Blog

By Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen 

CBS researchers now have access to Overton, the world’s largest database of policy documents and grey literature. Overton tracks more than 21 million policies and grey literature documents and automatically links them to the research they cite, helping you discover impact beyond journal citations. It is ideal for discovering policy citations, studying policy texts, and understanding the policymaking landscape. 

The database covers sources from 193 countries/territories in 74 languages (as of August 2025). 

Why it matters for your work

• Impact: Identify where your publications are cited in policy, which could be useful for applications, evaluations, and impact statements. 
• Systematize grey literature: Bring hard-to-find reports and guides with transparent provenance into your reviews. 
• Stay on top of developments: Save searches, set up email alerts, tag and highlight results. 
• Data access & integration: Use the REST API to export and analyze Overton data in your workflows. Use the quick-start and reference guides to get started with Overton. 

Join us for an online introduction to Overton 

Sign up for one of the webinars Discover how policy documents shape your research impact (1 hour) in November and find out how to make the most of Overton. You will learn how to:

• Browse and search Overton effectively
• Track citations of academic research in policy
• Integrate grey literature into your work

And of course, you will also get the chance to get any questions you may have answered

The webinars are hosted by Overton and CBS Library & Academic Services

Choose between the following dates (CET) and sign up via the links:

• Monday, 3 November 2025, 10:00–11:00
• Friday, 7 November 2025, 10:00–11:00

Getting started with Overton

Access Overton

If you have any questions, please contact metrics.lib@cbs.dk

By  Lene Janussen Gry and Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen 

The national Open Access agreement with Wiley covers up to 1,110 articles per year across all participating research institutions. This cap is projected to be reached by mid‑October 2025. After that point, the agreement can no longer be used for new publications. The current Wiley contract ends in December 2025, but a new one is underway, so you should be able to publish under the renewed terms from January ’26. 

Stay updated via the Wiley agreement page
We will make sure to post a notice when the cap is reached. 

Please also note: Similar caps exist for Springer, Taylor & Francis, and Cambridge University Press. At present, however, those caps are not even close to being reached. Updates will be posted in the main Open Access Libguide.

For questions, Please reach out to oa@cbs.dk

Written by Liv Bjerge Laursen

Research Portal Denmark now collects and displays key information on awarded research grants. The database is a collaboration between Research Portal Denmark and a number of Danish private and public funders, who supply the metadata about a predefined set of grants. 

The grant database provides an overview of:

• The distribution between public and private research funds
• Coverage of main areas, institutions etc.
• Development and trends over time
• The relationship between funding (input) and research publications (output) at the individual level

The grant database consists of a search interface and a number of filters that can be used to zoom in on relevant grants. You can also export metadata for further analysis.

The current overview is a prototype and comprises selected data variables and fund data. However, database providers are continuously working to incorporate more data from funders.

Check out Research Portal Denmark

By Liv Bjerge Laursen

Are you curious about the kind of research coming out of Danish universities and other research organizations? About what other researchers in Denmark are doing research in your field? And about the countries with which they collaborate?

If so, you can find the answers via Research Portal Denmark.

To make sure that the portal, that was launched not even a month ago, is as comprehensive as possible, data is pulled from Danish universities, among them CBS Research Portal, and other Danish research organizations, as well as from international data providers, including Elsevier (Scopus) and Clarivate (Web of Science).

If you run a query in Local Data (data from the Danish universities own records) or in Global Data (data from international data providers), you will in turn be able to filter the results on a whole slew of parameters, including Danish Affiliations, Global Collaboration, Affiliation of Corresponding Authors, and Country of Origin.
 

You can also explore all Danish research without any delimitations or you can zoom in on subsets, e.g. social science, humanities, technology, medicine, or SDGs.

Research Portal Denmark also provides Analytic Overviews, at the moment only on Open Access and Green Research, but more will be added down the line. If you are interested in Research Analytics, you may want to join the Danish Research Analytics Network (FORAN).

Data on Danish funders will be added later in 2024.

Take a tour of the new Research Portal Denmark and stay tuned for new developments!

