Skip to Main Content

Economic and Financial data (A guide on how to find and retrieve the data) (Financial Econometrics – cand.oecon): Financial data

NEW VERSION OF THIS LIBGUIDE

LOOK TO THIS NEW LIBGUIDE ON STATISTICS FOR AN UP-DATED VERSION:
STATISTICS: ECONOMIC AND FINANCIAL DATA

Internet resources - financial data

Federal Reserve Economic Data - FRED: download, graph and track more than 214.000 US and international time series from more than 60 sources (compiled by St. Louis Fed)

FDIC - Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (US): FDIC preserves and promotes public confidence in the U.S. financial system by insuring deposits in banks and thrift institutions for at least $250,000 

List of Stock Exchanges Worldwide - World-Stock-Exchanges.net features a list of world stock exchanges, securities commissions and other regulatory agencies, as well as stock market resources.
 

NASDAQ OMX Nordic (Copenhagen Stock Exchange). Share market, bonds, indices, options and futures in  Denmark, Sweden, Finland, Iceland, Latvia, Estonia, and Lithuania.
Also contains annual accounts, prospecti, quarterly reports etc. of approx. 580 Nordic and 100 Baltic companies. 

OECD Institutional Investors Service: This dataset presents financial and non-financial assets of institutional investors. Data are broken down by type of investor: open-end and closed-end investment funds, life and non-life insurance corporations, pension funds, and other forms of institutional savings

Yahoo Finance - Covers stock markets worldwide. Access to headline news, announcements, share price quotes, charting, financial data and ratios, analyst estimates and key statistics. Access to a number of historical data. 
Export data into Excel. 

Google Finance - Google Finance is a beta product from Google that aggregates publicly available financial data on companies.

Oanda Resources: provides internet-based forex trading (FX) and currency information services and metal prices. Oanda is a subscription service - but some data you can get for free if you register.

Quandl - is a platform for financial, economic, and alternative data as commodities, futures and bitcoins. Quandl sources data from over 500 publishers.
Access: Quandl has a vast collection of free and open data collected from a variety of organizations: central banks, governments, multinational organizations and more. You can use it without payment and with few restrictions. Some data on Quandl is premium and can only be accessed with a subscription. Subscriptions are a la carte: You can subscribe to the individual premium datasets you need and nothing more. Subscriptions can be canceled at any time. Look here for more information:  Getting Started  

TrueFX - delivers real prices from market making banks, delivered directly with no intermediary.
Data export: look here for more information on how to export / download data from TrueFX 

 

Guides to find more information on financial data

Accessing specialist financial databases - financial data

                                                                    

 DATABASES:    

  CONTENT       

 AVAILABLE
GUIDES & HELP
EXPORT FORMATS

Datastream

(Guide to Datastream)
                           

Datastream is a global financial and macroeconomic database with current and historical data covering key economic indicators, stocks, bonds, derivatives, commodities, currencies, trusts, etc. for 175 countries and 60 markets

Contents are organized in Data Categories:

  • Equities (prices, key financials (P/E, EPS etc.)
  • Equity indices (trade value, prices. turnover etc.)
  • Unit trusts
  • Investment trusts
  • Bonds & Convertibles
  • Bonds Indices & CDS
  • Economics (Macroeconomic time series from IMF, OECD, ECB, Eurostat, EIU, national statistical agencies etc.)
  • Exchange rates
  • Interest rates (Treasury Bonds, state bonds, etc.)
  • Commodities
  • Derivatives (Warrants, Futures, Options)
 


Time period:

  • equity data is from initial public offering (IPO) till now, updated daily
  • macro time series in the "Economics" section are monthly, quarterly and annual, with up to 60 years coverage

Access for CBS students
Only from computers in LRC (in the Library at Solbjerg Plads) and other CBS computer labs. First time users of Datastream needs to follow this procedure before they can access the data. (link to login procedure)

This procedure also installs an Excel plugin (Advance for Office). That is very useful when extracting large amounts of data (time series)
 

GUIDES & HELP
Look here for a short introduction to Datastream and description of the content.

Other tutorials/guides on Datastream:

Export formats:

  • transfer data to Excel
  • transfer charts to Excel, Word and PowerPoint
  • import data from the Excel add-in
  • print and copy charts, data, reports, and more

 

Bloomberg

(​Guide to Bloomberg)

 

 

The Bloomberg terminal is an integrated platform providing access to price quotes, financial market and trade data, news, and much more. Bloomberg covers all listed companies worldwide and contains information about more than 5 million bonds, stocks, commodities, currencies, and trusts as well as profiles of more than 1 million people.

  • Bonds (Corporate and Government)

  • Securities

  • Mutual Funds/Hedge Funds

  • Indices

  • Futures

  • Key Economic Indecators

  • Interest

Time period: 
Historic data 30-50 years backwards

Access for CBS Students:
No remote access.
Access to Bloomberg  terminals at LRC first floor - CBS Library at Solbjerg Plads
Look here on how to book

 GUIDES & HELP
Online help: Bloomberg gives you access to a lot of online help and assistance:

  • type "BU" at the Bloomberg terminal to see a list of videos and other online tutorials produced by Bloomberg staff

Export formats: 

Download data to Excel
Excel add-in

WRDS

(Guide to WRDS)

 

   

WRDS  - Wharton Research Data Services - is a web-based business data research service from the Wharton School at the Pennsylvania. WRDS provides access to financial, economic, and marketing data through a uniform web-based interface. Among the sources are: Compustat,CRSP, Option Metrics and TAQ, look here for more information on WRDS content


Time period: 
Depending on the dataset and data source you have access to plenty of historic and current data.                                                                                                                      

Access:
Only CBS Staff and CBS Master Students have access. And it requires that you register in order to get an account. Look here for more information.  

GUIDES & HELP 

Export format: 

You can choose to download your data to more formats:


 

 

 

ThomsonOneBanker

 

Access to company financials, stock prices, revenues, ownership and M&A data, stock exchange notifications, annual reports, news and events, "peer-analysis" etc. Thomsom ONE Banker is a good tool if you are looking for a company’s financial strengths and weaknesses. For Investext reports use the Research module.

More specifically, It contains the following modules:

  •     Company Views: Company Analysis module: provides company financials, filings and stock prices for over 80,000 quoted companies, from over 200 international exchanges.
     
  •     Market Views module:
    • News: Top News, Marketm overview, Significant developments
    • Deal Activity: M&A, Equity, Bonds, Loans
    • Corporate Events:
    • Corporate Governance: Shareholder Activism
    • Economics: Economic Indicators, Economic Events, Economic Calendar
    • Benchmark Bonds
       
  •    Screening & Analysis: Company, Deals & League Tables, Research, Filings, Individuals

 

Access:
Remote access for all CBS students
(N.B. THIS ONLY WORKS IN INTERNET EXPLORER)
 

GUIDES & HELP: 
 Thomson One: smal guide about the content  and how to use the database

Export formats:
export data in Excel and pdf

CBS Library, Solbjerg Plads 3, DK-2000 Frederiksberg, Denmark

Homepage | Addresses and Opening Hours | Contact