Blog

Written by Camilla Boelsgaard Lund

There are many bad product names…  CBS Library subscribes to a number of databases and services with impossible and meaningless names such as SFX, Passport, Orbis, etc. One of the newest in the bag of goodies with impossible names is LibKey Nomad.
Can you figure out what it is? No, I did not think so

LibKey Nomad is a tool that helps you find out if articles that you find floating around on the internet are available from CBS Library.

For example, if you use Wikipedia and the  LibKey Nomad software is installed in your browser, it will show you which of the e-articles (not books) listed as a reference, have been purchased by CBS Library. You will get direct access and do not have to search for the articles on the CBS Library website.
 
Install LibKey Nomad in your Chrome browser

This clever feature was developed by the people behind BrowZine, the magazine app mentioned in an earlier newsletter.
Curious about Browzine? – read the article on our blog

Written by Liselotte Brandstrup

How do you spell ‘yndlingskaffe’ (favorite coffee)? With g or d? Is ´ressourcespild´ (waste of resources) spelled with double-s or not?

Find out quickly and easily through the app Retskrivningsordbogen PLUS aka RO+, the official dictionary of Danish spelling. Download it to your smartphone or tablet, both Apple and Android, and use it both on-and offline.

The Danish Language Council continuously updates RO+ with new words. 

On top of providing information about the spelling and conjugation of a word, the app also offers a deep-dive into various aspects of Danish grammar.

Download RO+ from App Store

Download RO+ from Google Play

For more information about search features and filters, please check out the RO+ guide (in Danish only)

Written by Mette Bechmann

On the train, in the airport, between one lecture and the next, on a coffee break – those little pockets of time where you move from one task to another – this is where you can now get a quick overview of what is being published in your favorite journals via the library software, Browzine.  

Should you have more time to spare, you can access the full text of the papers through the app as well. 

To get started, build your own collection of the journals you would like to follow and place them in the “My bookshelf” section of the app. When you browse through the titles of the content pages on your phone, you can mark and download papers for further investigation by adding them to the “my articles” section. 

Find the journals by searching by keyword or browse by subject.  

BrowZine is widely used in university libraries as part of their journal subscriptions. Therefore, if you are affiliated with other university libraries you can download papers from them as well with no hassle.  

The process is simple; download the BrowZine app to your phone or other devices, log in with CBS username and password and set up a user profile in BrowZine.  

If you don’t like reading full papers on your tablet BrowZine can be accessed through any browser as well. 

I want to download the BrowZine app right away – remember to click “choose Library” and choose Copenhagen Business School when you download the app.
Show me  BrowZine’ s own video guide

By Liv Bjerge Laursen

You are probably already aware that using CBS VPN access on your computer and other devices will protect you from hacking.

What you might not know is that using VPN also provides smoother access to many of the databases offered by CBS Library, because working through CBS VPN is considered working on campus, even if you are not actually here.

Visit CBSshare for more information on how to get VPN activated on your device (computer, smartphone or tablet).

By Mette Bechmann

It has been a long time coming, but now CBS Library is finally able to present the Qualtrics survey software to CBS faculty and students!

Qualtrics is a professional tool for dynamic data collection. It can help you set up a structured collection procedure, analyze, and present your quantitative (and to some extent qualitative) research data.

Qualtrics allows you to create questionnaires for a wide range of platforms, including e-mails, web pages, social media, and smartphones. The software offers a choice between a wide suit query types, from basic multiple choice to advanced image-based heat maps. It also boast a mechanical, pre-distribution quality check of your questionnaire as well as a database of test respondents for piloting (purchased separately as an addendum).

The Qualtrics user interface is very intuitive and it is easy to get started, even for somebody new to surveys. Data can be processed “in-house” by Qualtrics or pushed to third-party platforms, including SPSS and NVivo, for further computation.

CBS Library offers introductory demos of the software as well as basic user support. For technical support and advanced analysis-related questions, both students and faculty have access to the Qualtrics support.

