Blog

By Liselotte Brandstrup

We hope that you enjoy the new edition of Libsearch and that you have already noticed that it is much easier to log in, now that you only need your CBS credentials. Below we want to point to a few other time-saving features that you might like.

Three cool features:

• Find a journal
  Search for journals directly in Libsearch instead of in the journal directory on the website. This feature is available from the top menu and covers all CBS Library journal subscriptions. You can search by title, topic, or ISSN.
  Check out the new Find Journals
   
• Purchase requests
  We are always happy to receive suggestions for new purchases from you. With this new feature, the process will be smoother and faster, and you will be first in line for the new acquisition. There is no need to send an e-mail – simply fill in the form.
  Open the Purchase Request form
  
  
• Permanent/ deep links 
  Save a click of a mouse when looking for library links for your Canvas reading lists. We have moved the permanent link option to the front so that you can copy it straight from the results list. Permanent links are great for reading lists as they ensure that students have access to relevant contents both on- and off-campus.
  

Please reach out if you have any questions about new Libsearch.

By Mette Bechmann

Most academic literature in the Western world is published in English – but in many cases researchers need to also look to literature in other languages. In-depth research for a comprehensive literature review is a case in point.
 

National union catalogues
National union catalogues (single points of access to multiple library holdings) such as the Danish Bibliotek.dk or the Swedish LIBRIS are great places to start the process of discovery. Simply google [union catalog [name of country]].
Another great resource is OCLC WorldCat, the “mother of library catalogues”. This database provides access to a worldwide joint catalogue of national and university library catalogues. Through WorldCat, you have access to the bibliographic records of most published academic contents.  
You may have heard us caution against over-reliance on Google Scholar, but for the purpose of identifying non-English-language contents, it is one of the best resources available. Learning how to focus your searches in Google Scholar, however, is essential.
 

Search Google scholar as a library database
Treating Google Scholar like any other bibliographic database is the best approach. Thus, the query ("fish bowl" OR "fish tank" OR aquarium) AND minnow* will prompt Google Scholar to look for all documents that use either of the suggested terminological variants to represent a glass-walled habitat for a single or multiple minnows. The advanced search feature is very helpful and may be accessed via the hamburger menu in the top left corner of the screen.

Get access via inter-library loans
We can procure most items not readily available from CBS Library either through the purchasing of hard or soft copies of the title or via our interlibrary loans teams. Send an e-mail or place your ILL request in Libsearch.

Please do not hesitate to reach out to your liaison librarian if you wish to talk about how best to approach your research process.

By Erik Sonne

If you are looking for details on boards, board directors, and senior managers from companies around the globe, BoardEx may be the place to go.

Find board members and more in BoardEx
BoardEx contains updated information on publicly listed and private companies and covers more than 1.4 million board-level managers and senior-level managers in 30.000+ companies. About 70% of the companies are publicly listed.

Historic data covers the years 1999 to present and coverage is split into four sub-databases based on regions:

• BoardEx – North America: 17.400 companies
• BoardEx – Europe: 5.900 companies
• BoardEx – United Kingdom: 5.100 companies
• Boardex – Rest of the World: 8.000 companies

Please note that companies are divided into regions based on the country where they are headquartered or by their inclusion in certain stock indices.
 

What kind of data is available?
BoardEx contains compensation, employment, and relationship data on company boards, board directors, and senior managers, and it provides such information as age, gender, educational background, prior employment, and networks of individuals.  
Please note that not all data is available for all companies. As an example, you will find compensation data primarily for North American and European companies.

How to access BoardEx
You have access to BoardEx via WRDS – Wharton Research Data Service, where you will also find more information on BoardEx.

Please reach out to Erik Sonne in case you have further questions.
 

By Liv Bjerge Laursen

This is the season for major student assignments and therefore it is also the time to make sure that students have access to all the relevant information that can help them be successful in their academic work.

Even though we are all working from home, we are still running a meaningful library service, and we are still open for referrals if you feel that your students could do with a bit of direction. 

On top of all the literature and data, we also provide access to a lot of online resources on topics such as:

• Research strategy
• APA 7th referencing style
• Academic integrity
• Project writing

And we host a whole suite of standalone courses on literature research, writing, and various study tools.

We stand ready to help
The library is still not open for drop-by questions but we are only an e-mail, chat, or a phone call away.
Students who need extra help can book a consultation with a librarian through the Book-a-Librarian service.  

We hope that CBS students feel that they can still get the same level and quality of help during this exam season as they are used to, and that you will point the way to us if you see students struggling with their data.

By Liv Bjerge Laursen

APA is the most popular reference style at CBS and we receive quite a lot of questions on the do´s and don´ts of referencing.
 

Changes in APA 7^th
Just over a year ago, APA was updated from the 6^th to the 7^th edition and some of the changes that were implemented might be relevant for your own work and for that of your students writing their assignments.

• For books, you no longer need to list the publication location.
• E-books should be cited exactly as print books. Do not include a database.
• If a journal article does not have a DOI, you can wrap up the citation after the page number. There is no longer a requirement to include the URL of the journal website.
• In-text citations with three or more authors should only include the name of the first author followed by et al. This is also the case the first time you use the source.
• List up to 20 authors for a source in the references list. This is up from eight in the 6^th edition. For works with more than 20 authors, list the first 19, insert an ellipsis, and go on to list the name of the last author.
• When referencing webpages, you are free to use a URL shortener like tinyurl or bit.ly, if you so wish.

If in doubt – use our guide
Check out our new APA 7^th guide at https://libguides.cbs.dk/APA7th (replaces the APA 6^th guide).
If you are interested in all APA changes and not only those that specifically pertain to referencing, you may find this blog post from APA worth your while.  

Questions about choice of style
When students reach out to us for help with their referencing, we always ask them to consult the guidelines of their study programme. Not all CBS programmes dictate a specific style, but nearly all the programmes that do, ask their student to use APA. This is why CBS Library always recommends APA when students ask for inputs, if their programmes and/or supervisors leave it up to them to decide.