Skip to main content

Company Information: Home

Introductory guide to find international and national company information.

CBS Databases and Company information

The databases at CBS Library contain among other things a lot of information on companies. The purpose of this guide is to point out different types of company information and make references to the relevant databases.

Main focus in this guide will be on the CBS Library information resources and databases. To a smaller extent other relevant Internet resources will be included.

Researching a Company

Try to follow these three steps:

  1. Pubic or Private?
    Public companies issue stocks and have to file much more information than private companies
  2. What does the company say?
    read the company's financial statements and annual reports
  3. What do others say?
    read news articles, journal articles, investment reports, company profiles and other secondary sources
     

Company information - a short description

Welcome to the Company Information Guide.

The purpose of this guide is to point out different types of company information and make references to the relevant databases and other information resources. This guide makes references to library materials, databases, websites and other information sources. The main focus will be on the databases accessible by CBS Library

  

Before you start to search for company information

First define what kind of information you are looking for in relation to the company, i.e. company annual report, basic or/and financial data, company profile, investment analysis, or newspaper articles. Then use this guide to find the relevant resources / databases:

The amount of information available on a particular company can vary greatly.

Some factors to consider include:

  • public or private owned: It is easier to find information about public companies (those that sell stock to shareholders) than about private companies (those that are privately owned by an individual or a group).
  • is it a subsidiary of a public company based abroad? You will need to look at the ultimate parent company website.
  • where the company is located
  • the size of the company
  • media exposure 

 

Information about companies can be found in a wide range of sources, including:

  • company databases: quick access to basic information, financial data, subsidiaries etc.
  • newspapers, magazines and journals: access to news articles, analyses, reports etc. about companies
  • LibSearch (library cataloque): access to literature on specific companies and the business environment
  • individual company websites: access to annual reports and market and product announcements
  • other websites: access to all kind of information on companies. N.B. remember to be critical to the information

When looking for information about a company, consider both information from the company itself (e.g., the company website, filings, press releases, etc.) as well as information about the company written by others (e.g. newspaper articles, analyst reports, articles by professors, etc.).

Company Extensions and Securities Identifiers

Company Extensions - list of abbreviations 
This page provides definitions of company   "extensions" and security identifiers. This section tells what these terms mean, and where they are used. If you don't know what country a company is based in, this list of identifers might help narrow your search.


Ticker Symbol Lookup (MarketWatch)
find the company's or security's ticker symbol

Ticker Symbol Lookup (Yahoo Finance)
Find ticker symbols of stocks and other securities

My Profile & Contact Info