Blog

By Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen

The Danish Agency for Higher Education and Science has released the results of this year’s Open Access Indicator, and the outcome is very positive for CBS. A full 74% of CBS publications are now available as Open Access, up from 67% last year. This places CBS ahead of both Aalborg University and Aarhus University. 

The heavy increase is mainly due to national license agreements that allow CBS researchers to publish Open Access without additional costs. These agreements have been crucial in reducing the share of blocked publications and in ensuring wider accessibility to CBS research. 

At the same time, CBS has the lowest share of unused publications among Danish universities – only 5%. This is a clear sign that CBS has managed to utilize our Open Access potential to its fullest. 

About Open Access 
Publishing as Open Access increases the visibility and accessibility to research, ensuring that knowledge can be freely shared and built upon. Moreover, by choosing Open Access, researchers meet the requirements set by many funding bodies that mandate open dissemination of publicly funded research. 

For more info:
Read about The Danish Open Access Indicator 

CBS Library has also published a Libguide on Open Access. 

You are always welcome to write to us at oa@cbs.dk if you have questions about Open Access.  

By  Lene Janussen Gry and Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen 

The national Open Access agreement with Wiley covers up to 1,110 articles per year across all participating research institutions. This cap is projected to be reached by mid‑October 2025. After that point, the agreement can no longer be used for new publications. The current Wiley contract ends in December 2025, but a new one is underway, so you should be able to publish under the renewed terms from January ’26. 

Stay updated via the Wiley agreement page
We will make sure to post a notice when the cap is reached. 

Please also note: Similar caps exist for Springer, Taylor & Francis, and Cambridge University Press. At present, however, those caps are not even close to being reached. Updates will be posted in the main Open Access Libguide.

For questions, Please reach out to oa@cbs.dk

By Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen & Lene Janussen Gry 

If your research is funded through the EU, you must stay on top of any Open Access requirements for your research publications. Horizon Europe, the EU’s most recent framework programme for research and innovation, places an even stronger emphasis on Open Science, and the Open Access requirements are more extensive compared to the previous Horizon 2020 programme.

According to the Horizon Europe General Grant Agreement, you must ensure that peer-reviewed scientific publications are made freely available immediately upon publication via a trusted repository. You must deposit either the published version or the final peer-reviewed manuscript, and the licence must be CC BY or an equivalent granting the same rights. For monographs and other long-form publications, more restrictive licences such as CC BY-NC or CC BY-ND may be used, allowing you to limit commercial use or derivative works.

Furthermore, the metadata for deposited publications must be open and follow the FAIR principles. This includes information such as author, title, publication date, project details, and funding information.

Non-compliance can have financial consequences, including potential reductions in your grant.

CBS Library is here to support you with any questions you may have about Open Access and funder requirements – including how to locate, interpret, and comply with them properly.

For more information, visit Open Aire’s site on How to comply with Horizon Europe mandate 

for publications, or contact us directly for assistance (oa@cbs.dk).

By Lotte Risbæk Thomsen and Liselotte Brandstrup

If you are a frequent user of Science Direct or Scopus, you will be pleased to know that a new national four-year license agreement with Elsevier for the years 2025-2028 has now been finalized after lengthy negotiations.

For CBS, this means continued access to the Elsevier databases ScienceDirect and Scopus.

If you, as a researcher, have ever published Open Access, you may have had to pay for it. The new agreement with Elsevier includes an Open Access clause, that entails that you can publish your articles as Open Access in Elsevier subscription journals (the so-called 'hybrid' journals) at no cost.

If you want to publish your article as Open Access free of charge, you still need to fulfil the following requirements:

• You, a CBS researcher, are the corresponding author (or the corresponding author is affiliated with one of the other consortium members)
• The manuscript is accepted for publication during the period covered by the agreement
• The journal you wish to publish in is part of the agreement

Another important feature of the Elsevier agreement is that it comes without the so-called 'cap', which is incorporated in many of the other Open Access agreements with publishers. This means that the Elsevier agreement entails no limitations on the number of articles that can be published as Open Access at no cost in a year.

