Blog

By Claus Rosenkrantz Hansen 

CBS researchers now have access to Overton, the world’s largest database of policy documents and grey literature. Overton tracks more than 21 million policies and grey literature documents and automatically links them to the research they cite, helping you discover impact beyond journal citations. It is ideal for discovering policy citations, studying policy texts, and understanding the policymaking landscape. 

The database covers sources from 193 countries/territories in 74 languages (as of August 2025). 

Why it matters for your work

• Impact: Identify where your publications are cited in policy, which could be useful for applications, evaluations, and impact statements. 
• Systematize grey literature: Bring hard-to-find reports and guides with transparent provenance into your reviews. 
• Stay on top of developments: Save searches, set up email alerts, tag and highlight results. 
• Data access & integration: Use the REST API to export and analyze Overton data in your workflows. Use the quick-start and reference guides to get started with Overton. 

Join us for an online introduction to Overton 

Sign up for one of the webinars Discover how policy documents shape your research impact (1 hour) in November and find out how to make the most of Overton. You will learn how to:

• Browse and search Overton effectively
• Track citations of academic research in policy
• Integrate grey literature into your work

And of course, you will also get the chance to get any questions you may have answered

The webinars are hosted by Overton and CBS Library & Academic Services

Choose between the following dates (CET) and sign up via the links:

• Monday, 3 November 2025, 10:00–11:00
• Friday, 7 November 2025, 10:00–11:00

Getting started with Overton

Access Overton

If you have any questions, please contact metrics.lib@cbs.dk

By Mette Bechmann

Looking for well-crafted cases to support your teaching? CBS Library provides access to three great databases with ready-to-use teaching cases across business disciplines: HSTalks, SAGE Business Cases, and Emerald Emerging Markets Case Studies. 

HSTalks: The Business & Management Collection 
This database offers case-based text and video lectures by scholars and industry leaders alike. Use it to illustrate real-world challenges and inspire classroom discussions. Search by topic or keyword to find relevant content—ideal for flipped classroom formats or independent learning. 

SAGE Business Cases 
SAGE provides thousands of cases, including teaching notes and discussion questions. You will find real as well as fictional cases covering ethics, entrepreneurship, sustainability, and more. Use advanced search tools to filter by subject, level, or region. 

Emerald Emerging Markets Case Studies 
If you want to introduce perspectives from high-growth economies into your teaching, Emerald is the place to go. All cases are peer-reviewed and come with teaching notes. Search by industry, region, or theme to find content that fits your course. 

All three databases are available via CBS Library. If you need help navigating them or finding the right case, please reach out. 

Written by Camilla Boelsgaard Lund

Curious about what The Washington Post, USA Today or The Guardian are writing about the world situation? With PressReader you get access to newspapers from all over the world, presented in the same format as the print editions.

In a time of constant change, having access to a wide variety of news sources is invaluable. With PressReader, you can easily keep up with the news on your laptop or mobile.

You get access to 7000+ newspapers and magazines, giving you a global and nuanced perspective on the world. You can even dive into local and regional news from around the world. With PressReader, you can translate articles with a single click of the mouse, in this way you have immediate access to news in all languages.   

In addition to a multitude of newspapers, you also get access to lots of recreational, travel, and fashion magazines.
 

Advantages of PressReader

• 7000+ newspapers and magazines from around the world
• Read aloud option and auto-translation of articles
• Mobile app for easy access

Use PressReader through CBS Library

Link to PressReader

Learn more

Illustration: Frontpages from Pressreader

By Lotte Risbæk Thomsen and Liselotte Brandstrup

If you are a frequent user of Science Direct or Scopus, you will be pleased to know that a new national four-year license agreement with Elsevier for the years 2025-2028 has now been finalized after lengthy negotiations.

For CBS, this means continued access to the Elsevier databases ScienceDirect and Scopus.

If you, as a researcher, have ever published Open Access, you may have had to pay for it. The new agreement with Elsevier includes an Open Access clause, that entails that you can publish your articles as Open Access in Elsevier subscription journals (the so-called 'hybrid' journals) at no cost.

If you want to publish your article as Open Access free of charge, you still need to fulfil the following requirements:

• You, a CBS researcher, are the corresponding author (or the corresponding author is affiliated with one of the other consortium members)
• The manuscript is accepted for publication during the period covered by the agreement
• The journal you wish to publish in is part of the agreement

Another important feature of the Elsevier agreement is that it comes without the so-called 'cap', which is incorporated in many of the other Open Access agreements with publishers. This means that the Elsevier agreement entails no limitations on the number of articles that can be published as Open Access at no cost in a year.

With the new agreement, Elsevier is launching a pilot project focusing on CO2 emissions. Elsevier commits to providing data on energy consumption and CO2 emissions related to the use of databases, which is interesting in relation to CBS's increased focus on green transition and national climate goals.

