Skip to Main Content

Country Information

Guide to find information resources on countries - main focus on quantitative and statistical sources.

Foreign trade statistics

World Trade Organization - WTO

 

WTO Trade Topics:
Gives an overview of the different topic areas of trade (trade topics). For each topic there is a historical overview, a status update and access to different documents

WTO Statistics Database:

  • The Trade Profiles provide predefined information leaflets on the trade situation of members, observers and other selected economies;
  • The Tariff Profiles provide information on the market access situation of members, observers and other selected economies;
  • The Services Profiles provide detailed statistics on key infrastructure services (transportation, telecommunications, finance and insurance) for selected economies;
  • The Aid for Trade Profiles provide information on trends of aid for trade, trade costs, trade performance and development for selected Aid for Trade recipients;
  • The Time Series section allows an interactive data retrieval of international trade statistics.

WTO Publications:

  • International Trade Statistics: 
    International Trade Statistics provides an annual compilation of global trade statistics up to 2015. In 2016, the WTO launched a new annual publication, the World Trade Statistical Review, which replaces International Trade Statistics as the WTO's flagship statistical publication.
  • World Trade Report: annual publication that aims to deepen understanding about trends in trade, trade policy issues and the multilateral trading system.
  • WTO Annual Report: The WTO Annual Report of WTO activities, budget, staffing over the past year.

UN Comtrade

 UN Comtrade is a free repository of official global trade statistics and relevant analytical tables. It contains annual trade statistics starting from 1962 and monthly trade statistics since 2010.

 

  • HS, Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System / World Customs Organization  The Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System generally referred to as "Harmonized System" or simply "HS" is a multipurpose international product nomenclature developed by the World Customs Organization (WCO). It comprises about 5,000 commodity groups; each identified by a six digit code, arranged in a legal and logical structure and is supported by well-defined rules to achieve uniform classification.
     
  • Standard International Trade Classification (SITC) / United Nations  In international foreign trade statistics, SITC is often used. In this nomenclature, the degree of processing of the goods (raw materials, semi-finished products, finished products) is crucial for their location in the classification. SITC comprises approx. 3,100 5-digit item numbers.
     
  • BEC, Broad Economic Categories. The original Classification by Broad Economic Categories (BEC) was produced in 1961 to provide a means for international trade statistics to be analyzed by broad economic categories such as food, industrial supplies, capital equipment, consumer durables and consumer non-durables. The original BEC was linked to the Standard International Trade Classification
     
  • International Trade Statistics Yearbook - ITSY (UN Comtrade Yearbook):
    • Vol.I - Trade by Country: The main content of the yearbook is divided into two parts. Part 1 consists of two detailed world data tables on merchandise trade. One presents total merchandise imports and exports by countries, areas and regions in a time series up to the latest year, the other shows world merchandise exports by group of commodity and by provenance and destination in many smaller time series sub-tables. Part 2 contains the country trade profiles for most countries and areas in the world.
    • Vol. II - Trade by Product: The main content of the yearbook is divided into three parts. Part 1 consists of 11 detailed world data tables on merchandise trade. Part 2 contains the commodity trade profiles for 257 individual commodities. Part 3 contains profiles of service trade for the 11 main EBOPS categories.

OECD Quarterly International Trade Statistics

This reliable and up-to-date source of statistics on international trade of OECD countries provides a detailed insight into the most recent trends in trading patterns for OECD countries with the rest of the world.

International Monetary Fund - IMF

 

Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS)

DOTS presents the value of merchandise exports and imports disaggregated according to a country's primary trading partners.

EU - Eurostat

 

  • International trade in goods. 
    Information on international trade in goods (ITG) of the EU, the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) and the enlargement countries. These statistics are part of the European business statistics (EBS).
    Comext is Eurostat's database for detailed statistics on international trade in goods. It provides access to both recent and historical data of the EU and its individual Member States AND to statistics of a significant number of non-EU countries.
     
  • International trade in services. The term international trade in services currently covers trade in services as the transactions between residents and non-residents.

International Trade Administration - ITA

American governmental organization that helps American businesses compete globally. You can find data, reports and research on several topics. 

Find Trade Data & Analyses under the menu tab Research Center.

Statistics Denmark 

The official statistical bureau of Denmark. They have text and data on Danish trade.

  • The texts and analyses are available at Statistics Denmark.
  • Data tables are available i StatBank Denmark

CBS Library, Solbjerg Plads 3, DK-2000 Frederiksberg, Denmark

Homepage | Addresses and Opening Hours | Contact