With the new agreement, Elsevier is launching a pilot project focusing on CO2 emissions. Elsevier commits to providing data on energy consumption and CO2 emissions related to the use of databases, which is interesting in relation to CBS's increased focus on green transition and national climate goals.

Elsevier writes: “Denmark's climate targets are a reduction of 70% in GHG emissions by 2030 and attainment of net neutrality by 2040… Elsevier agrees to enter into a pilot to explore how to allocate and report specifically on digital emissions derived from the Consortium's activities, including energy consumption leading to GHG discharges in accordance with GHG-P scope 3.11, pertaining specifically to data center usage and web-based software applications."

If you have questions about the Elsevier agreement reach out to Lotte Risbæk Thomsen, if it is about Open Acces publishing write to oa@cbs.dk

 

by Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen

You are about to publish your next journal article, and you want to know if the journal is part of a national Open Access agreement which means you can publish as Open Access without paying the usual fee. But where do you find this information? Introducing Journal Finder. Journal Finder is a new database of all journals included in the national Open Access agreements.

As you may know, CBS is part of the national licensing consortium that has negotiated a number of so-called ‘Transformative Open Access Agreements’. These agreements mean that researchers affiliated with a Danish university can publish their article as Open Access without having to pay the usual Open Access fee.

To help determine whether a specific journal is part of the agreements, the Journal Finder database has just been released. In the database, you can look up journals covered by the agreements and find information about the agreement for each journal.

When using the database, you can use filters to qualify your search. As a CBS researcher you can filter by 'Copenhagen Business School' to find out with which journals CBS has agreements.

If you are unsure about what applies to individual journals, you are of course still welcome to contact the CBS Library. Write to oa@cbs.dk if you have questions about Open Access and the licensing agreements.

More about Journal Finder:

Journal Finder is developed by the Danish company ChronosHub. Journal Finder uses data from Open policy finder, OpenAlex, and DOAJ, as well as the publishers with whom agreements have been made. Data in Journal Finder is continuously updated and maintained. The information found in the Journal Finder must be considered indicative, and reservations are made for errors and changes. (https://pro.kb.dk/en/open-science/journal-finder)

Find Journal Finder

Written by Lene Janussen Gry og Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen

For the third year in a row, the Danish Open Access Network is proud to invite everyone to the Danish Open Access Week 2024.

Below you can see the programme and sign up for the individual webinars.

Danish Open Access Week 2024 programme:

• Monday – October 21
  13:00-14:00 (CEST): A Basic Introduction to Open Access
  Katarina Smitt Engberg, Royal Danish Library/Copenhagen University Library
• Tuesday – October 22
  10:00-12:00: Open Licenses for data, code and software
  Agnes Jasinska, Research Data Specialist, Digital Curation Centre (DCC), University of Edinburgh
  
  13:00-14:00: Predatory publishing 2.0: Spotting the redflags and staying protected
  Lorna Wildgaard, Research Consultant, Royal Danish Library/Copenhagen University Library
• Wednesday – October 23
  13:00-14:00: Green Open Access and FAIR data in relief: challenges and possibilities
  Benjamin Derksen, Information Specialist, Royal Danish Library/Copenhagen University Library
  Pernille Nailor, Information Specialist, Royal Danish Library/Roskilde University Library
• Thursday – October 24
  12:30-13:30: Open Educational Resources
  Jeannette Ekstrøm, Senior Information Officer, DTU Library
• Friday – October 25
  13:00-14:00: Open Access Requirements in Horizon Europe and How to Ensure Compliance
  Rasmus Rindom Riise, Special Advisor, Royal Danish Library/Copenhagen University Library

Written by Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen

In the upcoming editions of the CBS Library newsletter, we will be featuring a series of articles that explore different aspects of Open Access, including Open Access agreements with publishers, predatory publishing (and how to avoid it), Creative Commons licensing, and much more.

First up is a general introduction:

Open Access means free access to research publications as opposed to the traditional subscription model in which readers can access scholarly information by paying a subscription fee.
Open Access means:

1. Increased Visibility and Impact: Open Access publications are available to a global audience, which can lead to higher visibility and citation rates.
2. Accelerated Discovery: By removing paywalls, Open Access accelerates the dissemination of knowledge. Researchers can build on each other’s works more efficiently, leading to faster scientific advancements and innovation.
3. Public Access: Many research projects are funded by public money. Open access ensures that the public has access to the research results that they have funded, promoting transparency and accountability.