Written by Liv Bjerge Laursen

Just as CBS registers all research publications and publish them as open access whenever possible, the same is true for other Danish research organizations. All of this data is harvested by and made available through NORA, the National Open Research Analytics. So for anybody who wants to explore the combined Danish research footprint, NORA is the place to go. 

NORA, which replaces the Danish National Research Database, is still a work in progress but it is mature enough to be used to search across all registered Danish research publications or across publications indexed in Scopus (from Elsevier), Web of Science (from Clarivate), and other such databases.   

To get started with NORA, you need to select a point of entry: 

• Local System Data 
• Elsevier Data 
• Clarivate Data 
• Digital Science Data 

The Local System Data option allows you to search across data originating with all or selected Danish research organizations, including universities, governmental organizations, foundations, and private companies. Among these are 

• VIVE: The Danish Center for Social Science Research
• NFA: The National Research Centre for the Working Environment 
• Ramboll, Carlsberg, and Rockwoll foundations 
• Topsoe, COWI, and Ørsted 

To look up research outputs from a specific organization, select General Filters -> Danish Affiliations. 
 

By Liv Bjerge Laursen

You may have noticed, when you move around campus, the screens that display new articles authored by CBS faculty. And you may have caught sight of something interesting that you wanted to explore, only to forget the name of the author and the title by the time you reach your office.

Sign up for a monthly alert and stay abreast
If you sign up for a monthly alert of all peer-reviewed journal articles registered in the CBS Research Portal in the previous month, you will never experience this problem again.

Register right here

Written by Lars Nondal

High Performance Computing (HPC). If you ever find yourself in need of extra computing power or extra storage, read on!

In the most recent newsletter, we outlined five new types of High-Performance Computing (HPC) services available for researchers at Danish universities.

The easiest-to-use and the most accessible HPC service at CBS is UCloud, a so-called ‘Interactive HPC service’. In UCloud, you work with software such as MATLAB, STATA, RStudio and JupyterLab in a graphic user interface in the same way as you would on your desk- or laptop computer. UCloud is available to all CBS researchers with CBS login credentials. UCloud computing power is provided by extensive HPC computing facilities that are hosted by other Danish universities, including ABACUS (SDU) and CLAAUDIA (AAU).​
 

New HPC & Data Science Support Team member

Please welcome our brand new HPC & Data Science Supporter to the stage! We want to take this opportunity to introduce Milos Kovacevic, our new RDM Support colleague. Milos has a background in industry, a BSc in Electronics and Computer Engineering from DTU, and an MSc in Bioinformatics with a focus on Machine Learning from KU. He will be the key person in our efforts to promote the use of HPC and cloud-based HPC resources in research and teaching at CBS.

UCloud in your research
In UCloud, all users are initially granted an allowance of free resources for use in their personal ‘My Workspace’ (up to 1000 DKK worth of computing and 150 DKK worth of storage). ´My Workspace´ does not cover sophisticated system functionalities.

You apply for additional resources as a ‘Project’ by clicking the ‘Apply for resources’ button on the UCloud dashboard. Working in ‘Project’ mode gives access to increased functionality and is especially useful when working on collaborative projects. Different roles can be assigned to project members (PI, Admin, and Users). PIs and Admins can define access permissions to project files, folders, etc.
For the remainder of 2021, CBS has plenty of resources at our disposal, so you should definitively not hesitate to apply for computing resources for your research projects this fall, even if your project will be running for more than 1-2 years. 

At present, 63 different applications are available in UCloud, including STATA, MATLAB, RStudio, JupyterLab, PyTorch, etc.
Click for a complete list of applications.

Without getting too technical: When you run a job in UCloud, you have the choice of a number of different ‘machine types’ and can chose how many CPUs you want to use. Depending on the size and characteristics of your job and your personal preferences/tradeoffs, you can use anything from 1 CPU up to 63 CPUs.

UCloud for CBS Students
UCloud is also available to CBS Students – as long as they sign in with their CBS e-mail (@student.cbs.dk). Students also have access to no-fee resources (up to 1000 DKK worth of computing and 150 DKK worth of storage) in ‘My Workspace’. However, UCloud does not allow students to apply for extra resources as ‘Projects’.

