. 

That’s where your Liaison Librarian comes in. 
Every department at CBS has a dedicated librarian ready to help you. 

We can assist you with: 

• Search support: Learn how to build effective search strategies and navigate databases with confidence. Get advice on using AI tools critically in your searches 
• Tool training: To subscription-based tools like Mendeley (reference management), NVivo (qualitative analysis), Qualtrics (surveys), Konch (transcription), and financial data tools. 
• Stay updated: Set up alerts for journals and topics relevant to your field. 
• Publishing guidance: Get tips on finding a good outlet for your research, open access, and copyright for both research and teaching. 
• Research registration & data management: Connect with our in-house experts for tailored support. 

Whether you are a new PhD student, a seasoned professor, or part of the administrative staff, your Liaison Librarian is here to make your work smoother and more efficient. 

Reach out to your Liaison Librarian and discover how the library can be your strategic partner in research, teaching, and publishing. 

By Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen and Mette Bechmann

When we talk about copyright in academic publishing, the focus is often on the written text. However, many research articles also contain non-textual elements – figures, tables, graphs, photos, or illustrations – which can be just as protected as the written word. 

Your own elements

If you have created the element yourself, you generally hold the copyright. This means you decide where and how it can be used. In practice, however, many researchers transfer the rights to the element through an author agreement to the journal or publisher when their work is published. It is therefore important to examine the author agreement carefully: Do you retain your rights, or do you grant an exclusive license to the publisher? Some journals allow reuse of figures in teaching or presentations, while others require separate permission. 

Elements created by others

If, in your own writing or dissemination, you wish to include material you did not create yourself – for example, a photo, a figure from another article, or an illustration from a book chapter – you need to make sure you have the right to use it. This may involve contacting the rights holder, purchasing a license, or using material under an open license such as Creative Commons. It is worth remembering that citing the source alone is not sufficient to bypass permission requirements. 

Visualizations built on others’ data

One particular point of attention is data visualizations and tables. While the underlying data may not be protected by copyright, the selection, structure, and graphic presentation of those data often are. This means you are free to work with the same data but may not copy another researcher’s specific presentation without permission. 

In short: Copyright in research publications is not just about words. It can be useful to reflect on how non-textual elements are used and shared – both those you create yourself and those you borrow from others. Reviewing your author agreements and considering your use of figures and images can help prevent problems. 

And if in doubt, Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen at CBS Library is a valuable resource for guidance. 

By Mette Bechmann

Looking for reliable news about Danish research and policy? Science Report is an independent online magazine dedicated to the Danish research community.

The magazine features news, background articles, and interviews from across the Danish research landscape. It reports on new discoveries, trends, and the broader questions of how research is funded, governed, and used in society.

For Copenhagen Business School, Science Report is especially relevant. It regularly publishes stories connected to CBS, whether about our own research, developments in economics and management, or policy debates that affect business research.

Although published in Danish, it is a great way to stay informed about the national research environment. For international colleagues, it offers valuable insights into how Danish research is being discussed and prioritized.

Sign up for the Science Report newsletter to stay up to date without any hassle. 

Find Science Report 

By René Steffensen

In December 2024, the CBS Board approved a proposal for CBS’ AI strategy, providing the framework for an ambitious initiative that, in the coming years, will involve CBS programmes, research, and administration.
The library is responsible for coordinating CBS’ overall AI efforts in support of the AI Board.

In the library section of CBSshare under AI at CBS, you will find more information about CBS’ AI strategy and the work of the AI Board, along with insights into how artificial intelligence is being applied and explored at CBS – in research, teaching, and administration. You can also read more about tools such as ChatGPT and Copilot, find answers to frequently asked questions, and explore current training offers and resources for staff.

From strategy to action

The CBS AI Board held its inaugural meeting in May 2025, with particular focus on proposals for AI pilots within teaching and learning. A total of 14 projects were approved, of which five are being launched as soon as possible by the proposers in collaboration with EDQ.

Copilot is CBS’ general GenAI offering for all employees and students. In addition, the library rolled out 500 ChatGPT EDU licences in May. Due to the high cost, licences are limited. In the initial phase, the departments were prioritised with 350 licences and were responsible for distributing them in-house.

In the autumn, the extended MS365 version with Copilot will be rolled out – again in a limited batch, this time with a focus on administrative staff.

By Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen & Lene Janussen Gry 

If your research is funded through the EU, you must stay on top of any Open Access requirements for your research publications. Horizon Europe, the EU’s most recent framework programme for research and innovation, places an even stronger emphasis on Open Science, and the Open Access requirements are more extensive compared to the previous Horizon 2020 programme.

