Blog

By Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen 

CBS researchers now have access to Overton, the world’s largest database of policy documents and grey literature. Overton tracks more than 21 million policies and grey literature documents and automatically links them to the research they cite, helping you discover impact beyond journal citations. It is ideal for discovering policy citations, studying policy texts, and understanding the policymaking landscape. 

The database covers sources from 193 countries/territories in 74 languages (as of August 2025). 

Why it matters for your work

• Impact: Identify where your publications are cited in policy, which could be useful for applications, evaluations, and impact statements. 
• Systematize grey literature: Bring hard-to-find reports and guides with transparent provenance into your reviews. 
• Stay on top of developments: Save searches, set up email alerts, tag and highlight results. 
• Data access & integration: Use the REST API to export and analyze Overton data in your workflows. Use the quick-start and reference guides to get started with Overton. 

Join us for an online introduction to Overton 

Sign up for one of the webinars Discover how policy documents shape your research impact (1 hour) in November and find out how to make the most of Overton. You will learn how to:

• Browse and search Overton effectively
• Track citations of academic research in policy
• Integrate grey literature into your work

And of course, you will also get the chance to get any questions you may have answered

The webinars are hosted by Overton and CBS Library & Academic Services

Choose between the following dates (CET) and sign up via the links:

• Monday, 3 November 2025, 10:00–11:00
• Friday, 7 November 2025, 10:00–11:00

Getting started with Overton

Access Overton

If you have any questions, please contact metrics.lib@cbs.dk

By Mette Bechmann

If you use Google Scholar to search for research literature, you can make your search results even more powerful by activating CBS Library Fulltext links. With a simple tick of a box, you can connect your Google Scholar account to the digital resources provided by CBS Library & Academic Services, allowing you to access full-text articles in those cases where CBS has a publisher subscription. 

Once activated, a “CBS Fulltext” link will appear next to your search results. One click of your mouse will take you directly to the full-text document via CBS Library, saving you time and ensuring legal and reliable access to the content that you need. 

How to set it up: 

1. Open Google Scholar 
2. Click the burger menu (☰) in the top left corner 
3. Select Settings and Library links 
4. In the search box, type in Copenhagen Business School 
5. Tick the box next to Copenhagen Business School - CBS Fulltext 
6. Save 

You are now ready to access CBS Library resources directly through Google Scholar. 

If you are working off campus, remember to use the VPN connection or log in to any CBS service before accessing full-text articles. In this way, Google Scholar will recognize your CBS affiliation. 

By René Steffensen

In December 2024, the CBS Board approved a proposal for CBS’ AI strategy, providing the framework for an ambitious initiative that, in the coming years, will involve CBS programmes, research, and administration.
The library is responsible for coordinating CBS’ overall AI efforts in support of the AI Board.

In the library section of CBSshare under AI at CBS, you will find more information about CBS’ AI strategy and the work of the AI Board, along with insights into how artificial intelligence is being applied and explored at CBS – in research, teaching, and administration. You can also read more about tools such as ChatGPT and Copilot, find answers to frequently asked questions, and explore current training offers and resources for staff.

From strategy to action

The CBS AI Board held its inaugural meeting in May 2025, with particular focus on proposals for AI pilots within teaching and learning. A total of 14 projects were approved, of which five are being launched as soon as possible by the proposers in collaboration with EDQ.

Copilot is CBS’ general GenAI offering for all employees and students. In addition, the library rolled out 500 ChatGPT EDU licences in May. Due to the high cost, licences are limited. In the initial phase, the departments were prioritised with 350 licences and were responsible for distributing them in-house.

In the autumn, the extended MS365 version with Copilot will be rolled out – again in a limited batch, this time with a focus on administrative staff.

By Mette Bechmann

CBS Library offers tailored in-class teaching to help your students build strong academic and research skills. We collaborate with you to design teaching sessions that fit your course  - and we adapt the content to match the academic level and needs of your students. 

