Blog

Written by Camilla Boelsgaard Lund

Curious about what The Washington Post, USA Today or The Guardian are writing about the world situation? With PressReader you get access to newspapers from all over the world, presented in the same format as the print editions.

In a time of constant change, having access to a wide variety of news sources is invaluable. With PressReader, you can easily keep up with the news on your laptop or mobile.

You get access to 7000+ newspapers and magazines, giving you a global and nuanced perspective on the world. You can even dive into local and regional news from around the world. With PressReader, you can translate articles with a single click of the mouse, in this way you have immediate access to news in all languages.   

In addition to a multitude of newspapers, you also get access to lots of recreational, travel, and fashion magazines.
 

Advantages of PressReader

• 7000+ newspapers and magazines from around the world
• Read aloud option and auto-translation of articles
• Mobile app for easy access

Use PressReader through CBS Library

Link to PressReader

Learn more

Illustration: Frontpages from Pressreader

Illustration: Bärbel Miemietz, CC BY-SA 4.0 <https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0>, via Wikimedia Commons

Written by Liselotte Brandstrup

Access to one of Denmark's major daily newspapers is now available.

Students and staff already have online access to Berlingske, Børsen, and Jyllands-Posten via CBS Library. Now Politiken has been added to the list.

With online access to Politiken, you can:

• View all content on Politiken.dk
• Search the entire archive from 1884-present

Go to Politiken now

Alternative online news platforms

Infomedia: for articles from all Danish news outlets, national, regional, and local.

Watch Medier, e.g. ShippingWatch and MedWatch: for industry-specific news.

See all news subscriptions

Print newspapers

You will find print copies of Politiken, Berlingske, Børsen, Jyllands-Posten, Information, Weekendavisen, and Financial Times from the past three days in the lounge area on the ground floor of CBS Library Solbjerg Plads.

Illustration: https://www.dowjones.com/professional/factiva/

Written by Liselotte Brandstrup

From September this year, Factiva will introduce a brand-new default search interface.

The new interface provides an improved, simpler, and more user-friendly search experience based on natural language (keywords, phrases, sentences or questions).

It will be easier to search, especially for users not familiar with Boolean and other search operators.

A very visible change are the facets/delimiters that have moved from the left to the right side of the  screen.

If you prefer the legacy version with the search builders and advanced search option, it will still be possible to switch back. Simply click the ‘Switch Factiva’ button to switch between the two interfaces.

You can find out more via these links:

What is the new Factiva experience for academic users?

How does the new Factiva academic experience compare to classic Factiva experience?

Factiva for Academic Users: What is the natural language search in the new Factiva experience?

Go to Factiva
 

Illustration: CBS Library

By Liselotte Brandstrup

Illustration: Colourbox

Written by Liselotte Brandstrup 

Whether you want to read today’s newspapers or look for older news content for research purposes, CBS Library has you covered.

The library provides access to two major newspaper databases that together cover the whole world. They differ slightly in terms of coverage and functionalities but for both of them, to read the articles, you need to be on the CBS network or, if you are working from home, to be signed in to VPN. 

PressReader 

For staying on top of current affairs, PressReader is the place to go.

It provides access to newspaper content exactly as it appears in the print editions. The content goes far beyond just news, however. You will also find glossy magazines from around the world on just about anything, including food, lifestyle, and travel. You can use the filtering features to check out which publications are available for a specific country.

 PressReader is not great for searching – except if you are looking for news of the day or you want to run a quick on a topic. The database archives do not go back several years, as in the case of Factiva, but typically only one year. This, however, varies with each publication.

If you register as a user, you can save your favorite publications and download the PressReader application to your tablet or smartphone for use on the go.   

Find out more about PressReader and how to register 

Factiva 

Factiva is particularly good if you want to search for historical content or by topic. It comprises not only international, regional, and local newspapers, but also all kinds of industry magazines, press releases, including from companies, and a lot more.

To avoid being overwhelmed by hits, we recommend that you decide exactly which newspaper(s) are relevant. The easiest way to do this is to click Source and enter the title of the newspaper:

Source: Screen dump from Factiva 

Find out more about Factiva

If you have any questions about the newspaper databases or a specific newspaper, please contact your liaison librarian. 

If you are looking for Danish newspapers, check out the library website

Written by Liselotte Brandstrup

Keeping up with the news just got a little bit easier with PressReader´s recent release of their brand new translation service that allows you to translate newspaper contents into any language of your choice. 

PressReader is a hub of online newspapers, magazines, and journals from around the world, including the Washington Post, the Guardian, El Pais, Le Figaro, Newsweek, Vogue, and Bloomberg Businessweek. Use PressReader to stay abreast of current events with your favorite peddlers of news or discover new ones. You have access to full issues the moment they hit the newsstands.

You can download complete issues and toggle between the original print version (page view) and a mobile-friendly version (text view).

One-touch, multilingual translations

If you wish to keep up with the news in languages that you do not read and understand, PressReader is on the case. As an international researcher at CBS, it might be relevant to read Børsen, a business daily, without having to go through the trouble of learning Danish, and with PressReader this is very much on.

