In your research, are you investigating links between companies, or groups of companies, and patents? If that is the case, we may just have the database for you: ORBIS Intellectual Property or ORBIS IP.
Over the years, patents, as part of the intangible assets of companies, have become increasingly important for the value creation and competitiveness of the companies themselves. Many countries have gradually started to publish their patent collections via available online databases, which means that patents can be identified by searching national databases or Espacenet, a shared interface that comprises more than 130 million patents from around the world (more than 100 countries).
Linking patent data to companies It has always been quite a challenge to link patents with company information due to the content description in and the structure of patent documents. With ORBIS IP, this challenge has been overcome, as it links global patent data to companies and corporate groups. ORBIS IP content includes:
More than 115 million patents linked to information about millions of companies, which will allow you to see patent portfolios for a company and its corporate group
Ownership timelines for all patents. In this way you can ascertain the number of transactions for a given patent.
Patent and portfolio valuations for all granted live patents
M&A information that can help you monitor patents that have been sold as intangible assets in M&A deals
Search tips In ORBIS IP you can search for patents and companies by using hundreds of search criteria including date range, company location, ownership structure, industry, and patent classification codes. You can identify and analyze peer groups, create league tables, and visualize data.
The ORBIS IP interface is very user-friendly, and if you are already used to working with the company database ORBIS, it will look remarkably familiar.
Written by Erik Sonne
In your research, are you investigating links between companies, or groups of companies, and patents? If that is the case, we may just have the database for you: ORBIS Intellectual Property or ORBIS IP.
Over the years, patents, as part of the intangible assets of companies, have become increasingly important for the value creation and competitiveness of the companies themselves. Many countries have gradually started to publish their patent collections via available online databases, which means that patents can be identified by searching national databases or Espacenet, a shared interface that comprises more than 130 million patents from around the world (more than 100 countries).
Linking patent data to companies
It has always been quite a challenge to link patents with company information due to the content description in and the structure of patent documents. With ORBIS IP, this challenge has been overcome, as it links global patent data to companies and corporate groups.
ORBIS IP content includes:
Search tips
In ORBIS IP you can search for patents and companies by using hundreds of search criteria including date range, company location, ownership structure, industry, and patent classification codes. You can identify and analyze peer groups, create league tables, and visualize data.
The ORBIS IP interface is very user-friendly, and if you are already used to working with the company database ORBIS, it will look remarkably familiar.
Visit ORBIS IP
Check out our guide to patents and research for more information on how to search for patents and for a brief introduction to ORBIS IP.