Statistics: Economic, Financial, Industry and Market data (A guide on how to find and retrieve the data): Financial data

 DATABASES:    

  CONTENT       

 AVAILABLE
GUIDES & HELP
EXPORT FORMATS

Datastream

(Guide to Datastream)
                           

Datastream is a global financial and macroeconomic database with current and historical data covering key economic indicators, stocks, bonds, derivatives, commodities, currencies, trusts, etc. for 175 countries and 60 markets

Contents are organized in Data Categories:

• Equities (prices, key financials (P/E, EPS etc.)
• Equity indices (trade value, prices. turnover etc.)
• Unit trusts
• Investment trusts
• Bonds & Convertibles
• Bonds Indices & CDS
• Economics (Macroeconomic time series from IMF, OECD, ECB, Eurostat, EIU, national statistical agencies etc.)
• Exchange rates
• Interest rates (Treasury Bonds, state bonds, etc.)
• Commodities
• Derivatives (Warrants, Futures, Options)

Time period:

• equity data is from initial public offering (IPO) till now, updated daily
• macro time series in the "Economics" section are monthly, quarterly and annual, with up to 60 years coverage

Access for CBS students
only from computers in LRC (in the Library at Solbjerg Plads).

How to access: Datastream is now part the Eikon database. Look into this guide on how to access Datastream

Excel Add-in:
You also have access to Microsoft Office add-ins that enable you to access the Datastream database directly from within Excel
This is very useful when extracting large amounts of data (time series)

GUIDES & HELP

Look here for a short introduction to Datastream and description of the content.

Other tutorials/guides on Datastream:

• Datastream - Video Tutorials

Export formats:

• transfer data to Excel
• transfer charts to Excel, Word and PowerPoint
• import data from the Excel add-in
• print and copy charts, data, reports, and more

Bloomberg

(​Guide to Bloomberg)

The Bloomberg terminal is an integrated platform providing access to price quotes, financial market and trade data, news, and much more. Bloomberg covers all listed companies worldwide and contains information about more than 5 million bonds, stocks, commodities, currencies, and trusts as well as profiles of more than 1 million people.

• Bonds (Corporate and Government)

• Securities

• Mutual Funds/Hedge Funds

• Indices

• Futures

• Key Economic Indecators

• Interest

Time period: 
Historical data 30-50 years backwards

Access for CBS Students:
No remote access.
Access to Bloomberg  terminals at CBS Library Data Lab, LRC first floor - CBS Library at Solbjerg Plads
Look here on how to book

 GUIDES & HELP
Online help: Bloomberg gives you access to a lot of online help and assistance:

• type "BU" at the Bloomberg terminal to see a list of videos and other online tutorials produced by Bloomberg staff

• Bloomberg libguide
• How to: Bloomberg: this is a very useful guide from Cornell University Library

Export formats: 

Download data to Excel
Excel add-in

WRDS

(Guide to WRDS)

WRDS  - Wharton Research Data Services - is a web-based business data research service from the Wharton School at the Pennsylvania. WRDS provides access to financial, economic, and marketing data through an uniform web-based interface. Among the sources are: Compustat,CRSP, Option Metrics and TAQ, look here for more information on WRDS content

Time period: 
Depending on the dataset and data source you have access to plenty of historical and current data.                                                                                                                      

Access:
Only CBS Staff and CBS Master Students have access. And it requires that you register in order to get an account. Look here for more information.  

GUIDES & HELP 

• Guide to WRDS (CBS Library)
• Classroom Tools by WRDS: teaching and learning toolkit to introduce finance and business concepts
• Introduction Manual Compustat North America (WRDS): Guide from Aarhus School of Business
• WRDS Overview on Corporate Data: Summary of Governance Sets at WRDS

Export format: 

You can choose to download your data to more formats:

Preqin offers comprehensive global research on the investment industry. The CBS Library subscription includes access to the Private Equity module.

Preqin covers institutional investors, fund performance, fundraising, deals, fund managers, and fund terms, for all fund types.

Within the Private Equity module you will find seven sub-modules:

• Fund Managers: Profiles and data on more than 10,300 active private equity fund managers, including data on buyout, venture capital, distressed, mezzanine, natural resources, and fund of funds. A fund manager is normally a private equity firm.
• Funds: Information and data on more than 4,000 funds
• Performance: Performance data on private equity funds
• Investors: In-depth profiles of more than 6,100 active institutional investors in private equity
• Investment Consultants: Profiles of leading investment consultants
• Buyout Deals: Private equity-backed buyout deals and exit data, including coverage of more than 48,500 transactions
• Compensation: Annual survey of the latest trends in compensation practices at private capital firms.
• Venture Deals: no access
• Fund Terms: no access

Access: 
only campus access

GUIDES & HELP:
User guides
Via the Need help? icon in the top menu, you will find a brief user guide, a performance data guide, as well as a comprehensive glossary list.
Search tip
Use Advanced Search to combine multiple search criteria, such as firm and fund name, vintage year, fund type, geographic focus, manager location, industry focus, and fund size.

Export format:
Excel, MS Word and PDF

Access:
from dedicated PCs in the CBS Library Data Lab on the first floor of CBS Library Solbjerg Plads

GUIDES & HELP:
Morningstar Direct Quick Start Guide 

Export format:
Excel Add-In