To activate the PressReader translation service, you need to follow a few steps:

• Look up Børsen in PressReader and select the issue you need.
• Click Read now
• Right-click the title/headline you are interested in and select translate
• Select a target language
• A popup will appear with the translation (NB. you should not expect a 100 % grammatically correct translation)
   

Try out PressReader now

Find out more about PressReader

Feel free to reach out to your liaison librarian, if you have any questions about PressReader.

By Mette Bechmann

You can now freely add newspaper articles in full text to your course readings in Canvas.  

The agreement between CBS and Copydan, the Danish copyright association, has until now been an annoying obstacle to the sharing with students of newspaper contents. With the coming into force in June 2022 of a supplementary agreement, this obstacle has now been overcome. Faculty are now allowed to:  

• scan a newspaper article and share it in digital form with students
• download an article from a web-based newspaper and share it with students
• copy-paste content from an article to a digital presentation 

The general limitations as described in the original agreement still stand. It is important to bear in mind, that the agreement only takes effect when all options to link directly to CBS Library licensed databases (such as Infomedia and Factiva) with full text coverage, have been exhausted.
 

The sharing of digital contents with the students is only permitted with password protection – that is, on Canvas. It is not allowed to share via e-mail, Facebook, and similar services.  

You will find more details about the agreement in this newly revised CBS Library guide to copyright, where you also find full-text copies of both the original and the supplementary agreement. 

Any questions can be directed to Mette Bechmann

By Birgit Brejnebøl

CBS Library now subscribes to Berlingske Tidende online (b.dk), which includes access to Business and E-avisen, including back issues from 2008 onwards.
On-campus and VPN access is available for CBS students and staff.
Need help to set up VPN?
 

Access to other Danish newspapers
On top of Berlingske Tidende, CBS Library provides digital access to both Jyllands-Posten and Dagbladet Børsen.
Get access to more newspapers

If you are looking for specific articles, we recommend that you use Infomedia, where you can search across most Danish newspapers and magazines.
Search Infomedia
 

Usage restrictions under CBS newspaper license agreements

• ​Sharing content with people outside of CBS is not permitted.
• Downloading articles to Canvas or other sites is not permitted. Insert references instead and point to the newspaper websites.
• Text and data mining in newspapers is not permitted but is possible for a fee and upon request to Infomedia.

For more information, please contact Birgit Brejnebøl (ext. 3693). 

Written by Mette Bechmann

Imagine an English manor house. The library. A deep easy chair and a footstool. The dog is snoring comfortably on the floor and there is a good fire going. Your newspapers right beside you on a small table and the bell close at hand to summon the maid for more tea….

Well, not quite like that… But if you need to swap your office chair for something more comfortable if only for a while – then why not stop by the library for your morning or afternoon break. You will find comfortable and quiet seating areas across multiple floors and, on the ground floor, a lounge area with inviting sofas by Danish designer Børge Mogensen. 

Read today’s paper!
Before you get too comfortable, maybe pick up one of the daily newspapers from the circulation desk, you have the choice of Financial Times, Børsen, Information, Le Monde, Politiken, and Berlingske Tidende… And while you decide, why not have a chat with the librarian on duty. If you prefer a book or an international magazine, you will find some of the library´s most recent arrivals on the book rack in the ground floor lounge. And if you should find the book rack empty – our new selection of purely recreational books will be arriving very shortly.

So – come to the library for your coffee break. Bring your own cup or buy one, and a nice piece of chocolate to go with it, from CBS Library Kiosk. And just enjoy!

Written by Liselotte Brandstrup

CBS Library provides many opportunities for keeping up with world events. In the newspapers section on our website you will find a wide suite of newspapers and other news media, most of which are available both on campus and from the comfort of your home.

Check out what is on offer

Easy with Pressreader
Now it is much easier to stay on top of the news cycle and manage your favorite news sources with our brand new purchase Pressreader, a database of e-editions of print newspapers and magazines from around the globe. Create a user profile using your CBS e-mail account and stay abreast of your preferred newspapers and magazines. In some cases, Pressreader will read contents out loud in the original language, and in some cases, it will translate contents from the original to a number of major languages.

Find out how to get started with Pressreader
Download Pressreader for both smartphone and tablet:
Get it on Google Play
Get it from the AppStore

If you need to search international newspapers, we recommend that you use Factiva.

News in Danish
It goes without saying that CBS Library also provides access to Danish news via Infomedia Medieaarkiv, a comprehensive archive of Danish news contents, as well as individual newspapers, including:

• Børsen - e-edition and Børsen Pro articles included
• Jyllands-Posten -  e-edition and Finans.dk included

Older newspaper articles are available via Mediestream

Looking for industry news?
Check out these industry-specific resources:

• Altinget
• FinansWatch
• MediaWatch
• MedWatch
• ShippingWatch

You can also use Factiva to find news contents on specific industries.   
Watch this video tutorial about searching international news by industry using Factiva

Check in with your liaison librarian, if you want to learn more.