Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Country Information: Country Statistics

Guide to find information resources on countries - main focus on quantitative and statistical sources

Eurostat

Eurostat provides data and statistics on the EU member countries.

Statista

Statista ia a statistic portal that provides statistics and other data on countries and a wide range of topics.
The statistics are collected from freely available sources such as the World Bank, the US Census Bureau and the IMF, and from "protected" sources, where Statista typically retrieves data from press releases etc.  To each statistical information you find detailed background information such as source and date specification, information on the applied methods and key words. The latter you can use for additional searches.

Measuring Globalisation

OECD Statistics on Measuring Globalisation

The measuring globalization statistics provide comprehensive data on the industrial activity (manufacturing, service) of multinationals in OECD. It covers variables such as production, employment, research and trade, inward as well as outward investment. It also includes some international trade indicators that provide cross-disciplinary background information.

Presents a broad range of indicators showing the magnitude and intensity of globalisation

Nordic Countries

State of the Nordic Region
gives you a look behind the scenes of one of the most integrated region, comprised of Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden, along with Greenland, the Faroe Islands and Åland.

Nordic Statistics
overview of resources containing facts and statistics about the Nordic countries

  • Nordic Statistics Database
    Nordic Statistics is a collection of comparative Nordic statistics which has existed and been funded by the Nordic Council of Ministers since the mid-1960s. Nordic Statistics consists of two primary communication platforms: the basic database, Nordic Statistics database, containing about two hundred matrices presented at this website and the Nordic iLibrary containing indicators based on a selection of the variables from the Nordic Statistics database
  • Nordic iLibrary
    Tthe Nordic iLibrary containing indicators based on a selection of the variables from the Nordic Statistics database

Country Statistics

IMF (International Monetary Fund): 
The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.


 

 

 

 

 

 

ILOSTAT:
access to ILOs (International Labour Office) database containing labor marke
data from more than 200 countries. You can find information on  the workforce, employment, unemployment, working hours, wages, labor costs, consumer price index, industrial conflicts, etc. Also, access to ILO publications: ILO Yearbook
of Labor Statistics, ILO Bulletin of Labor Statistics (monthly data from 1976 onward) and ILO October Inquiry (data from 1983 onwards on salaries and working hours
(150 different professions) and retail prices on more than 90 selected foods.

 
 
 

 


 

Statistics via OECDiLibrary:
Access to statistical databases on economy, trade, agriculture, technology, science, innovation and energy. 
 

OECD360: 
How does your country compare? Here you find the latest analyses and data on countries collected from different OECD publications and presented with a lot of infographics.
 

Main Economic Indicators - OECD
is one of many OECD publications and is published monthly. It presents comparative statistics that provide an overview of recent international economic developments for the 35 OECD countries, the euro zone and a number of non-member economies as Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, Russia and South Africa.

industry and sector statistics. Figures are pulled from: 

 
  • Eurostat Statistics,
  • Intra and Extra-EU Trade Statistics (Comext),
  • Intra-OECD Trade
  • OECD Statistics
  • World Statistics, comprising UNIDO IMF statistics. 
     

Financing SMEs and Entrepreneurs 2014: An OECD Scoreboard, OECD Publishing, 2014: Start-ups and small firms continue to face significant obstacles to fulfilling their potential to innovate, grow and create jobs, particularly when it comes to obtaining access to finance. With its 13 core indicators of debt, equity and general market conditions, complemented by a review of government policy measures, Financing SMEs and Entrepreneurs 2014: An OECD Scoreboard documents these financing difficulties and monitors trends in 31 countries, along with government policy responses to deal with these challenges.

 

 

The AllThatStat database contains financial statistics, national accounts statistics, industry and sector statistics. Figures are pulled from: 

 
  • Eurostat Statistics,
  • Intra and Extra-EU Trade Statistics (Comext),
  • Intra-OECD Trade
  • OECD Statistics
  • World Statistics, comprising UNIDO IMF statistics. 

 

 

 


MarketLine

 


US Census Bureau's Economic Indicators
Economic Indicators is the enumeration of homeownership, manufactured goods, wholesale, inventories and international trade, amongst others.
 


Gapminder:
interactive web site where you can define and compare different variables and indicators for the countries. The presentations take place by the way of graphs, videos, flash presentations and more


Global Insights:  
Global Insights provides international business and trade information on over 200 countries, the 50 U.S. states, as well as nearly two dozen industry sectors, and many of the world’s trade blocs (EU, ASEAN, NAFTA etc.)