Patenter og Forskning: Patents - other resources

Derwent Innovations Index (NO ACCESS VIA CBA LIBRARY)

Derwent Innovations Index is a research tool that provides Web access to more than 45 million inventions detailed in over 95 million patent documents. It includes links to cited and citing patents, cited articles, and full-text patent data sources.
It allows you to browse patent records by entering simple search queries.

Coverage includes patent records from Derwent World Patents Index and patent citation information from Derwent Patents Citation Index.

• Derwent World Patents Index® (DWPI) is the world's most comprehensive collection of professionally abstracted and annotated patent documents. DWPI covers more than 45 million inventions (Basic Records/patent families) detailed in over 95 million patent documents, with coverage from 50 worldwide patent authorities and 2 literature sources.More information about DWPI coverage, along with lists of WIPO country codes and INID codes can be found on the DWPI coverage page. 

• The Derwent Patents Citation Index^® (Derwent PCI) is an online database of citation data appearing in patents from 6 major patent authorities. It provides details of citations, both patent and literature, reviewed by the examiner during the examination of a patent application.
  Derwent PCI is the only database providing multi-source patents citation coverage of all technologies. Prior to May 1997, examiner and author citations were provided for 16 patent-issuing authorities. The database also contains a backfile with patent records dating back to the 1970's.
  Derwent PCI contains all up-to-date bibliographic patent family data from Derwent World Patents Index and all patents and literature cited by examiners, as well as references to citing patents. Each week, new cited and citing references are added for approximately 45,000 records.

• Derwent Innovations Index also includes Derwent Chemistry Resource, a unique database containing chemical structures (NB! No access via CBS Library)

Patents are by nature very technical documents that can be difficult to read and are condensed into only the most important information. To enhance searchability and discoverability of patent data the Derwent Innovations Index has added valuable metadata to the patent record:

• Descriptive title: concise titles that describe the invention and its novelty
• Abstract: 250-500 word description in English about the claim and novelty of the invention
• Patent family: applications for the same invention  in countries around the world are linked together in one record 
• Derwent Class Codes: allows user to quickly retrieve a category of inventions: patents are divided into 21 broad subject areas or Sections. These are designated A-M (Chemical); P-Q (Engineering); and S-X (Electronic and Electrical). Classes: these Sections are then further subdivided into classes. Each Class consists of the Section letter, followed by two digits. For example X22 is the Class designation for Automotive Electrics and C04 is the Class for all Chemical Fertilisers, look here for more information.
• Derwent Manual Codes: indicates the novel technical aspects of the invention. It is a hierarchical indexing system, intended for use as a patent retrieval and analysis tool. The DWPI Manual Codes index the inventive and significant aspects of an invention, plus its commercial applications. 

For more information on the content of the database and on how to search in the database choose Basic Search > Search tips