Datastream

Over 85,000 live spot commodities from various exchanges and commodity houses. Further commodity futures and options content is available via the derivatives services.
Further commodity related series may be found under asset class Economics (fundamental content: commodity exports, imports, production, demand, etc). Commodity futures and commodity options can be found under the Futures and Options asset classes.

Coverage:

Total of 124837 commodity series from 154 sources:

• Active series: 85608
• Dead series: 39229
   
• Daily, weekly and monthly prices and depending on the source, high/low prices, as well as national production and consumption data items. Information relating to the quote is available as static data items and includes source, units and currency.
• Historic data are available as far back as 1951 for a few selected commodities. However many series go back 20+ years.

Market sectors covered:

Datastream covers oil and oil products, precious metals, industrial metals, power and natural gas, agriculture, grains, softs, chemicals and plastics. In addition, Datastream is expanding into the newer markets of semiconductors, biofuels and emissions.

• Oil and oil products
  Datastream has over 300 crude oil time series including such major worldwide quotes as Brent, WTI and OPEC basket plus US Department of Energy production and consumption data. Additionally over 2,200 crude oil product series with quotes on fuel oil, unleaded gasoline, LPG, jet kerosene. Some histories commence from late 1979.

• Precious metals
  Coverage includes gold and silver bullion, palladium and platinum, AM and PM fixing prices from London, gold and silver lending rates plus with histories as far back as January 1969.
   
• Industrial metals
  A wide range of industrial metal prices including price, volume and inventory series from the London Metal Exchange, emerging market steel and over 100 proprietary local market prices from the Reuters editorial group.

• Energy prices
  Including coal, crude oil prices, spreads and stock information, electricity, natural gas and oil products. Comprehensive coverage of European and North American power markets.

• Agriculture
  Agricultural prices covering exotics and minors, fats, feeds, fruit, oils, oilseeds, seeds and pulses, and soft commodities; extensive chemical prices covering aromatics, base oils inorganics, intermediates, olefins, plastics, solvents and fertilizers.Coverage includes agriculture and softs data from the US Department of Agriculture, The Public Ledger, International Cocoa Organization, International Coffee Organization and Malaysian Rubber Exchange.

• Chemicals and plastics
  Data from the London Metal Exchange plus benchmark chemicals and plastics from ICIS Pricing.
   

Commodity Indices: 

Datastream provides an extensive suite of over 3,000 commodity indices from all major commodity index providers including Spot, Excess and Total Return indices. The main index families are Thomson Reuters Jefferies CRB, S&P GSCI, Dow Jones UBS, Merrill Lynch, Credit Suisse, Commodity Research Bureau, Rogers International, Economist and Deutsche Börse CX.

Commodity Index Constituent Lists: 

In 2010 Datastream added Commodity Index Constituent Lists for three benchmark indices: The Thomson Reuters Jefferies CRB, S&P GSCI and DJ UBS. The lists provide the daily and month-end constituent future contracts and weights. For S&P GSCI and DJ UBS clients must maintain a direct agreement, which must be in place with S&P or DJ prior to being entitled to its data.

Metal Bulletin: 

Data is available on a passthrough basis, providing access to over 500 industrial metals time series, many with several decades of data.