Elsevier writes: “Denmark's climate targets are a reduction of 70% in GHG emissions by 2030 and attainment of net neutrality by 2040… Elsevier agrees to enter into a pilot to explore how to allocate and report specifically on digital emissions derived from the Consortium's activities, including energy consumption leading to GHG discharges in accordance with GHG-P scope 3.11, pertaining specifically to data center usage and web-based software applications."

If you have questions about the Elsevier agreement reach out to Lotte Risbæk Thomsen, if it is about Open Acces publishing write to oa@cbs.dk

 

By Liv Bjerge Laursen

That is because all EBSCOhost databases have undergone a transformation involving a brand-new interface and new search features.

Databases from EBSCOhost have been part and parcel of the CBS Library portfolio for many years and they have looked much the same for all those years. However, now there are new user interface and new search features to explore.

The new interface appears simpler and cleaner and boasts brand-new features including personalized dashboards and new ways to share and save resources. Navigation has moved to the left-hand panel below the search boxes, and the new user interface is responsive and optimized for mobile devices.

Advanced search with new options

If you go to Advanced Search and navigate to Search options below the search boxes, you will find some interesting new search methods:

• you search by proximity by default, which means that a simple search for two words like public governance without any further specifications will yield results where the words public and governance are separated by five words or less, in any order.
• If you want to search public governance as a compound noun or a phrase, you need to use the traditional inverted commas like so “public governance”.
• if you want to see all results that include both words regardless of the distance between them, we recommend that you run a classic Boolean search e.g.  public AND governance.

What is SmartText Searching?

EBSCOhost has also introduced SmartText Searching, which means that you can copy and paste large chunks of text into the search box, for example a paragraph or an entire page. SmartText Searching technology condenses the input text to the most important search terms based on term frequency (TF) and inverse document frequency (IDF) calculations of the terms in the query and the databases searched, and then creates a weighted Boolean query for search execution.

Create a personal Dashboard

In My dashboard in the left-hand panel, you can create projects and collect within them references and searches under your own headlines. To get started with the My dashboard you need to create a personal account in EBSCOhost. If you had an account before the new user interface, that account is still active, and all you need to do is log in.

If you want to dive deeper into the EBSCOhost functionalities, new and old, check out the Quick Start Guide

You can also just jump into EBSCOhost at the deep end.

By Mette Bechmann

Every year, Euromonitor International identifies emerging and fast-moving trends that are expected to gain traction in the year ahead and publish their findings in an annual report. This report provides an overview of the trends, with supporting data, expected to have the biggest impact in 2025 as well as their implications for businesses. These trends provide insight into changing consumer values, exploring how consumer behavior is shifting and causing disruption for businesses globally. 

The trends in focus for this year's report are: 

1. Healthspan Plans: Consumers are focusing on longevity, driving demand for preventative and specialized health solutions.  

2. Wiser Wallets: Economic challenges have led to more strategic spending habits. Despite rising costs, 50% of consumers are willing to spend money to save time, emphasizing the importance of quality, convenience, and added value. 

3. Eco Logical: Sustainable consumption is becoming more pragmatic. Retail sales of sustainable products have been trending upwards since 2020. 

4. Filtered Focus: Consumers seek straightforward communication and intuitive discovery. 35% of consumers reported that easier site navigation would improve their online shopping experience. 

5. AI Ambivalent: Consumers recognize both the limitations and potential of AI. Approximately 25% of consumers identified relevant product recommendations as the top advantage of generative AI in their shopping process. 

Methodology 

Euromonitors annual global consumer trends are identified through: 

• A network of analysts who leverage broad, international coverage in 100 countries to identify trends, and all data is global unless otherwise stated. 
• Proprietary research, trade interviews, surveys, and input from industry experts. 
•  

For a deep-dive into the trends, read the full report in the Passport database - search for “Top Global Consumer Trends 2025” 

Source : https://www.isimarkets.com/our-products.html

Written by Liv Bjerge Laursen & Liselotte Brandstrup

If your research is concentrated on emerging markets, you probably already know that EMIS is an essential resource for emerging market information. The database was recently updated and now includes new modules and new analytics tools.

The focus of EMIS are the so-called new markets/emerging economies and the database comprises financial statements, company information, industry analyses, macroeconomic statistics, news, market-specific information, and much more within these markets.  