CBS and Open Access

At CBS, we support the Open Access movement, and we are committed to making research articles from CBS available as Open Access. CBS has an Open Access policy that aligns with the broader goals of the Open Access movement, promoting transparency and wider dissemination of knowledge.

We can help you!

CBS Library is dedicated to helping CBS researchers meet the requirements of the Open Access funders. We stand ready to answer any question you may have about Open Access agreements with publishers and open licenses.

Stay tuned for more articles in the CBS Library Newsletter about: the benefits of Open Access, predatory journals (and how to avoid them), Open Access agreements with publishers, and more.

If you have questions or comments about Open Access, please contact us at mailto:oa@cbs.dk

For more information, check out Open Access guide

Written By Claus Rosenkranz Hansen

In week 43, the Danish Network for Open Access will be hosting 10 free webinars on Open Access – sign up via link below.

Article Processing Charges (APC), preprint servers, Creative Commons licenses, and predatory publishing. This is just a small fraction of the new terminology that has accompanied developments in Open Access, and both researchers and students risk getting lost in the lingo.

For that reason, the Danish Network for Open Access has decided to contribute to the 2022 International Open Access Week with 10 one-hour webinars that can help shed light on and demystify Open Access.  

The webinars will discuss Open Access in the context of datasets, books, Creative Commons licensing, and preprints, and whether you are new to research or a seasoned scholar, you will find out how to make your research open and available and comply with Open Access requirements from funders.

The webinars will take place on October 24 – 28 and registration is free.

Topics covered are:

• A Basic Introduction to Open Access 
• Plan S and cOAlition S: policies and tools for full and immediate Open Access 
• How to open your data responsibly 
• Rights Retention Strategy 
• What’s open about Open Science Platforms for university-industry collaboration? The case of ODIN 
• Open Access and Creative Commons 
• Putting researchers in control: Preprints as a versatile tool for open science 
• DOAJ: What is it – why are we important? 
• Open access in practice
• ”Scholarly monographs should also be Open Access, shouldn’t they?” – Guidelines and tools to making books Open Access

Check out the Danish Open Access Week 2022 programme and register right here her

About the Danish Network for Open Access

The Danish Network for Open Access is made up of professionals from Danish educational institutions who work with research dissemination as well as operational and developmental issues pertaining to Open Access. The Danish Network for Open Access operates independently of stakeholder organizations and projects/funding.

Contact: Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen, crh.lib@cbs.dk

By Karina Gregersen & Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen

Wiley has entered into a consortium agreement with Danish research institutions that allows CBS researchers to publish their research as Open Access in any of Wiley’s hybrid journals (subscription-based journals that offer an Open Access option) for free.
The agreement came into force on 1 January 2022 and is valid until 31 December 2025.

If you choose to publish Open Access for free with Wiley, your article will be published under the Creative Commons license CC-BY.

To publish Open Access for free, the following conditions need to be satisfied:

• The article is accepted on 1 January 2022 or later.
• The article is primary research or a review article.
• The corresponding author is affiliated to Copenhagen Business School.
• The journal must be part of the agreement.

Please note, that the Wiley agreement, as opposed to the Elsevier agreement, stipulates a national limit to the annual number of published Open Access articles.

What do I do as a researcher?
Check out Wiley´s step-by-step guide for information about how to publish Open Access in a Wiley hybrid journal.

If you do not opt for Open Access initially, your article will be published under the traditional, closed-access model.

Which journals are part of the agreement?
The agreement includes all of Wiley’s hybrid journals.
You can find a list of eligible journals right here.

Some of Wiley’s subscription-based journals and Open Access journals (journals that are not subscription-based and where all articles are published as Open Access) are not part of the agreement. If you publish in one of Wiley’s Open Access journals, you will need to pay an Article Processing Charge (APC).

You can find a list of Wiley Open Access journals right here.

If you have any questions, please contact Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen or Karina Gregersen at oa@cbs.dk.