Blog

Written by Liv Bjerge Laursen

If you are using both Mendeley and Scopus, you may have discovered that your Mendeley login details are also valid for Scopus (and vice versa). This integration makes data transfer between the two systems very easy, and with it, you will be able to link your Scopus profile with your Mendeley account and in this way funnel contents from your Scopus library into the My Publications folder in Mendeley automatically.

This is how to do it:

• Go to mendeley.com and open your Mendeley account
• Open Settings -> Scopus Profile and hit Connect.

Alternatively, open your author profile in Scopus and click this link:

Please note, if you come across any errors in your Scopus profile, you can rectify them via the Edit profile menu. This will trigger a request e-mail to the Scopus support team, who will in turn look into it.

Written by Mette Bechmann

Theory explained or empirical cases – sometimes a video can just do the job better than the written word. And there a plenty of videos to explore in CBS Library database.  

Find videos in Libsearch 
Type in a subject in Libsearch, the CBS Library discovery system, and select videos as item type. If you are using the Course Readings extension in Canvas, you can add a video by selecting Add Items -> Search Library Resources and drag and drop the video into your reading list. 

Go to Libsearch 

 Results from a whole range of sources 
Videos are mainly pulled from the database HSTalks - Business and Management Collection. HSTalks comprises more than 900 videos and cases from a wide suite of research areas, including strategy, management, finance, accounting, marketing, sales, and technology. Editors and speakers are recruited from among distinguished scholars and business personalities, from universities      business communities around the world. 

Written by Erik Sonne

With the launch of Domsdatabasen hosted by Danmarks Domstole, something that for many years seemed like a Fata Morgana has now, in 2022, finally come into being.

Who has access?
Access to Domsdatabasen is public and free, and the overall ambition is to make the judgments and rulings of all Danish courts of law available to professionals, media, academia, and ordinary citizens alike.

What will you find?
By default, the database contains post-launch rulings, but it also comprises historical contents, mainly from the past 20 years, and a few rulings dating back even further. For instance, all historical rulings by the Court of Impeachment of the Realm (Rigsretten) are available from the database. For a start, rulings from the higher courts, i.e. the Supreme Court, the High Courts and the Maritime and Commercial Court, have been made a priority. As of May 2022, close to 1500 judgments and rulings are available from the database – of these about half originate with the county courts.

Domsdatabasen comprises civil cases as well as selected criminal cases of particular public interest. Once they are fully digitized, other criminal cases will also be available from the database.

Rulings are pseudonymised in that names of people will be removed whereas names of legal representatives and court officials from higher courts will remain visible.

Not quite there yet
Far from all judgments and rulings are available via Domsdatabasen as of yet. This means that you still rely on classic tools for a full picture, including UfR - Ugeskrift for Retsvæsen - as well as legal journals and books.  

Check out the CBS Library guide to Danish legal resources

Fun fact
As suggested elsewhere, the implementation of Domsdatabasen proved to be an enormously protracted process. As early as the 1980s, voices were calling for the implementation of a national database of judgments and rulings. An interim result of these efforts was the transfer of administrative decisions, but not judgments, to the legal database Retsinformation. At the end of the 1990s, the Justice Department reached a decision in principle on the implementation of a national database of judgments and rulings. It took another 20 years for this decision to bear fruit.

If you want to explore this development in more detail, you will find an insightful and fun account by Professor Mads Bryde Andersen in his UfR paper Ugeskrift for Retsvæsen gennem 150 år (U.2017B.1)

Written by Liselotte Brandstrup

Perhaps you are a brand new PhD student or just new to academic writing in general. Or perhaps you are well established in academia but feel that your language skills could do with a bit of help.

Below you will find two tools that can help you improve your writing.

An academic writing confidence booster

The Academic Phrasebank can be a useful resource for academic writers. It provides examples of key phrases not only organized by the main sections of a scholarly paper (e.g., introducing work, referring to sources, describing methods, reporting results, discussing findings, and writing conclusions) but also broken down by the communicative functions they serve (e.g. being critical, describing trends, or giving examples).

Example: describing  trends

Example: being critical –> Identifying a weakness in a single study or paper

The purpose of the Academic Phrasebank is to assist academic writers in both thinking about content and organizing their writing. You still need to be creative, and a degree of adaptation will be required.

Fun fact: The Academic Phrasebank was designed for non-native English-speaking academic and scientific writers. However, recent data shows that a majority of the users are in fact native speakers, and they too find the Phrasebank helpful.

Visit the Academic Phrasebank

Find out more about the ideas behind the Academic Phrasebank.
 

Writefull for proofreading

Writefull is a useful tool for proofreading. Writefull can check an entire document, a individual paragraph or a selected chunk of writing. Suggested edits when in proofread mode include grammar, vocabulary, punctuation, spelling, and style. You can also opt for edits on word order and phrasing when in full edit mode.

Writefull also boasts a whole parade of widgets.One of them is a sentence palette, a browseable collection of academic sentences similar to what you will find in the Academic Phrasebank.

If you dive deeper, you need to create an account and add Writefull to your Word application.

In MS Word, simply click Insert, select Get add-ins, and search for Writefull.

Written by Mette Bechmann

The Course Collection comprises all books, both print and digital, on CBS reading lists. The print books are only available for use in the library, but your students can always check to see if we have an extra copy available for checkout.  

 We automatically receive reading lists submitted to the CBS bookstore. If you would like supplementary literature to be made available from the course collection, just let us know and we will make that happen too.  

 If you are using the Course Readings extension in Canvas, please submit the list to the library by clicking Library Review. We will then check your list for any print books that need to be redirected to the Course Collection.   

 Please contact Nikolaj Kjær Jensen to submit a request.  
Questions on Course Readings in Canvas? Please reach out to your liaison librarian.
  
Please include information about the study programme as well as the semester that the item is needed for. 

By Liselotte Brandstrup

Over the course of the CBS Library centenary, we will be looking back on the 100 years that have lapsed since the foundation of the library.
We have now reached the 1950s where we will be zooming in on early collections, library costs, and old teaching materials.

Find out more about CBS Library in the 1950s

Stop by the library in Solbjerg Plads to check out the display of literary classics from CBS core fields. If you have any suggestions for other must-read titles, please let us know!

Check out the CBS Library anniversary event schedule