According to the Horizon Europe General Grant Agreement, you must ensure that peer-reviewed scientific publications are made freely available immediately upon publication via a trusted repository. You must deposit either the published version or the final peer-reviewed manuscript, and the licence must be CC BY or an equivalent granting the same rights. For monographs and other long-form publications, more restrictive licences such as CC BY-NC or CC BY-ND may be used, allowing you to limit commercial use or derivative works.

Furthermore, the metadata for deposited publications must be open and follow the FAIR principles. This includes information such as author, title, publication date, project details, and funding information.

Non-compliance can have financial consequences, including potential reductions in your grant.

CBS Library is here to support you with any questions you may have about Open Access and funder requirements – including how to locate, interpret, and comply with them properly.

For more information, visit Open Aire’s site on How to comply with Horizon Europe mandate 

for publications, or contact us directly for assistance (oa@cbs.dk).

By Mette Bechmann

CBS Library offers tailored in-class teaching to help your students build strong academic and research skills. We collaborate with you to design teaching sessions that fit your course  - and we adapt the content to match the academic level and needs of your students. 

Examples of topics: 

• Literature
• Search strategies 
• Understanding how academic literature is interconnected — how studies relate, contrast, and build on one another 
• Referencing and citation management 
• Academic writing support 
• NVivo (for qualitative data analysis) or Qualtrics (for survey design and analysis) 

We aim for hands-on, practical teaching at eye level whether your students are just starting out or working on advanced research projects. 

Interested in bringing the library into your classroom? 
Get in touch with the teaching team: Mette Bechmann, Thomas Basbøll or Joshua Kragh Amudzidis-Bruhn, and let us talk about how we can best support your students this fall. 

Written by René Steffensen

The library has been assigned system ownership for Copilot and ChatGPT Edu, two very significant GenAI systems.

All employees already have access to Copilot, while all departments were allocated a ChatGPT pool for internal distribution in April, to be completed by May 1st or as soon as possible.

A total of 500 ChatGPT licenses have been purchased, of which 350 have now been allocated to the departments. The reason for not purchasing more licenses initially is due to the high cost. Once the pool is allocated, CBS' AI Board will assess the possibility of purchasing more licenses and how many.

Access to Copilot for Microsoft 365 will be available during the fall, but due to the pricing structure, it is again expected that there will be pool allocation to departments and units.

Read more about AI at CBS on CBSSShare

CBS Library supports CBS' AI Board and has therefore established an AI Share Universe. Here, you can read more and stay updated on the AI Board's work in implementing CBS' AI strategy.

Feel free to contact René Steffensen, if you have questions.

Visit the AI Share universe

Consult the FAQ about ChatGPT Edu

Written by Mette Bechmann & Sofie Husby

Get a quick insight into the research in your field – and build dashboards to get a deeper understanding.  

Scite_ is a research tool designed to help academics find, analyse, and understand connections in scientific literature effectively. 

The purpose of Scite_ is to highlight connections within the literature beyond simple citation tracking. The recent addition of a GenAI-based Research Assistant has added a whole new dimension to the solution. As Scite_ works with research literature only, it is able to yield much better results than any all-purpose chatbot. And it does not hallucinate references! 

SmartCitation setup 
The core feature of Scite_ is its SmartCitation setup. Scite_ classifies citations from a vast number of academic papers and analyzes the context in which these citations appear. By starting with a seed paper, you can explore not only where this paper has been cited in other research but also the context of those citations. Also, Scite_ indicates whether the views of the citing papers are neutral, contrasting, or agreeing with the seed paper, making it easier for you to decide whether to use the seed paper in your own work. 

Tailored to your specific needs 
As Scite_ draws on content from several major academic publishers, the depth of insight becomes larger than with similar solutions, that rely on open access papers plus title/abstract only. When using the AI research assistant and the search features, you will be able to adjust the base on which Scite_ builds its answers, for example by defining a specific set of journals and a year range that you want to consult. This flexibility ensures that your research is tailored to your specific needs, providing you with relevant insights that are not available from other tools. 

Helps you find retracted papers 
Scite_ can also help you screen for retracted papers in any reference list. This is useful for checking the sources that you build your own work on, and if you serve as an editor, you can use it to check the reference lists of submitted manuscripts. Upload the manuscript to Scite_ and it will display an overview of sources that involve errata of all kinds or where editorial concerns have been raised. Scite_ does not save the inspected paper. 

You are ready to go 

All of the features available in Scite_ are already available at CBS as the library has taken out a license for all researchers and students. If you already have an account, it will automatically be merged with the institutional ditto if you have used your CBS e-mail.  
If you experience any issues on that account, please do not hesitate to contact your liaison librarian  

In this brief description of Scite_ we have just about scratched the surface. 
We are looking forward to showing you more, so go to the library course calendar for short introductions to Scite_.  

Try out Scite_