Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Economic and Financial data (A guide on how to find and retrieve the data) (Financial Econometrics – cand.oecon): Macroeconomics

NEW VERSION OF THIS LIBGUIDE

LOOK TO THIS NEW LIBGUIDE ON STATISTICS FOR AN UP-DATED VERSION:
STATISTICS: ECONOMIC AND FINANCIAL DATA

National and international statistical sources

Links to national and international statistic agencies. Here to find plenty of data and time series to export

International Statistical Agencies - a list of Statistical Officies from all over the world and international organizations compiled by U.S. Census Bureau

Producers and publishers of statistics - Links to the statistical agencies of different countries have been organised by continent. There are also links to the Internet pages of international organisations and communities.

International statistics by topics and providers - compiled by Danmarks Statistik (Statistics Denmark) - ONLY IN DANISH

 

Information resources with some macroeconomic data

The information resources mentioned below contain a lot of data on macroeconomics - but have only limited data export tools, when it comes to time series

EIU Country Reports
The monthly country reports cover all countries and contain information about political and economic conditions, industry sectors, foreign trade, and balance of payments.
NB! we only have access to the Country Module

Time period: country reports from 1996 - to this day
Export of data: only in html and pdf format


EMIS Professional 
Country, company, and industry information covering 80 emerging markets in Latin America, Central and Eastern Europe, Asia, Australia, Africa, and the Middle East. Information available in 15 languages:

  • Business news
  • Company information
  • Industry data
  • Macroeconomic statistics
  • Financial markets reports
  • Law
  • Investment reports

​Export formatsExcel


Statista 
Statistical, market and consumer behavior data as well as quantitative research and analyses dealing with media, business, finance, politics etc.Covers approximately 60,000 topics pulled from 18.000 sources and broken down into 21 categories. Sources include market reports, trade and scholarly journals, and much more.

Export formats:  Excel, PDF, Powerpoint (PPT), Graphic (PNG)

Guides & Tools

Macroeconomic databases and dataset

Macroeconomic databases and dataset

In this section you find descriptions and guides to some of the databases where you can find and export data and time series on macroeconomics

 

 

DATABASES CONTENT GUIDES & HELP
HOW TO EXPORT DATA
OECDiLibrary

Access to OECD fulltext journals, books, and reports as well as statistical data on economics, trade, agriculture, technology, energy, and environment

Besides OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) information from these institutions are included:

  • International Energy Agency (IEA)
  • Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA)
  • OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment)
  • International Transport Forum (ITF).

Use OECD.Stats for searching for data across the vast numbers of databases!  

Getting Started Quick Guide

Using OECD Statistical Databases and OECD.Stat

Video tutorial on OECD Stat

OECD Stat Web Browser User Guide

NB! Use OECD.Stats for searching for data across the vast numbers of databases!    


Export Formats:
in Excel, Text file (CSV), PC-axis and  SDMX(XML)   

 Datastream

Datastream is a global financial and macroeconomic database with current and historical data covering key economic indicators, stocks, bonds, derivatives, comodities, currencies, trusts, etc.for 175 countries and 60 markets.

Contents are organized in Data Categories:

  • Equities (prices, key financials (P/E, EPS etc.))
  • Equity indices (trade value, prices. turnover etc.)
  • Unit trusts
  • Investment trusts
  • Bonds & Convertibles
  • Bonds Indices & CDS
  • Economics (Macroeconomic time series from IMF, OECD, ECB, Eurostat, EIU, national statistical agencies etc.)
  • Exchange rates
  • Interest rates (Treasury Bonds, state bonds, etc.)
  • Commodities
  • Derivatives (Warrants, Futures, Options)

Look into this guide on more information and how to use Datastream

Access for CBS students only from computers in LRC (in the Library atSolbjerg Plads) and other CBS computer labs. First time users of Datastream needs to follow this procedure before they can access the data. (link to login procedure)

This procedure also installs an Excel plugin (Advance for Office). That is very useful when extracting large amounts of data (time series)

Look here for a short introduction to Datastream and description of the content.

Other tutorials/guides on Datastream:


Time period:

  • equity data is from initial public offering (IPO) till now, updated daily
  • macro time series in the "Economics" section are monthly, quarterly and annual, with up to 60 years coverage

 

Export formats:

  • transfer data to Excel
  • transfer charts to Excel, Word and PowerPoint
  • import data from the Excel add-in
  • print and copy charts, data, reports, and more
Eurostat

From the tab Statistics you gain access to the statbank (free access) that allows for both browsing, searching, and data export

Main access points include:

  • General and regional statistics
  • Economy and finance  
  • Industry, trade and services
  • Agriculture and fisheries
  • Transport
  • Environment and energy

The Publications section provides access to:

  • Eurostat Yearbook
  • Eurostat Regional Yearbook
  • Panorama of European Business
  • and more

You can use and export data from Eurostat for free, but as a registered user you have e.g. access to enhanced functionalities of the database

Guide to Eurostat
Statistics explained - guide to European Statistics
Information Videos
Intro to Eurostat Data, find and/or create your "own" table (Video tutorial)


Export formats:
Following formats: Excel, CSV (text), HTML, PC-AXIS, SPSS, TSV and PDF

Comext
​(published by Eurostat)

The ComExt Intra- and Extra-European trade database provides statistics on merchandise trade among European Union member states, and between member states and global partners. 

Data is classified according to the Combined Nomenclature (CN) system used by Eurostat. The CN is an eight-digit subdivision of the Harmonised System (HS), comprising four two-digit levels: HS2, HS4, HS6 and CN8. Trading partners are designated a three-digit or four-digit code.


Time period

  • Monthly ComExt data: 2000–2017
  • Annual ComExt data: 1988–2016

Export formats

World Bank Data

World Bank Open data

TCdata360

Databank (Word Bank):
Free and open access to data from more than 60 sub-databases about development in countries around the globe.


TCdata360 provides open data on trade and competitivenes. The site aggregates and visualizes data from multiple sources:

World Bank) Databank:
Webtutorial: brief presentation of the databank
FAQ on the Databank
Content overview of the databank


 

Export formats:

You can download the data to your computer by clicking on Download Options from the toolbar. Select the format for your report (Excel, CSV, TXT, or SDMX) and it will automatically be downloaded.

 

World Competitiveness Online

Custom Search

Annual report on the competitive strength of some 60 countries. The report summarises and examines the economic and political conditions that create and underpin company competitiveness.

Access to statistical country and regional indicators, as well as 5-year time series based on 312 criteria elucidating economic conditions, public sector efficiency, as well as corporate performance and infrastructure of the countries considered.

About the Methodology and Principles of the Analysis

Complete list of all the criteria in the analysis


Data export: 
Database allows to convert data into tables and charts and download it all into PDF, Excel and formats for SPSS, STATA and more

IMF
International Monetary Fund

Access to data from more than 30 sub-databases:

  • World Economic Outlook (WEO)
  • International Financial Statistics (IFS)
  • Primary Commodities Prices
  • and many, many other databases!

Selected online IMF Data Sources

Access to Manuals and Guides on IMF Data



Export formats:

in Excel, PDF, Image and more
(tilføj billede)

Campus Solution
(AllthatStats)

The database contains financial statistics, national accounts statistics, industry and sector statistics.

Data are pulled from:

  • World Bank
  • WTO – World Trade Organization
  • UNIDO
  • IMF
  • OECD
  • Eurostat
  • Comext (Intra and Extra-EU Trade Statistic
  • And more

AllThatStats Content Providers (Sources)

AllThatStats User Manual

AllThatStats Tutorials

AllThatStats Video Tutorials