Blog - Libguides at Copenhagen Business School

Written By Liv Bjerge Laursen

CBS works hard to live up to the national Open Acces strategy to make as much of our research available to the world without limitations as possible.
It goes without saying that we also monitor how often articles from CBS Research Portal are downloaded.

In 2024 the following three articles attracted the most attention:

Järvinen, M., & Mik-Meyer, N. (2024). Giving and Receiving: Gendered Service Work in Academia. Current Sociology, 73(3), 302-320. https://doi.org/10.1177/00113921231224754
Downloads in 2024: 5.967

Kang, Y., Cai, Z., Tan, C.-W., Huang, Q., & Liu, H. (2020). Natural Language Processing (NLP) in Management Research: A Literature Review. Journal of Management Analytics, 7(2), 139-172. https://doi.org/10.1080/23270012.2020.1756939
Downloads in 2024: 4.015

Ponte, S. (2002). The 'Latte Revolution'? Regulation, Markets and Consumption in the Global Coffee Chain. World Development, 30(7), 1099-1122. https://doi.org/10.1016/S0305-750X(02)00032-3
Downloads in 2024: 3.312

The output from our PhD students also attracts a lot of attention. Apart from a few exceptions, CBS PhD theses are all freely available.

The three most downloaded PhD theses in 2024 were:

Ridgway, R. (2021). Re:search - the Personalised Subject vs. the Anonymous User. Copenhagen Business School [Phd]. PhD Series No. 21.2021
Downloads in 2024: 2.818

Vaidyanathan, N. (2020). Enriching Retail Customer Experience Using Augmented Reality. Copenhagen Business School [Phd]. PhD Series No. 33.2020
Downloads in 2024: 2.655

Kjær, C. (2024). Corporate Scandals: In The Age of ‘Responsible Business’. Copenhagen Business School [Phd]. PhD Series No. 06.2024 https://doi.org/10.22439/phd.06.2024
Downloads in 2024: 1.791

These are your favourite journals

It is also interesting to monitor those journals for which we pay a license fee for to provide access to faculty and students. Some of them are almost top 10 stables, whereas others come and go. The list for the past two years looks like this:

Ten most used e-journals in 2024	Ten most used e-journals in 2023
Harvard Business Review International Journal of Project Management The Academy of Management Review California management review Management Science Organization science: A journal of the Institute of Management Sciences Scandinavian Journal of Management Organization Studies Journal of Management Strategic Management Journal	Harvard Business Review Management Science Strategic Management Journal American Journal of Sociology The Academy of Management Review Leadership Journal of International Business Studies Journal of Business Ethics California Management Review The Academy of Management Journal

And favourite books…

Whereas today journals are predominantly accessed digitally, books, both print and online, still enjoy a lot of traction.
Below is a list of the most popular titles in 2024:

Five most used e-books in 2024

Five most used print books in 2024

Recent Posts

Introducing Overton: Connecting Research and Policies

By Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen CBS researchers now have access to Overton, the world’s largest database of policy documents and grey literature. Overton tracks more than 21 million policies and grey literature documents and automatically links them to the research they cite, helping you discover impact beyond journal citations. It is ideal for discovering policy citations, studying policy texts, and understanding the policymaking landscape. The database covers sources from 193 countries/territories in 74 languages (as of August 2025). Why it matters for your workImpact: Identify where your publications are cited in policy, which could be useful for applications, evaluations, and impact statements. Systematize grey literature: Bring hard-to-find reports and guides with transparent provenance into your reviews. Stay on top of developments: Save searches, set up email alerts, tag and highlight results. Data access & integration: Use the REST API to export and analyze Overton data in your workflows. Use the quick-start and reference guides to get started with Overton. Join us for an online introduction to Overton Sign up for one of the webinars Discover how policy documents shape your research impact (1 hour) in November and find out how to make the most of Overton. You will learn how to:Browse and search Overton effectivelyTrack citations of academic research in policyIntegrate grey literature into your work And of course, you will also get the chance to get any questions you may have answeredThe webinars are hosted by Overton and CBS Library & Academic ServicesChoose between the following dates (CET) and sign up via the links:Monday, 3 November 2025, 10:00–11:00Friday, 7 November 2025, 10:00–11:00 Getting started with OvertonAccess OvertonIf you have any questions, please contact metrics.lib@cbs.dk...

