Blog

By Erik Sonne   

Preqin is a publisher of online databases, reports, and data on alternative investments, including private equity (PE), real estate, hedge funds, infrastructure funds, private debt, and natural resources.

Preqin contents: the CBS Library subscription only includes access to the Private Equity module.

Preqin offers the following separate private equity modules:

• Fund Managers: contains profiles and information on more than 10,000 private equity and venture capital fund managers worldwide. It includes funds raised, available capital, investment preferences, and contact details.
• Funds: tracks funds in the process of raising money, recently closed funds, and prospective fund launches.
• Performance Analyst: contains individual fund return data for more than 8,200 private equity funds worldwide.
• Investor Intelligence: profiles of more than 6,100 active institutional investors worldwide. This module also profiles investors who are no longer investing or have put their PE investments on hold.
• Buyout Deals: contains details of about 48,000 PE-backed buyout deals worldwide since 2006, including historical data for the largest 750 firms.
• Compensation: Preqin conducts an annual survey of the latest trends in compensation practices at private capital firms.
• Venture Deals: NO ACCESS to this module

Sources of information:
Preqin sources its performance data from both public and private sources. Public sources include regulatory filings and documents, news, and Freedom of Information Act requests to relevant organisations. Preqin indicates that up to 70% of its data are obtained through such requests, made to pension funds and other institutional investors. The rest is sourced directly from fund managers and GPs (General Partners).

Access to Preqin: You have on-campus access to Preqin.

WARNING! Be careful with

heavy use of Preqin!
Preqin displays a page Captcha warning if you view more than 20 pages within 60 seconds – as the system will assume that you are using a bot to view multiple pages in quick succession. This happens when multiple tabs are open.
Please be mindful and do not open up too many windows/tabs when using Preqin. This will help prevent triggering the Captcha.

Other databases with Private Equity contents
CBS Library also provides access to other databases with data and information on the Private Equity industry and PE backed deals; these include Zephyr, Thomson One Banker, and Bloomberg.

Find out more about relevant Private Equity databases
For more information, please contact Erik Sonne

*
By Liv Bjerge Laursen

How do the past 200 years look through the eyes of the central bank of Denmark? This question is answered in the anniversary publication that was issued by Danmarks Nationalbank this summer.

It’s a story that includes long periods of robust growth, but also dramatic episodes during which the stability of prices, payment methods, and the financial sector have been at stake.

 The anniversary publication provides an overview of the 200-year history of Danmarks Nationalbank, with an emphasis on what is most interesting to the present. The book is available for free as a pdf file and is available in both Danish and English.Jubilæumsbog: Danmarks Nationalbank 1818-2018
Anniversary Publication: Danmarks National Bank 1818-2018

Danmarks Nationalbank has also published a smaller booklet with the most important highlights from its history.
Jubilæumshæfte: Danmarks Nationalband 200 år
Anniversary Booklet: Danmarks Nationalbank 200 years

*Source: Danmarks Nationalbank https://www.nationalbanken.dk/da/presse/billederogfilm/Sider/default.aspx