Examples of topics: 

• Literature
• Search strategies 
• Understanding how academic literature is interconnected — how studies relate, contrast, and build on one another 
• Referencing and citation management 
• Academic writing support 
• NVivo (for qualitative data analysis) or Qualtrics (for survey design and analysis) 

We aim for hands-on, practical teaching at eye level whether your students are just starting out or working on advanced research projects. 

Interested in bringing the library into your classroom? 
Get in touch with the teaching team: Mette Bechmann, Thomas Basbøll or Joshua Kragh Amudzidis-Bruhn, and let us talk about how we can best support your students this fall. 

Written by René Steffensen

The library has been assigned system ownership for Copilot and ChatGPT Edu, two very significant GenAI systems.

All employees already have access to Copilot, while all departments were allocated a ChatGPT pool for internal distribution in April, to be completed by May 1st or as soon as possible.

A total of 500 ChatGPT licenses have been purchased, of which 350 have now been allocated to the departments. The reason for not purchasing more licenses initially is due to the high cost. Once the pool is allocated, CBS' AI Board will assess the possibility of purchasing more licenses and how many.

Access to Copilot for Microsoft 365 will be available during the fall, but due to the pricing structure, it is again expected that there will be pool allocation to departments and units.

Read more about AI at CBS on CBSSShare

CBS Library supports CBS' AI Board and has therefore established an AI Share Universe. Here, you can read more and stay updated on the AI Board's work in implementing CBS' AI strategy.

Feel free to contact René Steffensen, if you have questions.

Visit the AI Share universe

Consult the FAQ about ChatGPT Edu

By Cecilia Lohse, Thomas Basbøl og Søren Madsen

“#N/A Review”

This has become an all too familiar error message for our users. Both our Bloomberg and Workspace/Datastream terminals are being used to access financial data at an accelerating rate, and our monthly data limits are being reached alarmingly early. In March, for example, it took only a few days before it was no longer possible to download data through our terminals.

At present, we have no effective way to police the use of our terminals and are relying on our students’ judgment and restraint in accessing data to ensure that other students are not left empty-handed.  

We are asking for your help in educating the students about the importance of sustainable data practices.

Some Possible Misunderstandings

We suspect that the problem arises from a number of misunderstandings:

Students may set up spreadsheets with functions that query the terminal for fresh data every time they open their project.

They may think that they need data on every company in an industry, where a random sample would be sufficient.

They may think that they need daily prices where monthly ones would do.

Also, they may believe that the better research project is the one that uses the most recent data available, so they will redo their entire analysis with fresh data immediately before submitting.

Better Living Through Data Management

To remedy this, we have a few suggestions:

The first is that, wherever possible, we ask you not to encourage the students to use “big data” approaches to research. We simply cannot offer all your students the amount of data they would need to do this kind of work.

Second, we ask you to explain that, for the purposes of any given assignment, they do not need 100 % current data.

Finally, unless your teaching objective is specifically related to the use of Bloomberg or Workspace, we ask you to suggest alternative sources of data, like the Orbis company database, which can often provide the same data.

More generally, if you are assigning or supervising research projects that make use of financial data, please contact our DataLab team, so that we can work together to find the best possible way to support your learning objectives while staying within the objective limits set by our data suppliers.

Contact: datalab.lib@cbs.dk

By Thomas Basbøll & Liv Bjerge Laursen

Copenhagen Business School now provides access to Overleaf Professional for all students, faculty, and staff who would like to use a collaborative, online LaTeX editor for their projects.

Overleaf is a collaborative, online LaTeX editor designed to make the process of writing, editing, and publishing scientific documents seamless and efficient. It provides a user-friendly interface that allows multiple users to work on a document simultaneously, making it ideal for collaborative projects.

Overleaf integrates with reference management tools like Mendeley and Zotero and supports direct submission to many academic journals and repositories. With real-time preview, users can see the compiled document as they write, ensuring that formatting and layout issues are addressed immediately.

Overleaf is widely used by researchers, students, and professionals for creating technical and scientific documents, theses, dissertations, and academic papers.

Claim your Overleaf Professional upgrade by signing up (or signing in) below.

