|
Written by Søren Madsen and Erik Sonne
Working with ESG Data? Now you have a number of ways to find it quickly and easily. One option is to visit two databases from MSCI, both with global coverage and full-range content:
An online research platform for evaluating ESG data, contents and analyses at company, industry, and thematic report levels. Contains current MSCI ESG score for 8.000 companies as well as background reports on companies, Issuer Summary, ESG Ratings Tear sheet (short summary), ESG Ratings Report (full report), Industry Report, and thematic reports on trends and current issues in ESG.
Important when working with ESG Data
ESG data from other providers via CBS Library
Bloomberg, Eikon/Datastream, and Morningstar are only available from the CBS Library Data Lab.
Check of the CBS Library guide to ESG data for more information
Coming up: ESG Data Days 2023 We are planning a new round of ESG sessions (ESG Data Days) by database vendors in October. More information will follow shortly. In the meantime, you can check out the presentations from 2021 and presentations from 2022
For more information about ESG databases, please reach out to Søren Madsen or Erik Sonne
|
Liselotte Brandstrup
Liselotte Brandstrup
Written by Erik Sonne
If you are looking for information about Danish companies, CBS Library offers a wide range of databases that can help. Some of the most important databases include:
Orbis: This database provides information on over 400 million companies worldwide, including all registered Danish companies. This is a great choice if you are looking to compare companies across countries. Orbis data goes back at least 5 years and includes information on company ownership.
Navne & Numre Erhverv: This database offers information on all Danish companies, including accounting figures and ratios going back at least 5 years. It also provides full-text access to annual reports from the last 5 years and includes information on members of management teams and boards.
Infomedia and other news databases: If you are looking for news about specific companies, these databases are great resources.
Other resources
In addition to the databases provided by CBS Library, you can also find company information on the Internet. The CVR register, managed by
the Danish Business Authority, is a key resource, as it requires all registered companies to file annual reports and accounts. These reports go back almost 30 years, and they are available online and free of charge.
Older accounts are available upon request and for a fee. Data is available for individual companies, but you can also extract larger volumes of data. Check out Indgange til CVR for more details on how to extract data.
Finally, if you are interested in aggregated data about the Danish business community, check out StatBank Denmark from Statistics Denmark. While you cannot access data at the individual company level, you can find data on industry level and other aggregated information. Select Business as Subject to find data about the Danish business community.
Written by Erik Sonne
In your research, are you investigating links between companies, or groups of companies, and patents? If that is the case, we may just have the database for you: ORBIS Intellectual Property or ORBIS IP.
Over the years, patents, as part of the intangible assets of companies, have become increasingly important for the value creation and competitiveness of the companies themselves. Many countries have gradually started to publish their patent collections via available online databases, which means that patents can be identified by searching national databases or Espacenet, a shared interface that comprises more than 130 million patents from around the world (more than 100 countries).
Linking patent data to companies
It has always been quite a challenge to link patents with company information due to the content description in and the structure of patent documents. With ORBIS IP, this challenge has been overcome, as it links global patent data to companies and corporate groups.
ORBIS IP content includes:
- More than 115 million patents linked to information about millions of companies, which will allow you to see patent portfolios for a company and its corporate group
- Ownership timelines for all patents. In this way you can ascertain the number of transactions for a given patent.
- Patent and portfolio valuations for all granted live patents
- M&A information that can help you monitor patents that have been sold as intangible assets in M&A deals
Search tips
In ORBIS IP you can search for patents and companies by using hundreds of search criteria including date range, company location, ownership structure, industry, and patent classification codes. You can identify and analyze peer groups, create league tables, and visualize data.
The ORBIS IP interface is very user-friendly, and if you are already used to working with the company database ORBIS, it will look remarkably familiar.
Check out our guide to patents and research for more information on how to search for patents and for a brief introduction to ORBIS IP.
Written by Birgit Brejnebøl
The Thomson One database (formerly Thomson One Banker) ceases to exist as of January, 2022.
Thomson One has for many years been a valuable resource of company and financial information. Especially the Research (or Investext) Reports have been of great value to CBS researchers.
New database
Acknowledging the significance of the investment reports to CBS researchers, CBS Library has secured access to the database S&P Capital IQ. From S&P Capital IQ you will be able to access the same reports as in Thomson One plus a whole range of other useful information.
We are working hard to make sure that S&P Capital IQ will be up and running by January 1, 2022 to avoid any information voids.
If you have any questions, please contact Birgit Brejnebøl.
CBS Library provides access to and supports a number of financial and company databases. CBS staff and students enjoy remote access to most of the databases. However, some are only available from the CBS Library Data Lab, which is located on the 1st floor in the library at Solbjerg Plads.