The Qualtrics license will replace the SurveyXact license, which will be discontinued on October 1 2019. All current SurveyXact users will be notified directly and in more detail when we get closer to the cut-off date.

To gain access, simply go to the databases section of the CBS Library website and log in with your CBS credentials.

For more information, please contact Mette Bechmann or Joshua Kragh Bruhn.

Written by Joshua Kragh Bruhn

It has been a long time coming, but now the new and improved NVivo 12 is finally here.

Especially for the Mac people, this is good news, as the new upgrade has vastly improved in terms of key functionality, such as the processing and visualisation of data.

The idiosyncratic NVivo terminology has changed too, to better reflect common usage also outside the software and in that way improve navigation.

To get started with NVivo 12, simply send an e-mail from you CBS e-mail account to nvivo@cbs.dk with the subject: nvivo license request.

Please direct all queries to Joshua Kragh Bruhn or Liselotte Brandstrup

Whether you need to identify books on a particular subject or verify a particular reference, you will get great help from WorldCat.

WorldCat is a global cross-library catalog that lets you search the collections of 72.000 libraries from all over the world.
Whereas CBS Library may not have many items on the foreign policy of Saudi Arabia, WorldCat offers a great many choices, as evidenced by this example. Results include print and e-books, PhD theses, articles, working papers, and many other types of literature, in a plethora of languages.

If you come across something that you would like to explore further, the CBS Library interlibrary loans department will be happy to help you procure a copy.

Click to open the CBS interlibrary order form. Log in using your CBS Library credentials.

As some of you probably know, Google Scholar provides a simple, one-point means of conducting broad searches for scholarly literature across a multitude of disciplines and sources, mainly scholarly articles, but also theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, and universities.
Now the browser Google Chrome offers a clever, new feature:  an extension that allows you to conduct a quick search in Google Scholar simply by marking or highlighting an article reference on your screen.
Marking is available for HTML-texts and PDFs opened in the browser.

The extension offers quick access to the full text article through CBS subscription databases.
Click for an example.

Download the Google Scholar button for free from the Google Chrome webstore or just google “Google Scholar button”.

To set up Google Scholar for full text, please see article “Google scholar – connection to CBS library content” in the earlier newsletter 2-2015.

An image of a whiteboard brainstorm, a screenshot, a quickly jotted note, a Word document, a spreadsheet, notes on your mobile device… all these elements can be a vital part of your work.

Evernote offers an easy way to capture all your thoughts and ideas in a structured way.

Various options for sorting your notes are available, including a folder system, “notebooks”, and tagging across formats.

When you work with images, e.g. a photo of a power point presentation from a conference, Evernote will convert the textual part of the image into a searchable format, allowing for easier retrieval. This feature also works quite well for handwritten text.

Evernote works on both tablets, mobile phones, and computers and your notes will synchronize across these platforms. You can also share your notes with other users and with other apps that you use. Integration between Google Drive and Evernote is in the pipeline, so if you are already a keen user of Google Drive, you have something to look forward to in the near future.
A free version that includes saving, synchronizing, and sharing features will cover most needs of a first time user.  Two other versions that include more storage space, off-line access, an e-mail archive etc. are also available against an annual fee.

Questions can be directed to Mette Bechmann

Taking a snapshot of the front page of an article, whiteboard notes or a projected image is an expedient way of capturing content. The quality of the documentation, however, is not always very good. A scanning app could prove the solution. A number of apps offer scanning functionalities that can help tidy up and enhance images and let you convert captured content into PDF or JPEG formats and share these via Evernote, OneNote, e-mail, Dropbox, etc.

Two such apps are:

The JotNot Scanner, which, in addition to the features mentioned above, also offers password protection of sensitive documents. A severe drawback, however, is that is not available for operating systems other than iOS.

The CamScanner, which is available for both Windows, Android, and iOS and offers the bonus feature of annotation.

Both apps are available free of charge but more advanced features will cost you.