Already have an account?
We know that many of you already have an Overleaf account. To get started with the CBS institutional account, you will need to link your existing account to your Copenhagen Business School single sign-on. If you have been paying for your own Professional account, this will no longer be necessary.

Go to Overleaf here

If you are new to Overleaf:

Take a look at the Quick Start Guide and the FAQ on the website.

Written By Mette Bechmann

As always, the library is committed to ensuring smooth access to course literature for your students. We highly recommend using the Course Readings app in Canvas to streamline this process. 

By utilizing Course Readings, we can automatically check all readings submitted to Academic Books and those created within the app to make both print and, whenever possible, digital copies available to your students. This process also ensures that all materials comply with copyright guidelines.

Preparing a new course is the perfect opportunity to get started with Course Readings in Canvas. This tool not only simplifies the process but also guarantees seamless access for your students.

Get started by clicking Course Readings in the left-hand menu of your Canvas course or click here. 

We will of course continue to maintain a Course Collection in the Solbjerg Plads library for course literature that is not available digitally. For more details, please contact Nikolaj Kjær Jensen.

Source: https://consensus.app/

Written by Mette Bechmann

Imagine being able to save time when reviewing essential literature for your research projects... A new AI-based tool, Consensus, can help you do just that by concisely summarizing peer-reviewed papers.

Traditional bibliographic databases like Scopus and Web of Science are essential for carrying out comprehensive literature reviews. They offer depth and breadth, allowing users to search by keywords, filter results, and access a wide range of scholarly content. However, they often require manual reviewing of huge volumes of papers to identify consensus and trends. 

Consensus AI simplifies this process by using artificial intelligence to scan peer-reviewed content and in turn summarize evidence-based answers. In this way, it complements traditional databases by offering speed and clarity in identifying different viewpoints. You can use it alongside keyword searches in Scopus or Web of Science to find additional resources or to identify consensus around complex topics. 

How Consensus AI works 
Unlike Scopus and Web of Science, Consensus AI delivers a concise summary from relevant peer-reviewed studies based on a query. For instance, you might ask: “Does remote work improve employee productivity?” Consensus will then scan available content and provide an overall summary, showing whether existing research supports the idea or if findings are mixed. This can help you identify consensus or gaps within in the literature. 

Pros  

1. Time-saving: Consensus AI presents summarized findings, reducing manual searching. 

2. Simplified insights: The AI presents research in accessible summaries, useful for preliminary reviews. 

3. Supplementary tool: Can be used alongside traditional databases for additional resources. 

4. Filter by highly ranked journals: Users can limit searches to high-quality, top-ranked journals. 

Cons  

1. Limited database: the Consensus AI database is still under development  and may lack niche topics. 

2. AI interpretation: Risks over-simplifying research findings. 

3. Narrow focus: Lacks the comprehensive scope of databases like Scopus and Web of Science. 

While Scopus and Web of Science are critical for deep research, Consensus AI is a valuable tool for quickly identifying consensus, with the added benefit of filtering for top-tier journals. 

To get started with Consensus, go to their webpage.

CBS does not have an institutional license.  

Questions? Reach out to Mette Bechmann

Illustration: Bärbel Miemietz, CC BY-SA 4.0 <https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0>, via Wikimedia Commons

Written by Liselotte Brandstrup

Access to one of Denmark's major daily newspapers is now available.

Students and staff already have online access to Berlingske, Børsen, and Jyllands-Posten via CBS Library. Now Politiken has been added to the list.

With online access to Politiken, you can:

• View all content on Politiken.dk
• Search the entire archive from 1884-present

Go to Politiken now

Alternative online news platforms

Infomedia: for articles from all Danish news outlets, national, regional, and local.

Watch Medier, e.g. ShippingWatch and MedWatch: for industry-specific news.

See all news subscriptions

Print newspapers

You will find print copies of Politiken, Berlingske, Børsen, Jyllands-Posten, Information, Weekendavisen, and Financial Times from the past three days in the lounge area on the ground floor of CBS Library Solbjerg Plads.