AI has made a mark in all sectors of and has now also found its way into EMIS, where it promises to help you

• Find the right answers quickly: AI-driven search engine and automated extraction of data and charts from PDF reports.
• Get up to speed in markets: Industry and country profiles; AI-driven news based on open-source content to spot trends and signals and new industry tools to identify main players, market size and market shares.
• Locate In-depth company profiling: Company profiles that provide key data on private companies, AI-driven news analytics to identify topics related to the company (EMIS AI Signals), corporate connections with owners, subsidiaries and executives, and ESG company news coverage.
• Organize and disseminate your research: Folders to organize your searches
• Monitor topics of interest: Trending topics in your market and content recommendations based in your profile, and customizable dashboards for your topics of interest.

The new modules Markets and Companies provide access to:

• news, reports, and statistics for industry sectors in emerging markets, including reports from global and local sources
   
• news, reports and profiles, equity, M&A (deals) information, as well as data on more than 10 million individual companies.

The new tools can help you to:

• compile lists of companies and download them to Excel (Company Screener)
• compare the performance of selected companies (Company Comparison)
• find transactions that fit your criteria and download them to Excel (M&A Deals).

Create a user account to save your search results
You can register as a user in the top right corner of the screen. Use your CBS e-mail and a password of your own choice. In the left-hand menu you will find a dashboard with your saved searches and a folder of downloaded contents.

Try out EMIS Next

Source: https://www.mm.dk/ugebreve

Written by Liselotte Brandstrup

Get new perspectives on current events, both local and global with the online edition of Ugebrevet Mandag Morgen, including newsletter articles and analyses as well as think tank content.

About Mandag Morgen

Mandag Morgen focuses on delivering current and in-depth analyses with a focus on welfare, leadership, technology, and green transition. The primary audience are leaders who understand that change is complex, who take pride in doing well, and who insist on finding solutions.

As a researcher, this makes it a great vehicle for new insights and new perspectives on the transformation of society and the challenges that come with it, e.g. structural challenges, responsible leadership in a time of change, climate change, and new technological opportunities with AI.

As part of the license, you have access to reports and other publications from Tænketanken (think tank), a Mandag Morgen subsidiary. Tænketanken tries to influence the social agenda by contributing politically independent insights and solutions.

You have access to

• All content on mm.dk
• Mandag Morgen as PDF
• Tænketanken Mandag Morgen

Sign up for newsletters
Create a profile to receive summaries and newsletters in the your CBS inbox.  
Create profile

Please direct any questions related to our subscription to Mandag Morgen to Per Vilhelm Hansen

Check out Mandag Morgen

Read Ugebrevet Mandag Morgen as a PDF

Contribute to open editorial meetings

Source: Colourbox

Written by Liselotte Brandstrup

Passport, a database of market reports and statistics, lifestyle and consumer analyses, and more, has been part of the CBS Library portfolio for many years. Now we have added an extra and brand-new module on sustainability, an important research area at CBS.

What Passport Sustainability can do for you

The new Sustainability module can help you identify and measure sustainability opportunities through multiple lenses:

• Products: make the right sustainable product claims in the right markets at the right time
• Consumers: Evaluate consumer attitudes and behaviours surrounding sustainability topics and claims.
• Brands: benchmark and track sustainability credentials from global brands, as well as new market entrants.
• Industries: identify and size sustainable business opportunities and assess potential threats.

In other words, you can analyze product claims, benchmark companies against one another, and stay on top of emerging trends - all in one place!

Sustainability for academics
What makes Passport Sustainability unique for academics is that it covers a wide slew of disciplines, including business, marketing, e-entrepreneurship, the green economy, and corporate social responsibility.  

You can approach your research from different angles, including consumers, markets, products, and competitors.

How to access Passport Sustainability

• Go to Passport – Euromonitor
• Accept terms
• Click Products in the top menu and select Sustainability

Other new features in Passport
As you probably know, Passport has always covered lots of different industries and now they have added  two new: Luxury Gods and Mobility. Click Industries to find out more.

Take a closer look at Passport Sustainability – go to Passport
Tip: on the landing page you will also find search tips from the library

Learn more about the concepts used in Passport Sustainability

Check out the Passport user guide

Illustration: Bärbel Miemietz, CC BY-SA 4.0 <https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0>, via Wikimedia Commons

Written by Liselotte Brandstrup

Access to one of Denmark's major daily newspapers is now available.

Students and staff already have online access to Berlingske, Børsen, and Jyllands-Posten via CBS Library. Now Politiken has been added to the list.

With online access to Politiken, you can:

• View all content on Politiken.dk
• Search the entire archive from 1884-present

Go to Politiken now

Alternative online news platforms

Infomedia: for articles from all Danish news outlets, national, regional, and local.

Watch Medier, e.g. ShippingWatch and MedWatch: for industry-specific news.

See all news subscriptions

Print newspapers

You will find print copies of Politiken, Berlingske, Børsen, Jyllands-Posten, Information, Weekendavisen, and Financial Times from the past three days in the lounge area on the ground floor of CBS Library Solbjerg Plads.