Most likely, the no-fee resources in ‘My Workspace’ (up to 1000 DKK worth of computing and 150 DKK worth of storage) will be sufficient for most student papers.  However, a portion of the resources available at CBS will be dedicated to master students with extraordinary computing/storage needs. In these cases, a CBS researcher (most likely a supervisor) applies on behalf of a student – and then ‘invites’ the student to participate in the project.

Please direct all questions to Milos Kovacevik or the RDM Support Team

By Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen

The consortium agreement between Elsevier and Danish research institutions means that CBS researchers can publish their research as Open Access free of charge in a number of Elsevier journals.

The agreement came into force on January 1 2021 and will run until December 31 2024.
To be eligible for zero-cost Open Access publishing, an article needs to meet the following requirements:

• The article is submitted to the journal after January 1 2021.
• The corresponding author is affiliated with Copenhagen Business School.
• The journal must be part of the agreement

What to do?
When your article is accepted for publication, you will receive an e-mail with a link to the “post-acceptance author journey”. To make sure that your article is published as Open Access at no cost, you need to complete the form as follows:

1. Choose ‘Copenhagen Business School’ as ‘Corresponding Author’s Organization’.
2. Choose ‘Gold OA’ to publish your article as Open Access without a publication fee.
3. Pick a Creative Commons license. You have the choice of CC BY and CC BY-NC-ND (if you have any questions about Creative Commons licenses, please send an e-mail to oa@cbs.dk).

If you prefer, you can also check out Elsevier´s video tutorial Gold Open Access: Central Funding Agreement

Which journals are included in the agreement?
Except for about 170 titles, the agreement covers most subscription-based journals.

Check to see if a specific journal is included in the agreement  

Open Access journals, i.e. journals that are not subscription-based and where all articles are published as Open Access, are not part of the agreement. If you publish in one of these journals, you will need to pay an Article Processing Charge (APC).
Click for a list of Elsevier Open Access journals.

Read more about the agreement in the CBS Library guide to Open Access

Please direct all questions to oa@cbs.dk

By Dicte Madsen

In September 2015, 193 countries agreed to adopt a set of global goals to end poverty, protect the planet, and ensure prosperity for all. 

A new feature in the CBS Research Portal now accentuates these goals and allows users to explore how CBS researchers and their works contribute towards achieving them.

Visit research.cbs.dk to explore 

Written by Lene Hald & Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen

Open Access publishing guarantees that publicly funded research, including their findings, is made available to not only the general public, but also to organizations and private companies. What is more, several studies show that Open Access generates more citations and downloads for individual research articles.

Many Open Access journals are renowned within their fields and some of them are indexed in the Bibliometric Research Indicator. Below you will find four examples of recent CBS articles published in Open Access journals.

You can search Open Access journals by keyword or subject in the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

Questions about Open Access?
Contact Lene Hald or Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen at oa@cbs.dk

or check out the CBS Open Access LibGuide

• Bauer, J. M., Brand, T., & Zeeb, H. (2020). Pre-migration Socioeconomic Status and Post-migration Health Satisfaction among Syrian Refugees in Germany: A Cross-sectional Analysis. PLOS Medicine, 17(3), [e1003093]. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pmed.1003093

• Helles, R., & Flyverbom, M. (2019). Meshes of Surveillance, Prediction, and Infrastructure: On the Cultural and Commercial Consequences of Digital Platforms. Surveillance & Society, 17(1/2), 34-39. https://doi.org/10.24908/ss.v17i1/2.13120

• Friis Christensen, J., & Muhr, S. L. (2019). H(a)unting Quotas: An Empirical Analysis of the Uncanniness of Gender Quotas. Ephemera: Theory & politics in organization, 19(1), 77-105.

• da Silva, D. A., ten Caten, C. S., dos Santos, R. P., Fogliatto, F. S., & Hsuan, J. (2019). Predicting the Occurrence of Surgical Site Infections Using Text Mining and Machine Learning. PLoS ONE, 14(12), 1-17. [e0226272]. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0226272