Blog

Written by Liv Bjerge Laursen

Just as CBS registers all research publications and publish them as open access whenever possible, the same is true for other Danish research organizations. All of this data is harvested by and made available through NORA, the National Open Research Analytics. So for anybody who wants to explore the combined Danish research footprint, NORA is the place to go. 

NORA, which replaces the Danish National Research Database, is still a work in progress but it is mature enough to be used to search across all registered Danish research publications or across publications indexed in Scopus (from Elsevier), Web of Science (from Clarivate), and other such databases.   

To get started with NORA, you need to select a point of entry: 

• Local System Data 
• Elsevier Data 
• Clarivate Data 
• Digital Science Data 

The Local System Data option allows you to search across data originating with all or selected Danish research organizations, including universities, governmental organizations, foundations, and private companies. Among these are 

• VIVE: The Danish Center for Social Science Research
• NFA: The National Research Centre for the Working Environment 
• Ramboll, Carlsberg, and Rockwoll foundations 
• Topsoe, COWI, and Ørsted 

To look up research outputs from a specific organization, select General Filters -> Danish Affiliations. 
 

Written by Lotte Risbæk Thomsen & Joshua Kragh Bruhn

This is just a quick reminder that iThenticate is once again part of the CBS Library service portfolio.

So, if you are planning to submit a manuscript for publication and want to make sure that your referencing regime is up to par beforehand, then you can now do so by sending the manuscript to us.

A dedicated team will undertake the screening process itself and share the ensuing report with you once it is ready, under normal circumstances within two days. This will allow you to make the relevant adaptations before submission to a publisher. The screening team will of course be at hand to help decipher reports, if necessary.

To comply with GDPR requirements, please remove author names, organizational affiliations, and other personal identifiers from the manuscript before submitting it for screening.

If you would like to know more, please join us on Tuesday March 21 at 13:00 for a brief introduction. You can sign up right here.

Written by Erik Sonne

If you are looking for information about Danish companies, CBS Library offers a wide range of databases that can help. Some of the most important databases include:

Orbis: This database provides information on over 400 million companies worldwide, including all registered Danish companies. This is a great choice if you are looking to compare companies across countries. Orbis data goes back at least 5 years and includes information on company ownership.

Navne & Numre Erhverv: This database offers information on all Danish companies, including accounting figures and ratios going back at least 5 years. It also provides full-text access to annual reports from the last 5 years and includes information on members of management teams and boards.

Infomedia and other news databases: If you are looking for news about specific companies, these databases are great resources.

Other resources
In addition to the databases provided by CBS Library, you can also find company information on the Internet. The CVR register, managed by

the Danish Business Authority, is a key resource, as it requires all registered companies to file annual reports and accounts. These reports go back almost 30 years, and they are available online and free of charge. 

Older accounts are available upon request and for a fee. Data is available for individual companies, but you can also extract larger volumes of data. Check out Indgange til CVR for more details on how to extract data.

Finally, if you are interested in aggregated data about the Danish business community, check out StatBank Denmark from Statistics Denmark. While you cannot access data at the individual company level, you can find data on industry level and other aggregated information. Select Business as Subject to find data about the Danish business community.

Written by Mette Bechmann  

During this time of year, CBS Library is bustling with hard-working students who have managed to find the platform to book a study seat. Not all of our services are as visible, however, and many of the services on offer from CBS Library, which have all been tailored to support students throughout their academic journey, may need a bit of help.

If you are supervising students, especially those embarking on the final leg of their CBS journey, we would appreciate it if you could share some of the below services with them:

• Library courses (online and on-campus) that cover a wide suite of topics, including how to navigate scholarly literature, referencing, APA style, and qualitative data analysis. Check out the library Course Calendar for more information.
• Carefully curated guides on topics such as Bloomberg, navigating the scholarly literature, ESG data, and many more. You will our guides right here.
• Online lectures and resources that can help students improve their academic writing. Please check out our Improve Your Writing section on my.cbs.dk.

Last, but certainly not least, please refer any students who struggle to find relevant papers for their literature review to stop by the library and see a member of staff.
In most cases, we will be able to help right away, in other cases students are asked to book a meeting under our Book-a-Librarian scheme.

Written by Liselotte Brandstrup

Keeping up with the news just got a little bit easier with PressReader´s recent release of their brand new translation service that allows you to translate newspaper contents into any language of your choice. 

PressReader is a hub of online newspapers, magazines, and journals from around the world, including the Washington Post, the Guardian, El Pais, Le Figaro, Newsweek, Vogue, and Bloomberg Businessweek. Use PressReader to stay abreast of current events with your favorite peddlers of news or discover new ones. You have access to full issues the moment they hit the newsstands.

You can download complete issues and toggle between the original print version (page view) and a mobile-friendly version (text view).

One-touch, multilingual translations

If you wish to keep up with the news in languages that you do not read and understand, PressReader is on the case. As an international researcher at CBS, it might be relevant to read Børsen, a business daily, without having to go through the trouble of learning Danish, and with PressReader this is very much on.

To activate the PressReader translation service, you need to follow a few steps:

• Look up Børsen in PressReader and select the issue you need.
• Click Read now
• Right-click the title/headline you are interested in and select translate
• Select a target language
• A popup will appear with the translation (NB. you should not expect a 100 % grammatically correct translation)
   

Try out PressReader now

Find out more about PressReader

Feel free to reach out to your liaison librarian, if you have any questions about PressReader.