Research and experimental development (R&D): comprise creative and systematic work undertaken in order to increase the stock of knowledge - inclusiding knowledge of humankind, culture and society - and to devise new applikations of available knowledge (Source: Frascati Manual 2015
Guidelines for Collecting and Reporting Data on Research and Experimental Development, p. 44)
Innovation: The term ‘innovation’ can signify both an activity and the outcome of the activity. This manual provides definitions for both. The general definition of an innovation is as follows:
An innovation is a new or improved product or process (or combination thereof) that differs significantly from the unit’s previous products or processes and that has been made available to potential users (product) or brought into use by the unit (process) (Source: Oslo Manual 2018 Guidelines for Collecting, Reporting and Using Data on Innovation, 4th Edition, p. 19)
Frascati Manual: Proposed Standard Practice for Surveys on Research and Experimental Development by 
Frascati Manual 2015 - Guidelines for Collecting and Reporting Data on Research and Experimental Development by The Frascati Manual has become the standard of conduct for R&D surveys and data collection not only in the OECD and the European Union, but also in several non-member economies, for example, through the science and technology surveys of the UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS). Look for more information at the homepage of OECD.
Statistics Denmark: the statistics concerning research, development and innovation cover both the public and the private sector. This includes trade in patents. You can find a news section and a site with access to publications on R&D
In the StatBank Denmark you can get data on R&D. Go to Education & Research > Research, Development and Innovation (in the upper right corner you can change to English)
Danish Business Authority (Erhvervsstyrelsen): has collected R&D data into statistics on a regional level.
Ministry of Higher Education and Science is the central Danish authority regarding. research and innovation
EU - Eurostat: on the website of Eurostat for Science, Technology and Science you can find statistics on science, technology and innovation. You can find the data in the database and via Statistics Explained you can get an overview and a more detailed description on Scince, Technology and the Digital society
European Commission - Directorate-General for Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs on innovation
CORDIS (the Community Research and Development Information Service)
CORDIS is the European Commission's primary source of results from the projects funded by the EU's framework programmes for research and innovation (FP1 to Horizon 2020.
CORDIS has a rich and structured public repository with all project information held by the European Commission such as project factsheets, participants, reports, deliverables and links to open-access publications.CORDIS also produces its own range of publications and articles to make it easier for you to find relevant results that you can use in your domain.
OECD Innovation: access to "innovation in science, technology and industry", "research and knowledge management" og "digital government"
OECD Science: access to Biotechnology Policies, Bio Safety - Bio Track, Science and Technology Policy, Innovation in science
OECD iLibrary: access via CBS Library databases:
Search hint: choose Browse by Theme > Science and Technology
OECD ANBERD (Analytical Business Enterprise Research and Development) database
The ANBERD database presents annual data on Research and Development (R&D) expenditures by industry and was developed to provide analysts with comprehensive data on business R&D expenditures. The ANBERD database incorporates a number of estimations that build upon and extend national submissions of business enterprise R&D data by industry (main activity/industry orientation).The current version of the ANBERD database presents OECD countries’ and selected non-member economies’ business expenditure on R&D since 1987, broken down across 100 manufacturing and service industry groups.
WIPO - World Intellectual Property Organization: WIPOs portal for IP - Intellectual Properties
UNESCO - United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization: UIS - UNESCO Institute for Statistics collects data from more than 200 countries concerning innivation, R&D, and more.
UK Research and Development Expenditure
Research and development in the UK is carried out or funded by business enterprises, higher education, government, UK Research and Innovation, and private non-profit organisations. On this website you find time series, dataset, publications, and more on the UK R&D expenditure
Looking for data on patens, trademarks and design you can find more information here
Oslo Manual: Guidelines for Collecting and Interpreting Innovation Data by