Blog - Libguides at Copenhagen Business School

EMIS NEXT - New Features and New Data in Emerging Markets Database

10/30/2024

Liselotte Brandstrup

Databases, Company Information, Company Financials and Key Figures, Company Reports

Source : https://www.isimarkets.com/our-products.html

Written by Liv Bjerge Laursen & Liselotte Brandstrup

If your research is concentrated on emerging markets, you probably already know that EMIS is an essential resource for emerging market information. The database was recently updated and now includes new modules and new analytics tools.

The focus of EMIS are the so-called new markets/emerging economies and the database comprises financial statements, company information, industry analyses, macroeconomic statistics, news, market-specific information, and much more within these markets.

AI has made a mark in all sectors of and has now also found its way into EMIS, where it promises to help you

Find the right answers quickly: AI-driven search engine and automated extraction of data and charts from PDF reports.
Get up to speed in markets: Industry and country profiles; AI-driven news based on open-source content to spot trends and signals and new industry tools to identify main players, market size and market shares.
Locate In-depth company profiling: Company profiles that provide key data on private companies, AI-driven news analytics to identify topics related to the company (EMIS AI Signals), corporate connections with owners, subsidiaries and executives, and ESG company news coverage.
Organize and disseminate your research: Folders to organize your searches
Monitor topics of interest: Trending topics in your market and content recommendations based in your profile, and customizable dashboards for your topics of interest.

The new modules Markets and Companies provide access to:

news, reports, and statistics for industry sectors in emerging markets, including reports from global and local sources
news, reports and profiles, equity, M&A (deals) information, as well as data on more than 10 million individual companies.

The new tools can help you to:

compile lists of companies and download them to Excel (Company Screener)
compare the performance of selected companies (Company Comparison)
find transactions that fit your criteria and download them to Excel (M&A Deals).

Create a user account to save your search results
You can register as a user in the top right corner of the screen. Use your CBS e-mail and a password of your own choice. In the left-hand menu you will find a dashboard with your saved searches and a folder of downloaded contents.

Try out EMIS Next

This post has no comments.

New ESG Databases Now Available

09/15/2023

Liselotte Brandstrup

Databases, Search Tips, Financial Databases, Company Information, Company Financials and Key Figures, Company Reports, Study & Research Tools

Written by Søren Madsen and Erik Sonne

Working with ESG Data? Now you have a number of ways to find it quickly and easily. One option is to visit two databases from MSCI, both with global coverage and full-range content:

MSCI – Historical Data
ESG Ratings coverage of more than 8.500 companies.
Time series Summary 1999-2022 - 20 data types / metrics.
Time series Expanded 2007-2022 – 250 data types / metrics.
Access upon request. Please contact Søren Madsen or Erik Sonne.

MSCI ESG Direct

An online research platform for evaluating ESG data, contents and analyses at company, industry, and thematic report levels. Contains current MSCI ESG score for 8.000 companies as well as background reports on companies, Issuer Summary, ESG Ratings Tear sheet (short summary), ESG Ratings Report (full report), Industry Report, and thematic reports on trends and current issues in ESG.
Access: Campus +VPN

Important when working with ESG Data

There are no common disclosure rules and common standards for ESG data - no universal standards or regulations.
ESG data is not available for all publicly listed companies.
Coverage is different across databases, in terms of numbers of securities, historical coverage, frequency, and metrics/data points.
ESG data providers generally develop their own sourcing, research, and scoring methodologies – and as a result, the rating for a company can vary widely across different providers.

ESG data from other providers via CBS Library

Refinitv ESG Scores (formerly ASSET4 ESG ratings) (available via Eikon and Datastream): Global in coverage and full-range content
Bloomberg: Global in coverage and full-range content
Morningstar (Sustainalytics): Global in coverage and full-range content
Boardex (available via WRDS): Corporate governance data
Execucomp (available via WRDS): Corporate governance data

Bloomberg, Eikon/Datastream, and Morningstar are only available from the CBS Library Data Lab.

Check of the CBS Library guide to ESG data for more information

Coming up: ESG Data Days 2023

We are planning a new round of ESG sessions (ESG Data Days) by database vendors in October. More information will follow shortly. In the meantime, you can check out the presentations from 2021 and presentations from 2022

For more information about ESG databases, please reach out to Søren Madsen or Erik Sonne

This post has no comments.

ESG Data Days 2021

10/18/2021

Liselotte Brandstrup

Search Tips, Financial Databases, Company Reports, ESG

Written by Søren Madsen

CBS Library has organized a series of four introductions to ESG data.

Students and staff are now invited to sign up. In the introductions, we will explore how to access the data and the tools needed to integrate ESG factors into portfolio analysis, equity research, screening, and quantitative analysis.

The first introduction is by Louise Aagaard Jensen, a CBS alumnus, who will talk about working with ESG integration across investments. The remaining introductions will be presented by database specialists from Bloomberg, MorningStar, and Eikon/Datastream.

Find out more about ESG Data Days 2021

More information about ESG data in our libguide

If you want to know more, please contact Søren Madsen or Erik Sonne

This post has no comments.