Full-Text Access in Google Scholar With CBS Library Links

By Mette Bechmann If you use Google Scholar to search for research literature, you can make your search results even more powerful by activating CBS Library Fulltext links. With a simple tick of a box, you can connect your Google Scholar account to the digital resources provided by CBS Library & Academic Services, allowing you to access full-text articles in those cases where CBS has a publisher subscription. Once activated, a “CBS Fulltext” link will appear next to your search results. One click of your mouse will take you directly to the full-text document via CBS Library, saving you time and ensuring legal and reliable access to the content that you need. How to set it up: Open Google Scholar Click the burger menu (☰) in the top left corner Select Settings and Library links In the search box, type in Copenhagen Business School Tick the box next to Copenhagen Business School - CBS Fulltext Save You are now ready to access CBS Library resources directly through Google Scholar. If you are working off campus, remember to use the VPN connection or log in to any CBS service before accessing full-text articles. In this way, Google Scholar will recognize your CBS affiliation. ...

Course Literature Spring Semester 2026

By Liv Bjerge LaursenTo make sure that course literature is always available to your students, we review every reading list submitted to Academic Books as well as all lists created in Course Readings on Canvas. We then go on to purchase print copies of items not available from our collections already and place them in the dedicated Course Collection. Where possible, we buy e-copies for our general collection. Feel free at any time to submit additional requests for the Course Collection if you wish to suggest supplementary readings for your students.If you are not already using Course Readings in Canvas, this might be the perfect opportunity to get started and join the growing number of CBS faculty who want to take advantage of the technology to create, share, and share reading lists without hassle and to stay on top of copyright requirements at the same time. With Course Readings, your students will get easy, uniform, and equitable access to content, and you will never have to check and double-check links again, while at the same time you will be able to monitor your student cohort´s use of the literature.Check out our guide: Using Course Readings in Canvas, where you will find more information and watch a short introductory video. If you would like help to get started with Course Readings, please contact your liaison librarian, who will be more than happy to help. ...

Faculty tip: Make the library work for you

By Liv Bjerge Laursen As faculty at CBS, your time is precious. Between teaching, publishing, and administrative responsibilities, there’s rarely a moment to explore how the library could support your research and teaching. Many faculty members don’t realize the range of resources and personalised services available, or how much easier their work could become with the right guidance. Have you ever felt stuck… …trying to locate the right articles, set up a search strategy, or choose the best tool for your research? Or wondered about copyright rules for teaching materials, open access options, or how to register your publications? These tasks can be time-consuming, and without support, these issues can slow down your research, affect the visibility of your work, and add unnecessary stress. That’s where your Liaison Librarian comes in. Every department at CBS has a dedicated librarian ready to help you. We can assist you with: Search support: Learn how to build effective search strategies and navigate databases with confidence. Get advice on using AI tools critically in your searches Tool training: To subscription-based tools like Mendeley (reference management), NVivo (qualitative analysis), Qualtrics (surveys), Konch (transcription), and financial data tools. Stay updated: Set up alerts for journals and topics relevant to your field. Publishing guidance: Get tips on finding a good outlet for your research, open access, and copyright for both research and teaching. Research registration & data management: Connect with our in-house experts for tailored support. Whether you are a new PhD student, a seasoned professor, or part of the administrative staff, your Liaison Librarian is here to make your work smoother and more efficient. Reach out to your Liaison Librarian and discover how the library can be your strategic partner in research, teaching, and publishing. ...

Most Popular CBS Publications

Leave a comment