Blog

Illustration: CBS Library

By Liselotte Brandstrup

Written by Erik Sonne

If you are looking for information about Danish companies, CBS Library offers a wide range of databases that can help. Some of the most important databases include:

Orbis: This database provides information on over 400 million companies worldwide, including all registered Danish companies. This is a great choice if you are looking to compare companies across countries. Orbis data goes back at least 5 years and includes information on company ownership.

Navne & Numre Erhverv: This database offers information on all Danish companies, including accounting figures and ratios going back at least 5 years. It also provides full-text access to annual reports from the last 5 years and includes information on members of management teams and boards.

Infomedia and other news databases: If you are looking for news about specific companies, these databases are great resources.

Other resources
In addition to the databases provided by CBS Library, you can also find company information on the Internet. The CVR register, managed by

the Danish Business Authority, is a key resource, as it requires all registered companies to file annual reports and accounts. These reports go back almost 30 years, and they are available online and free of charge. 

Older accounts are available upon request and for a fee. Data is available for individual companies, but you can also extract larger volumes of data. Check out Indgange til CVR for more details on how to extract data.

Finally, if you are interested in aggregated data about the Danish business community, check out StatBank Denmark from Statistics Denmark. While you cannot access data at the individual company level, you can find data on industry level and other aggregated information. Select Business as Subject to find data about the Danish business community.

By Liv Bjerge Laursen

A lot of the online resources provided by CBS Library now boast special sections of COVID-19 information, analyses, forecasts, and statistics, all with a focus on business and industry. Below you will find a pair of select examples:

Passport

Passport operates a dedicated COVID-19 section titled Coronavirus (COVID-19): Understanding the Impact, where you can find analyses such as The Impact of Coronavirus on Top 10 Global Consumer Trends 2020 and forecasts on both global and country-specific trends for selected categories of consumer goods. You will also find podcasts, webinars, and much more on the topic of COVID-19.

Statista

The COVID-19 section in Statista zooms in on statistical evidence of the development in the pandemic, broken down by country, and the effect on people and economies.
World Advertising Research Center

WARC has a dedicated section on Marketing in the COVID-19 crisis, where, among others, you can find the following articles:
Is it too soon to be funny? What consumers want from social media during COVID-19 by Shareablee, the social-media intelligence provider, discusses how brands can inject humor into their marketing efforts but must do so with some degree of caution because of the sensitive nature of COVID-19.
What, where and how much? Media effectiveness during COVID-19 that presents five tips from Kantar for dealing with a rapidly changing media environment, and tips on how to prepare for recovery after COVID-19.

*
By Liv Bjerge Laursen

How do the past 200 years look through the eyes of the central bank of Denmark? This question is answered in the anniversary publication that was issued by Danmarks Nationalbank this summer.

It’s a story that includes long periods of robust growth, but also dramatic episodes during which the stability of prices, payment methods, and the financial sector have been at stake.

 The anniversary publication provides an overview of the 200-year history of Danmarks Nationalbank, with an emphasis on what is most interesting to the present. The book is available for free as a pdf file and is available in both Danish and English.Jubilæumsbog: Danmarks Nationalbank 1818-2018
Anniversary Publication: Danmarks National Bank 1818-2018

Danmarks Nationalbank has also published a smaller booklet with the most important highlights from its history.
Jubilæumshæfte: Danmarks Nationalband 200 år
Anniversary Booklet: Danmarks Nationalbank 200 years

*Source: Danmarks Nationalbank https://www.nationalbanken.dk/da/presse/billederogfilm/Sider/default.aspx

CBS Library has recently procured access to two new encyclopedias from Wiley Online Library. Both are available from Libsearch.

The Encyclopedia of Maritime and Offshore Engineering
This is a reference work covering the design, construction, and operation of ships, offshore installations and other marine structures used for transportation, as well as the exploration and exploitation of ocean-based resources, including oil, gas, and renewable energy.
The Encyclopedia of Maritime and Offshore Engineering is divided into three parts: General (historical background, materials, and pipeline technology), Marine (ships, ship design, ship structure etc.) and Offshore (technology, safety, and ocean mining). The technical sections are supported by relevant theoretical background information.
You can both browse and search contents and, if relevant, download full-text PDF.

Try out the Encyclopedia of Maritime and Offshore Engineering

The Wiley- Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Theory
This encyclopedia charts the origins, evolution and global development of contemporary social theory. It includes information on all major theories, theorists, schools of thought, disciplines, debates, doctrines, developments, epistemologies, and methodologies relating to the development of modern social theory.
You can either browse contents via the Topic List (e.g. consumption, economy, religion, and social theory) or Articles a-z, or search articles using the search option. Finally, if relevant, you can download any article you need.

Try out The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Theory

Are you looking for an easy and clever way to find newspaper articles about a specific company? Just like Google Trends (described elsewhere in this newsletter) allows you to tab into popular searches on the internet, Factiva allows you to monitor the frequency with which publicly quoted companies appear in the media, for instance in the context of stock price fluctuations.

It is also possible to make comparisons using a defined index and in this way pick up on fluctuations not related to the general changes in prices.
You can use the stock price data to generate a day-to-day count of articles mentioning a specific company and pulled from major news sources. Just select a specific date and Factiva will display only those articles published one week before to one week after this day.

How to do it:

• Go to Factiva
• Click the Companies /Industries menu tab
• Enter the company name in the search box and select from the results list
• Click the stock prices graph

Example:

If you have further questions, please contact Mette Bechmann, mb.lib@cbs.dk.

CBS Library provides access to a selection of news databases from Watch Media. Watch Media monitors key industries in Danish business.
Available databases include:

FinansWatch
Assorted news about financial sector companies and people, including profiles, interviews, career information, etc. The intended audience is the industry itself and all articles are written from a specifically Danish perspective. In addition to its own articles FinansWatch also contains articles from selected external partners, including the Financial Times, Jyllands-Posten, Politiken, Bankinfo, and RB-Børsen. All articles are in Danish only.

MediaWatch
Newsletter on the Danish media industry.
MediaWatch offers a bird´s-eye-view of current events and an outline of long-term trends in the Danish media industry. Topics include readership, audience ratings, website hit rates, marketing expenditure, market shares, competition, Return on Investment, business concepts, concept development, and management.

MedWatch
Newsletter and news portal dealing with companies and people in the pharmaceutical, biotech, medico, rehab, and health industries. The database is updated daily. Only selected articles are available in English translation, cf. Top Picks.

ShippingWatch
Current business news about the shipping industry, including companies and people. ShippingWatch is updated dynamically and 2 newsletters in both Danish and English are published every day. Please note, only selected articles are available in English translation.

We also recommend that you take a look at our comprehensive guide to shipping resources. The guide contains links to trade associations and other valuable sources as well as information on how to find relevant materials in the library databases.
CBS Library guide on Shipping

You can sign up for newsletters in all four databases.
For questions and comments please contact Birgit Brejnebøl, bb.lib@cbs.dk.