Blog

By Thomas Basbøll & Liv Bjerge Laursen

Copenhagen Business School now provides access to Overleaf Professional for all students, faculty, and staff who would like to use a collaborative, online LaTeX editor for their projects.

Overleaf is a collaborative, online LaTeX editor designed to make the process of writing, editing, and publishing scientific documents seamless and efficient. It provides a user-friendly interface that allows multiple users to work on a document simultaneously, making it ideal for collaborative projects.

Overleaf integrates with reference management tools like Mendeley and Zotero and supports direct submission to many academic journals and repositories. With real-time preview, users can see the compiled document as they write, ensuring that formatting and layout issues are addressed immediately.

Overleaf is widely used by researchers, students, and professionals for creating technical and scientific documents, theses, dissertations, and academic papers.

Claim your Overleaf Professional upgrade by signing up (or signing in) below.

Already have an account?
We know that many of you already have an Overleaf account. To get started with the CBS institutional account, you will need to link your existing account to your Copenhagen Business School single sign-on. If you have been paying for your own Professional account, this will no longer be necessary.

Go to Overleaf here

If you are new to Overleaf:

Take a look at the Quick Start Guide and the FAQ on the website.

By Liselotte Brandstrup & Lotte Risbæk Thomsen

As you are probably aware, you can access content from The Economist both on campus and from home via VPN.

But you can also read articles and listen to podcasts on your phone. Stay on top, get new articles directly on your phone by downloading The Economist app.

How can I download the app?

• Scan the QR code below and install the app on your phone.
  
  
   
• Click Log in in the top-right corner
• Select the SSO – button, provide your CBS e-mail address, and search for CBS or Copenhagen Business School.
• Follow the usual CBS log-in procedure.

You can sign up for various newsletters or proceed to content directly by clicking “Continue” upon logging in. You have full access to all content via the navigation menu at the bottom of your screen. Explore the latest edition and browse past editions in the “Weekly” section. You can also find and listen to podcasts on the go. 
 

Manage your time and listen hands-free

We do not always have the time to read everything we want to. The Economist app helps you plan, because it shows you how long it takes to read each article. Another perk is that you can listen to articles while doing other things.

If you have any questions about the app, please reach out to Lotte Risbæk Thomsen.

Right now, I want to go to The Economist

by Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen

You are about to publish your next journal article, and you want to know if the journal is part of a national Open Access agreement which means you can publish as Open Access without paying the usual fee. But where do you find this information? Introducing Journal Finder. Journal Finder is a new database of all journals included in the national Open Access agreements.

As you may know, CBS is part of the national licensing consortium that has negotiated a number of so-called ‘Transformative Open Access Agreements’. These agreements mean that researchers affiliated with a Danish university can publish their article as Open Access without having to pay the usual Open Access fee.

To help determine whether a specific journal is part of the agreements, the Journal Finder database has just been released. In the database, you can look up journals covered by the agreements and find information about the agreement for each journal.

When using the database, you can use filters to qualify your search. As a CBS researcher you can filter by 'Copenhagen Business School' to find out with which journals CBS has agreements.

If you are unsure about what applies to individual journals, you are of course still welcome to contact the CBS Library. Write to oa@cbs.dk if you have questions about Open Access and the licensing agreements.

More about Journal Finder:

Journal Finder is developed by the Danish company ChronosHub. Journal Finder uses data from Open policy finder, OpenAlex, and DOAJ, as well as the publishers with whom agreements have been made. Data in Journal Finder is continuously updated and maintained. The information found in the Journal Finder must be considered indicative, and reservations are made for errors and changes. (https://pro.kb.dk/en/open-science/journal-finder)

Find Journal Finder

By Mette Bechmann

Every year, Euromonitor International identifies emerging and fast-moving trends that are expected to gain traction in the year ahead and publish their findings in an annual report. This report provides an overview of the trends, with supporting data, expected to have the biggest impact in 2025 as well as their implications for businesses. These trends provide insight into changing consumer values, exploring how consumer behavior is shifting and causing disruption for businesses globally. 

The trends in focus for this year's report are: 

1. Healthspan Plans: Consumers are focusing on longevity, driving demand for preventative and specialized health solutions.  

2. Wiser Wallets: Economic challenges have led to more strategic spending habits. Despite rising costs, 50% of consumers are willing to spend money to save time, emphasizing the importance of quality, convenience, and added value. 

3. Eco Logical: Sustainable consumption is becoming more pragmatic. Retail sales of sustainable products have been trending upwards since 2020. 

4. Filtered Focus: Consumers seek straightforward communication and intuitive discovery. 35% of consumers reported that easier site navigation would improve their online shopping experience. 

5. AI Ambivalent: Consumers recognize both the limitations and potential of AI. Approximately 25% of consumers identified relevant product recommendations as the top advantage of generative AI in their shopping process. 

Methodology 

Euromonitors annual global consumer trends are identified through: 

• A network of analysts who leverage broad, international coverage in 100 countries to identify trends, and all data is global unless otherwise stated. 
• Proprietary research, trade interviews, surveys, and input from industry experts. 
•  

For a deep-dive into the trends, read the full report in the Passport database - search for “Top Global Consumer Trends 2025” 

by Liv Bjerge Laursen

The first 2025 call for applications for resources on the national HPC (High-Performance Computing) facilities is now open.

• You can apply for computing and storage resources on various types of HPC systems. This application call (H2-2025) covers resources available from 1. July 2025.
  A standard project window is 12 to 24 months
• Deadline: 11. March 2025 
• Applications are reviewed by an ‘E-resource committee’, which includes two CBS professors.

On the DeiC Apply for HPC resources page you will find the ‘E-resource Application Form’ as well as a ‘Guide’ on how to fill it in.
 

Need help with the application?
Please contact Kristoffer Gulmark Poulsen, HPC administrator and data scientist with CBS Library, as soon as possible if you are considering an application for some of these resources. He will go over the application details with you, including the different kinds of resources available and how much you need to apply for.

Easy access to resources
We have learned from previous application calls for national HPC resources, that only very few applications are submitted to the DeiC E-resource committee from the social sciences and humanities researchers, whereas applications from STEM researchers abound. So, if your application passes the peer review, there are not many competitors left!
 

No time to wait?
CBS has a substantial pool of ‘local’ HPC resources (computing and storage) for immediate access.

The easiest-to-use and most accessible HPC service is DeiC Interactive HPC, also known as UCloud​. It allows you to work with applications such as MATLAB, STATA, RStudio, and JupyterLab through a graphical user interface, in the same way that you would on your laptop.

If you need HPC resources right away and cannot wait for the bi-annual national application call, please contact HPC administrator Kristoffer Gulmark Poulsen or the CBS Research Data Management Support.

You will find more details about the national HPC facilities on CBSshare.