Below you will find a brief presentation of the databases available from the CBS Library Data Lab:
Bloomberg:
The Bloomberg terminal is an integrated platform that provides access to price quotes, financial market and trade data, news, and much more. CBS Library provides access to seven Bloomberg terminals.
More information on Bloomberg
3 out of 7 Bloomberg terminals can be booked
CD-Direct:
CD-Direct contains key information about all Danish VAT-registered companies. Look up known companies or search for company segments using industry classification codes. The database allows for export of customized lists of data, e.g. addresses, phone numbers, key figures, number of employees etc.
For more information check out CD-Direct Quick Guide
Access: stand-alone PC in the CBS Library Data Lab available on a first-come, first-served basis.
Datastream:
Datastream offers information on equities, indices, bonds, futures, options, commodities, interest rates, exchange rates, as well as macro-economic data.
Access: CBS Library Data Lab, LRC – Learning Resource Center, and CBS computer labs
GallupPC
The GallupPC license covers access to the modules Marketing, including Business-to Business, and Gallup Kompass, including segmentation data. GallupPC statistics cover Denmark and comprise data on readership, recreational activities, personal care, attitudes, consumption, environment, travelling, transportation, sports, and culture.
Access: stand-alone PC in the CBS Library Data Lab. Booking is possible.
ORBIS and AMADEUS – historical company data
The online version of ORBIS is a database comprising financial data of more than 100 million private and public companies worldwide. Availability of private company financial information depends on the country in which the company is located.
The online version is dynamic and offers access to data from the past 5 years only (10 years for public and large companies).
ORBIS – historic: offers access to information on companies worldwide from 2000 – present.
AMADEUS – historic: Offers access to information on European companies from 1995 – present.
ORBIS historic and AMADEUS historic are only available from CBS Library Data Lab or by sending an e-mail to Erik Sonne, es.lib@cbs.dk
For more information please contact Søren Madsen, sm.lib@cbs.dk or Erik Sonne, es.lib@cbs.dk
New guide to company information
-The guide is in Danish.
We recently updated and reorganized the CBS Library guide to international and Danish company information. The guide helps you identify relevant databases for searching company reports, IPOs, market shares, rankings, direct investments, etc.
The purpose of the guide is to accentuate different elements of company information and point out the most relevant databases and other information resources. The main focus is on the databases provided by CBS Library but also relevant online resources are included.
In addition to using the guide for your own research, you may also want to point it out to your students.
You will find the guide on http://libguides.cbs.dk/virksomhedsinformation.
Find The complete catalogue of CBS Library guides (NB. most are in Danish only).
Your liaison librarian is happy to help if you have any questions.
Finding historical company data can be a daunting task. Thanks to just a few databases available from CBS Library this task, however, is made a lot easier.
Before embarking on a hunt for financial data it may be advantageous to understand the available options and the exact preconditions for finding the relevant data:
- Historical accounts: generally speaking you can expect to find financial data dating back 5 years from the current year in the company databases, i.e. they are updated dynamically. Historical accounts, thus, are to be understood as data older than 5 years, looking back from the current year.
- Company types: listed vs. non-listed companies. Finding historical data and annual reports from listed companies in financial databases such as Thomson One banker and Bloomberg is relatively easy.
- In the case of non-listed companies you need to distinguish Danish from non-Danish companies as databases such as Bisnode and Navne & Numre Erhverv maintain a 5-year archive of data as well as annual reports for Danish companies whereas financial data – but not annual reports – from more than 100 mill companies worldwide is available from Orbis.
Earlier data is available from other versions of the AMADEUS and ORBIS databases.
AMADEUS - company database with a European focus. CBS offers access to historical data about European companies from the mid-90s to present.
ORBIS - global company database. CBS offers access to historical data from around 2000 to present.
Historical data by ORBIS and AMADEUS are available to CBS researchers and students via a stand-alone PC.
Please contact Erik Sonne (es.lib@cbs.dk) or CBS Library (library@cbs.dk) for more details or to make a booking.
Find more detailed information about historical financial data in the library guide to company information (Danish only).
Source : https://www.isimarkets.com/our-products.html
Written by Liv Bjerge Laursen & Liselotte Brandstrup
If your research is concentrated on emerging markets, you probably already know that EMIS is an essential resource for emerging market information. The database was recently updated and now includes new modules and new analytics tools.
The focus of EMIS are the so-called new markets/emerging economies and the database comprises financial statements, company information, industry analyses, macroeconomic statistics, news, market-specific information, and much more within these markets.
AI has made a mark in all sectors of and has now also found its way into EMIS, where it promises to help you
The new modules Markets and Companies provide access to:
The new tools can help you to:
Create a user account to save your search results
You can register as a user in the top right corner of the screen. Use your CBS e-mail and a password of your own choice. In the left-hand menu you will find a dashboard with your saved searches and a folder of downloaded contents.
Try out EMIS Next