Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA 7th Edition - Citation Guide - CBS Library: Reports from Databases

About Citing Business Reports from Library Databases

Note: The citations on this page are recommendations by Copenhagen Business School Library.

 

CBS Library recommends the following general format for business reports using APA:

Only use this template for items in library databases that are exclusive content to the database (i.e. are not found outside the database). Databases like: MarketLine, Passport, and Statista. Otherwise consult the guidelines for The Generic Reference. If the document has no publication date use (n.d.). Often documents like these can be updated, drastically changed, or removed over time, there for you should include the retrival date in the reference.

Template

Author's last name, First initial. Second initial, if given. or Corporate Author name. (Year of Publication). Title of report:Subtitle if any. (Document number if available). [Type of document]. Retrieved Date from url of document

NOTE:

  • Data is not always fully available
  • Use as much data as the source presents
  • If you can’t link to specific document link to the main page of the database. You may use a URL shortener like tinyurl (https://tinyurl.com) or bit.ly (https://bitly.com) if you wish
  • Information about author is often at the end of the document

Below you will find examples from a selection of databases available from CBS Library.

Examples

Example

 

Annual reports of companies are most likely found on the company homepage but can also be found in different databases. Here are two examples.

 

Novo Nordisk. (2021). Annual report 2020. Retrieved January 27, 2022, from  https://www.novonordisk.com/content/dam/nncorp/global/en/investors/irmaterial/annual_report/2021/Novo-Nordisk-Annual-Report-2020.pdf

Nike. (2021). Form 10-K 2021. Retrieved January 27, 2022, from  https://www.sec.gov/ix?doc=/Archives/edgar/data/320187/000032018721000028/nke-20210531.htm

 

As in-text citations:

(Novo Nordisk, 2021)

(Nike, 2021)

Example - Bloomberg

Bloomberg. (2019). Company analysis for Bank of Canada. Retrieved June 22, 2021 from https://www.bloomberg.com/

Bloomberg. (2017). Environmental, social, and governance analysis for Bank of Canada 11/10/12 to 11/10/17. Retrived October 12, 2019, from https://www.bloomberg.com/

As in-text citation:

(Bloomberg, Publication Year)

(Bloomberg, 2020)

If citing multiple reports by same author/database/company from the same year use a, b, c after the year

Example - EIU Viewpoint

 

EIU. (2021a). Five year forecast: Denmark. [Report]. Retrieved January 27, 2022, from https://viewpoint.eiu.com/analysis/geography/XG/DK/reports/five-year-forecast

EIU. (2021b). Supply-chain disruptions boost agri-tech in the Middle East. [Insight]. Retrieved January 27, 2022, from https://viewpoint.eiu.com/analysis/article/971689680/

 
As In-text citation:

(EIU, Publication Year)

(EIU, 2021a)

(EIU, 2021b)

If citing multiple documents by same author/database/company from the same year use a, b, c after the year

Example - Frost & Sullivan

 

Frost & Sullivan. (2018). Future of mass market and premium performance vehicles, 2025 (ME36 / 00). [Growth Insights]. Retrieved May 5, 2020, from https://member.frost.com/login?reportID=ME36-01-00-00-00

As In-text citation:

(Frost & Sullivan, Publication Year)

(Frost & Sullivan, 2018)

If citing multiple reports by same author/database/company from the same year use a, b, c after the year

Examples - MarketLine

 

If using only ONE report from MarketLine for the same year

MarketLine. (2020). Advertising in Europe. (Reference Code: 0201-0420). [Industry Profile]. Retrieved September 19, 2020, from https://advantage.marketline.com/ Analysis/ViewasPDF/europe-advertising-97514

 

If using MORE THAN ONE report from the same year

MarketLine. (2019a). Meat Alternatives in Seafood: Future of seafood is in the lab and garden (Report Code: ML00030-068). [Case study]. Retrieved September 21, 2020, from https://bit.ly/3eLQA6M

MarketLine. (2019b). US-China trade war: Tariffs are exacerbating existing trends, leaving few victors (Reference Code: ML00030-001). [Case study]. Retrieved October 14, 2020, from https://advantage.marketline.com/Analysis/ViewasPDF/us-china-trade-war-tariffs-are-exacerbating-existing-trends-leaving-few-victors-75849

 

In no date is available

Include retrieved date.

MarketLine. (n.d.). Emerging Megacities: Four key cities that will become the economic & population drivers of the future. [Theme report]. Retrieved April 16, 2020, from https://advantage.marketline.com

 

As in-text citation:

(MarketLine, Publication Year)

(MarketLine, 2020)
(MarketLine, n.d.)
If citing multiple reports by same author/database/company from the same year: (MarketLine, 2019a)

 

Examples - Passport GMID - Euromonitor

 

If no author name is given

​Euromonitor International. (2020). Childrenswear in Denmark [Country Report]. Retrieved January 23, 2021, from https://www.portal.euromonitor.com

 

If author name is given

Hodgson, A. & Solomon, D. (2020). The Future of the Middle Class [Briefing]. Retrieved March 21, 2021, from https://www.portal.euromonitor.com

 

If no date is available

Euromonitor International. (n.d.). Brexit Scenarios Tool: Quarterly Brexit Report: Q1 2020. Retrieved April 16, 2020, from https://www.portal.euromonitor.com

 

As in-text citation:

(Euromonitor International, Publication Year)

(Euromonitor International, 2020)
(Hodgson & Solomon, 2020)
(Euromonitor International, n.d.)

 

 

 

Examples - Statista

 

If no author name is given

​Statista. (2019). Alcohol consumption in the United Kingdom. [Dossier]. Retrieved December 18, 2019, from https://www.statista.com/study/24946/alcohol-consumption-in-the-united-kingdom-statista-dossier/

 

If author name is given

Watson, A. (2018). Film Industry - Statistics & Facts. [Dossier]. Retrieved December 14, 2019, from https://www.statista.com/topics/964/film/

 

If no date is available

Statista. (n.d.). Top 100 Companies: Pharma & Biotech [Statista Toplist]. Retrieved April 16, 2020, from https://www.statista.com/study/30864/top-100-pharmaceutical-and-biotech-companies-global/

 

As in-text citation:

(Statista, Publication Year)

(Statista, 2019)
(Watson, 2018)
(Statista, n.d.)